Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
46
4.6 out of 5 stars
The Best Disco Album in the World...Ever!
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£9.97+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 8 May 2017
Really great songs - some that you don't find on other compilations. Very good for stirring the old memories :o)
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 August 2017
Very pleased with my purchase
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 July 2017
one of the best disco cd's I have had.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 July 2017
yep
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 April 2017
Brilliant brings back all the good music
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 March 2017
Love it. Takes me back to my disco era. Good condition
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 January 2006
You really can't fault the selection of tracks here (with the possible exception of the Ritchie Family, which made me laugh out loud on hearing it for the first time here). Classics all, and not always the obvious ones.
But as someone who loved every second of these tracks when I first bought them on 7-inch vinyl, it was incredibly frustrating to find that the tracks overlap very slightly, so you lose those ecatatic moments at the start and finish of many of them.
The cue points at the start of each track are sloppy too, so you catch the end of the previous one even if you wanted to skip it.
And in order to squeeze 44 titles on, several tracks are faded out early.
If you're just a casual listener/dancer, you could do no better than this collection. But if you're a DJ or a serious collector you might be better with one of the many similar compilations which DON'T mix the tracks or edit them.
11 Comment| 43 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 February 2012
Seems this is another listing which doesn't show the album listing: so here again, no guarantees as I trawled it from elsewhere on the net, but I believe it to be correct:

1.01 Donna Summer - I Feel Love 3:44
1.02 Lipps Inc.* - Funky Town 3:50
1.03 Jacksons, The - Shake Your Body (Down To The Ground) 3:40
1.04 Earth, Wind & Fire Feat. Emotions, The - Boogie Wonderland 3:32
1.05 Diana Ross - Upside Down 3:34
1.06 Chic - Le Freak (Original Version) 3:28
1.07 Kool & The Gang - Ladies Night 3:17
1.08 Candi Staton - Young Hearts Run Free 3:48
1.09 Stacy Lattisaw - Jump To The Beat 3:29
1.10 Chaka Khan - I'm Every Woman 4:01
1.11 Sister Sledge - He's The Greatest Dancer 3:28
1.12 KC And The Sunshine Band* - Get Down Tonight 3:28
1.13 Trammps, The - Disco Inferno 3:12
1.14 Odyssey (2) - Use It Up, Wear It Out 3:50
1.15 LaBelle - Lady Marmelade 3:51
1.16 Detroit Spinners* - Working My Way Back To You 3:56
1.17 A Taste Of Honey - Boogie Oogie Oogie 3:35
1.18 Evelyn "Champagne" King* - Shame 3:36
1.19 Heatwave - Boogie Nights 3:28
1.20 Tavares - More Than A Woman 3:09
1.21 George McCrae - Rock Your Baby 3:11
1.22 Barry White - Never Never Gonna Give Ya Up 3:43
2.01 Gloria Gaynor - I Will Survive 3:10
2.02 Village People, The* - Y.M.C.A. 3:35
2.03 Dan Hartman - Instant Replay 3:24
2.04 Ritchie Family, The - The Best Disco In Town 5:03
2.05 Starsound* - Stars On 45 Abba Medley 4:29
2.06 N-Trance Feat. Ricardo Da Force - Stayin' Alive 3:55
2.07 Silver Convention - Get Up And Boogie 3:50
2.08 Shirley And Co.* - Shame Shame Shame 3:33
2.09 Kelly Marie - Feels Like I'm In Love 3:12
2.10 La Belle Epoque* - Black Is Black 2:51
2.11 Ottawan - D.I.S.C.O. 2:59
2.12 Boney M* - Rasputin 3:55
2.13 Sheila & B. Devotion - Spacer 3:30
2.14 Lolleatta Holloway* - Love Sensation 2:58
2.15 Michael Zager Band* - Let's All Chant 3:10
2.16 Shalamar - I Can Make You Feel Good 3:48
2.17 Whispers, The - And The Beat Goes On 3:22
2.18 Rose Royce - Car Wash 3:13
2.19 Narada Michael Walden - I Shoulda Loved Ya 3:54
2.20 Real Thing, The - Can You Feel The Force 3:49
2.21 Sylvester - You Make Me Feel (Mighty Real) 4:00
2.22 Amii Stewart - Knock On Wood 3:30
Companies etc'
Phonographic Copyright (p) - Circa Records Ltd.
Copyright (c) - Circa Records Ltd.
Copyright (c) - Virgin Records Ltd.
Credits'
Compiled By, Other [Concept] - Ashley Abram
Design, Artwork - Design Corporation, The
Notes'
'&© 1997 Circa Records Ltd.
© 1997 Virgin Records Ltd.
22 Comments| 73 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
#1 HALL OF FAMETOP 10 REVIEWERon 6 June 2009
At the time of its original release, this was a TV-advertised album that sold in huge quantities in Britain. It brought together many classic tracks from the seventies and early eighties.

Inevitably, Donna Summer (I feel love), Gloria Gaynor (I will survive), KC and the Sunshine Band (Get down tonight), Earth Wind and Fire (Boogie wonderland), Sister Sledge (He's the greatest dancer), Odyssey (Use it up and wear it out), Barry White (Never never gonna give ya up), Chic (Le freak), Village People (YMCA), Rose Royce (Car wash) and Real Thing (Can you feel the force?) are all here, though not always with the songs that you'd expect to find. In some cases, the expected tracks are to be found on the second volume.

Perhaps the big surprise is that Boney M are represented by Rasputin and by Ma Baker on the other set, where we would have expected to find Rivers of Babylon and Brown girl in the ring. My personal favorites here are Young hearts run free (Candi Staton), Black is black (La Belle Epoque) and More than a woman (Tavares), but there's plenty of great music throughout the compilation.

Although long out of print, most of the tracks continue to be re-issued at regular intervals on multi-artist compilations, and some of them can also be found on releases by the individual artists. However, if you enjoy seventies disco music and you have the opportunity to buy this somewhere, you'll love it.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 March 2017
the tracks merge into each other so if I play 1 track it has a bit of the previous song on it at the start
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

Disco Fever
£10.27
Anthems Disco
£9.99
The Best Disco Album In The World ... Ever! 2
£7.87

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)