Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more

Customer reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars
14
Japanese Whispers
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£5.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 31 May 2013
This album features two of The Cures greatest hits 'Love Cats' & 'Let's Go To Bed', which to me is a break through for the band since Seventeen Seconds, with songs that are more approachable to a wider market who weren't too keen on their moody material in Pornography.
For The Cure, it is a contemporary album since most of the tracks were computerized, which isn't really my sort of thing, but Robert Smith & Lol Tolhurts seemed to pull it off quite well in songs like 'The Walk', which introduces their quirky stuff.
It then goes on to jazzy themed songs like 'Speak My Language' which to me sounds like a song from The Doors with their robust piano playing, although, Smith's vocals are still as unique as ever.

It is sometimes hard to tell what the lyrics mean, some come out quite derranged, and fun as he shouts 'LIKE A JAPANESE BABY', his metaphors remain cryptic and arguable at describing. But it is easy to listen to with a variety of different types of songs, for a short album, it isn't bad at all if you're mad about the 80's at 17.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 2 June 2014
Brilliant album of singles. I listened to this on 12inch as a angst ridden teenager in the 80's and its just as good now!! The Cure 30 years on are still as fresh and will never date!! Big love to Robert Smith!!!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 15 May 2016
Brill album, good price, fast service from these guys.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 24 August 2017
Good
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 25 February 2018
Funny electronic poppy Cure album!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 4 March 2013
Had it on vinyl, needed it on CD, takes me back to my bedroom when I was 15 years old
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 14 January 2015
This is my favourite Cure album of the lot, perhaps a surprising choice given the depth of their back catalogue but this compilation leaves you aching for more. Subtitled "The Cure Singles Nov 82-Nov 83" it's just that - three singles with five supporting b-sides lasting just twenty eight and a half minutes. But what a journey. Capturing the band in a transitional phase things kick off with "Let's Go To Bed", with the remaining A sides "The Walk" and perhaps their most well known hit "The Lovecats" opening and closing the original side 2 respectively. The quality of all the b-sides is superb, certainly many of The Cure's peers must have looked on in wonder at how the band could effectively 'throw away' such gems. It's an album I return to often, it repays repeated listening and most importantly shows the power of Robert Smith and Lol Tolhurst's writing. At this point they could do no wrong.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 7 December 2014
Not an actual studio album this is a collection of three singles and B sides released between their third album Pornography and fourth album The Top.

Containing the fantastic Let's Go To Bed, the mesmerising The Walk and the haunting La Ment, the other five tracks are equally good.

This was where The Cure ditched the Gothic Angst and began to re-invent themselves as one of the greatest live stadium bands in the world.

A definite five star compilation.

Very Highly Recommended.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
VINE VOICEon 7 September 2006
Japanese Whispers contains the three singles (and attendant B-Sides)that briefly made Robert Smith a bonafide popstar.Let's Go To Bed,The Walk and best of all,The Lovecats.Although The Walk is a bit too similar to Blue Monday for some,they are still good enough to rank with The Cure's best singles of the eighties(The Caterpillar,Charlotte Sometimes,Lullaby,Inbetween Days,etc,etc,etc).The B-Sides are also great-the dreamy Peter Hook bass of Just One Kiss,the synth-pop The Dream,the jazzy Speak My Language,the good enough to be a single The Upstairs Room and the re-recorded (from a free flexidisc)Lament.Obviously if you have the Join The Dots B-Sides/Rarities boxset,this probably isn't worth getting,but on a purely musical level,this is superlative.
0Comment| 20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 27 July 2017
This item, both the record and sleeve were described as "Very Good +". In reality neither is better than average used. At £25, which is at the very top of the price range, I expected the record and sleeve to be VG+/excellent. The record was described as having "very light hairline surface marks and plays perfectly", when in reality it is quite heavily marked and the resultant 'hiss' is very clearly audible. The cover is described as having "minimal shelfwear with slight record ringmark" when in fact it has a number of unsightly creases and marks. This was bought as a gift, which makes it even more disappointing. On the basis of this purchase, I could not recommend this dealer and will not be using them again.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)