Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
44
4.3 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 14 July 2014
Proving that these songs stand out for what they are, not just because of who sings and plays, George Martin shows that he can also find people who can give those songs the justice they deserve. Great songs that he helped the beatles breathe life into are now brought to life by other inpired choices. And I use the word "inspired" with great reverence, because this is an inspired album, crafted by a true genius. He has taken the exceptional work of Lennon and McCartney and transposed them in a way that makes them so different, yet without losing their original polish and shine. Some are better than others of course, but Jim Carrey on 'I am the walrus' is only trumped by my favourite, the singular voice of Sean Connery on 'In my life'.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 15 September 2014
Good collection of alternative versions of classic Beatle tunes. Put together by the man who had a huge influence in the early days, of creating the Beatle sound. He has every right to this self indulgence! The highlights for me are the Jim Carrey version of Walrus. A crazy song sung in a manic style by a crazy man! The Phil Collins version of Golden Slumbers/Carry that Weight/The End. Goldie Hawn's smoky jazz version of Hard Days Night. Jeff Beck's electric guitar version of A Day in the Life. John William's acoustic guitar version of Here Comes The Sun. Even Celine Dion doing a sweet version of Here There and Everywhere works well. A good album of great interest to Beatle fans like me.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 November 2015
Absolutely fabulous, innovative, and a superb example of a virtuoso producer taking hold of some of the most popular music in the past century - FOR HIS OWN RIGHT. Listening to this, and considering the familiarity most have with Beatles material, I'm left with a few strong impressions. The mastery of Martin's guidance and production skills as both he and the Beatles evolved from the first album to the last. It was very much a symbiotic relationship as each album was released ( or so it would seem as this CD is listened to ), and what Martin has done with the Beatles material in his own right is OUTSTANDING. It's virtuoso stuff. As a secondary note, the label the Beatles were released on in the UK, Parlaphone, was originally intended by EMI to be a light entertainment label; comedy and the like. I think Peter Sellers and Spike Milligan had released stuff on the label, although I have no idea if they had any relation with George Martin. Peter Sellers and the Beatles ( John Lennon specifically ) used to hang out together, and if you search You Tube you'll find some fascinating experimental comedy movies with both Lennon and Sellers, which I believe was directed by Richard Lester. But I digress: this CD is excellent. I could not say enough good about it, and I must say that my Suirround Stereo on my movie tuner makes the music all the more spectacular. Perfect Stereo music enveloping you with excellence.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 April 2015
The brains behind the Beetles. So much of their later work shows the inspiration that working with George Martin had on them. The people willing to contribute is a testimony to the high regard he has in the industry and the arrangements are absolutely wonderful. It ends too soon.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
For me George Martin has always been the "Fifth Beatle." Certainly from aperformance standpoint that honor will go to Billy Preston, but Martin wasthe producer of most of the Beatles' recordings from 1962 to 1969 and thatcounts for a lot in my book. Martin's willingness to provide a nurturingenvironment and to do strange new things in the recording studio gave JohnLennon and Paul McCartney license to do strange things like guitarfeedback at the start of "I Feel Fine" and the string quartet for"Yesterday." When Martin decided to official retire in 1998 he decided toproduce on last album, picking a selection of Beatles tunes that he hadoriginally produced and coming up with some often offbeat performances todo singing (although not all of the guest artists are singers). Theresult, as you might expect, is a mixed bag. According to your tastes youwill almost most assuredly find a couple of duds here, but you should alsofind a couple of efforts that you will appreciate.
Martin makes it clear that are no limits with the opening track, whereRobin Williams sings "Come Together" while Bobby McFerrin provides themouth music. When you start off with that track then Jim Carrey doing "Iam the Walrus" does not seem that strange. But by the time Billy Connollyfinishes the first verse of "For the Benefit of Mr. Kite" you get thepoint and there is really no reason not to skip ahead to the next track. The finale, with Sean Connery performing what is basically an dramaticreading of "In My Life" could be considered one of the comic twists in thealbum, but I like it; it remind me of the spoken word tracks on MoodyBlues albums (besides, Martin first made his reputation doing soundrecordings with Peter Ustinov and Peter Sellers, so there is a historicsense of coming full circle with this final track that I think you have toappreciate).
The rest of the tracks are more straightforward but still provide somecreative twists and turns. Goldie Hawn giggles a tad too much in "A HardDay's Night," but giving the song a jazz spin works, while feature JeffBeck's guitar playing rather than any vocals on "A Day in the Life"actually gives the song even more of a sense of majesty. Celine Dion's"Here, There and Everywhere" is a rather straightforward performance, butshe is here mainly because she has worked with Martin on her own albums. Martin even toots his own horn by putting together a new version of the"Pepperland Suite," just to remind all of those people who never flippedover to the other side of "The Yellow Submarine" soundtrack that hedabbled in writing some music as well. For me the glass is half full onthis one and giving Sean Connery the final word on Martin's behalf seemstotally appropriate.
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 June 2014
This is an 'ok' compilation of Beatles interpretations overseen by the evergreen George Martin. Beatles songs are hard to cover as the originals are so firmly embedded in the psyche......however this contains one or two mildly amusing tracks (Jim Carey - I Am The Walrus) along with some half decent musical efforts (Jeff Beck and Phil Collins). And a joy to hear Martin's own Pepperland Suite which I've always enjoyed.
This is an album to put on when friends visit and enjoying the 'who the hell's that?; questions.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 January 2016
Ages ago I saw the TV programme about how this recording was made and I bought the tape version then as I had enjoyed it so much and when I realised it was available on CD I just had to buy it. Highlights for me are Geoff Beck's instrumental version of 'A Day in the life' John Williams delightful rendition of 'Here Comes the Sun' , Jim Carrey's perfectly weird take on 'I am the Walrus' , Celine Dion's sweet interpretation of 'Here, There and Everywhere' and Phil Collins wonderful drum roll and vocals in 'Golden Slumbers'. I would give it 5 stars if they had excluded Sean Connery's awful speaking version of 'In my Life'
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 January 2014
If you have never heard this album, do get one.

The songs are timeless, and the range of artists singing who you would never have thought of
are a brilliant choice, Jim Carrey and the Walrus song! inspired and Goldie Hawn sounds fab!!!
Give it a try.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 November 2000
Innovative arrangements and exceptional performances of Beatles songs that are presented by artists you would not normally associate with such music. Top entertainers have been drawn from the fields of music, film, comedy and drama to give you fresh insights into music of genius. This is not just another compilation, it is pure enjoyment.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 August 2016
An almost perfect record which adds something new to the Beatles' classics chosen. My favourites are 'I am the Walrus' sung brilliantly by Jim Carrie and Celine Dion's wonderful version of 'Here, There and Everywhere'.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)