Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
58
4.8 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£14.95+ £1.26 shipping
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 7 November 2001
You know you're about to watch something quite special when the score first kicks in and something inside you reacts instantaneously. I had the exact same feeling with "Gladiator" that I had with the first episode of "Band of Brothers" - expecting them to be both crash-bang-wallop action extravaganzas, but as soon as the music started, I realised that I was in for something quite different, and quite emotional. This score is fantastic, and again like the "Gladiator" score, perfectly captures the atmosphere of the film. This music really makes something happen inside of you emotionally, both raising your spirits and creating a sense of dread that match exactly the mood of the outstanding series that it accompanies. The standout tracks are the music for the title sequence, the 2 suites (tracks 2 and 3) and Winters on the Subway. Absolutely beautiful. It's one of those rare soundtracks that seem to have been made by the picture rather than for it. If you are as huge a fan of the series as I am, you could do a lot worse than buying this album. The title music is worth the money alone.
0Comment| 81 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 August 2003
Since purchasing this album, I've listened to virtually nothing else. The Main Theme alone is probably one of the most moving pieces of music written in the last fifty years; the two Suites are admirable and vastly 'listenable' alternative takes on the rest of the score, and the selection that makes up the rest of the album is superb. The string quartet is enough to make you cry, and the final track, featuring a choral accompaniment to the main theme is strangley uplifting. The TV series is the ultimate statement of there being no glory in war, only infinite sadness, and this album echoes and enhances that sentiment without becoming mawkish. I know of no other soundtrack that both matches its source perfectly, yet remains a masterpiece in its own right. Utterly, utterly wonderful.
0Comment| 47 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 December 2001
The music evoked another time, another place that those who were there can recall only in their memories and those who were not can but imagine. As Easy Company fought their way from Normandy to Germany the music was a wonderful way of reliving the episodes already screened and imagining the content of those still to air. Like many of the 'minmialist' sepia-like visual sequences, the music too had a simplicity that seemed to focus on just the essentials - nothing wasted, yet with a rich melange of mood. In my view one of the finest pieces of screen music for some time.
0Comment| 26 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 1 January 2002
Superb from the first moment that you here the main theme you know this is something special!
Haunting, perfect and captures a past time superbly, soundtracks don't get much better than this!
To add to this the two Band Of Brothers Suite's are excellent, all the music reminds you of scene's from the series and its finale with Austria and the exceptional Band Of Brothers Requim put this in a class of its own.
Michael Kamen should be proud, this music is everything it should be and a little more. Buy and listen! For any person who likes classical film music this belongs right up there with John Williams! Superb and the emotional impact is huge. Thank you for producing such a wonderfull soundtrack!
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 November 2001
I never really liked Michael Kamen (although I love a great deal of other film composers), but Kamen has, with this Coplandesque masterpiece, won me over. This is a fine score, even if, like me, you never found the music particularly interesting in the actual series. On it's own, however, this album really shines. Highly recommended - even if just for the wonderful suites (especially the second one). You don't even have to be a particular fan of the series to enjoy this music.
0Comment| 25 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 October 2015
I first saw the story of these soldiers, on the tv, one even, as I sat with my now late father, who as he sat watching the film with me shouted I was there with them, he told my mother and myself every place name before it was related in the film, my father past away, in 06, leaving me with an insight, into a part of history, that no one should ever be allowed to forget. The film& the music score do this film and justice, for all those who are and were related to those who were there.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 January 2002
This Soundtrack recaptures the moving account of the famous Easy Company in the Band of Brothers series.It's not hard to feel very emotional when listening to the various tracks.Highly recommended
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 December 2005
If you liked the series you will love the sound track. You will end up in a world of your own plus it's so relaxing just make sure you don't leave the kettle on!
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 February 2004
This rating is based on the fact that I'm a big fan of the series. The music is wonderfully evocative and is great for easy listening background music.
If the Theme music for the series moves you then this is for you especially if you like classical music.
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 April 2013
From the opening strains you know this soundtrack is up there with the best.
The opening theme is a true delight and one that I find full of emotion.
Most of the tracks are superb and fit the scenes from the TV series perfectly and there are themes that run through the album just like the characters in the series..
For me however the highlights are the second and third tracks which are more a medley of themes from throughout the album with some extra bits thrown in to make two pieces of music that tell the entire story from start to end. These are truly powerful tracks that I keep returning to along with the main theme.
Wonderful.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)