Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle New Album - U2 Learn more Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
20
4.7 out of 5 stars
It's My Life
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£13.36+ £1.26 shipping


on 30 July 2004
Talk Talk entered the UK music scene in 1982 with "The Party's Over", an album of earnest, overwrought electro anthems in the vein of Ultravox. Though an enjoyable nostalgic listen, it now sounds rather dated and derivative. However, the follow-up "It's My Life" two years later was a different kettle of fish. While incorporating plenty of catchy, up-tempo stompers such as the singles "Such a Shame" and "It's My Life" to keep the New Romantics happy, it also bore witness to a new songwriting maturity on the part of singer Mark Hollis - a kind of geeky, mop-topped Brian Ferry - and producer Tim Friese-Greene. Even though the lyrics are impenetrable, the melodies and arrangements evince real flair and imagination. Not to mention anguish. I've no idea what Hollis is wailing about in "Tomorrow Started", but I hope I never experience it. The significant thing is that it's typical of this album, in having a stupendously good tune.

Talk Talk would take their new introspective style even further in their next two albums, "The Colour of Spring" and "Spirit of Eden", by abandoning synthesisers completely and veering into meandering, ambiguous territory that sounded like no one so much as fin-de-siècle French composer Claude Debussy. Those are both great albums too; but being an incorrigible New Romantic, I retain a special place in my affections for "It's My Life".
22 Comments| 21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 August 2017
My musical taste (such as it is) was formed in the 80s, but somehow Talk Talk didn't feature much and I really can't understand why not, except that they didn't do TOTP and were rarely heard on Radio 1.

I rediscovered them after watching Such a Shame on Youtube and then buying both this album and The Colour of Spring. They are cracking albums and Mark Hollis' voice gives me goose bumps. Such a Shame is probably my favourite track of this album, but I also love Renee and Tomorrow Started.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 September 2015
Great album by a really great band.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 June 2009
Talk Talk like Roxy Music are one of the most underestimated bands ever to hit the recording stage, bring it all back. There so much boy-girl band rubbish out there!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 March 2000
Picture this! Your @ your mates house, a crummy suburban terraced house. Their parents are on holiday and you decide to have a party. It's 1984. You stick a 12" LP on called It's My Life and get the party spirit going. It's the year 2000. Your @ your mates house, a crummy suburban terraced house. Their parents are on holiday and you decide to have a party. You stick on a CD called It's My Life band a now defunkt act called "talk Talk". This album is probably, by my choice, their best ever album. Such energy and vibrancy is captured in this album, which was rare caoming from other artists back in the 80's (and probably the 90's too). The party house shakin' tracks are It's My Life, Dum Dum Girl (wicked bassline), Call In The Nightboy, Such a Shame and the epic It's You. The track you'd probably play @ the end of the party would be Renee, a bit of a tearjerker I reckon. If there is one Talk Talk album you buy make it this one. It rocks!
0Comment| 25 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 October 2008
It's My life is the second Talk Talk studio album and it's so much more grown up than the debut. One of the most interesting aspects is the realisation that some of the bands earlier recordings were actually incomplete. The first time that I heard Talk Talk on a Radio 1 concert back in 1982 they played a version of 'Renee'. The song appears on this album with more grown up instrumentation, a really good production and an astonishing vocal performance from Hollis that brings out all the pain and passion of unrequited love. Another throw back is 'Call in the night boys' which was either a b-side or an extra track on the 12" of one of the single releases on their debut album. At that time it was a strange mix of classical piano and a very slow (and pretentious) vocal arrangement. The new version on this LP is an upbeat anthem with full instrumentation which matches the grandeur of the title track. 'Such A Shame' is the same classic that it was in 1984. The album version differs from the single in that it has this delicious patient intro that builds in intensity to the opening of the song...as Hollis begins the vocal, the hairs on the back of my neck literally stand up. It is amazing to think of the lack of commercial success that the band were facing at this time. I remember a school friend saying that he thought 'Such a Shame' was the best song on the LP and never realised it had been a single. Sadly, the epic 'Dum Dum Girl' received the same fate in terms of lack of acclaim in the singles chart. What you get on this LP is three of the best singles the band ever produced intermingled with some intense and engaging album tracks ending with the anthemic 'It's You'. From start to finish this is a winner...one of those few original studio LPs that you will have the patience to listen to all the way through without wanting to skip a track. Absolutely fantastic!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 7 October 2009
On its original release in 1984, the reviewer in `Melody Maker' wrote how it "quickly fires vitriolic bullets of passion into your heart, opening up many wounds during its torrid journey." This is a fair critique of the band's second album and the first produced by Tim Friese-Greene. (The remastered sound is excellent.)

The music is very much of the era - I sense the opening `Dum Dum Girl' has a Gary Numan feel - unlike the band's later departure into a more acoustic and, let's say, `off-the-beaten-track' wandering. What differentiated Talk Talk from all the other synth-bands of the time was perhaps their passionate seriousness, with portentous lyrics delivered with a strong sense of commitment, although I'm not sure what they all mean.

But also three of the tracks exceed five minutes in length, and two of these are longer than six minutes, an aspect of pop music that was at the time perhaps a little frowned upon with its demands for quick and speedy satisfaction before moving onto the next in-thing. So, full marks to Hollis and Friese-Greene for spending more time on their composition and production. For example, the latter frequently employs animalistic sounds in an imaginative manner. (Woof Woof, anyone?)

Having said that, one of the six-minute-plus tracks (`Renee') is perhaps underproduced; and `The Last Time' is a little ponderous; and `Does Caroline Know' feels just like a filler. The remaining six tracks, though - there are no extras in the translation from LP to CD - are worth repeated listenings. For instance, the celebrated percussionist Morris Pert seems to have an original contribution to make on every track.

For me, this is a very good release that has stood up to the tests of time. It's by no means brilliant, but deserves four stars nevertheless.
55 Comments|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 May 2004
Thanks to No Doubt for recently reviving the title track and letting another generation know about Talk Talk. They were truly an 80's pop band but were also crafted musicians and great song writers. Each song is brilliant and stands the test of time. A must for any collection and proof that in recent years so few group a) write thier own music and b) when they do, actually sound any good!!
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 November 2013
I am a huge fan of this group, and in particular the extraordinarily haunting voice of Mark Hollis. This album is therefore a must for my collection.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 March 2015
Some bassline brilliance, percussive magic and strong vocals from Hollis. A much smoother, funkier collection than The Party's Over.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)