Learn more Download now Shop now Browse your favorite restaurants Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop now Learn more

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£5.17+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

TOP 500 REVIEWERon 2 October 2015
1995: I remember grabbing the CD of this on the spot, as soon as the pink feathers and the word "garbage" on the cover caught my eye at a local record store in the UK, and could not believe my ears as I realized I had just discovered my new favourite super-band! Few months later they were all over the place, and by next year they had hit it really big. 2015: Digital copy preordered. Maybe not quite as desirable as the physical release, but loyalty to the music nonetheless. Frustrated that the super deluxe edition of this is only available as a download, I would rather have all tracks in digital copies, than not at all. Ironic that I should pay for music in a format that is slowly killing off CDs and vinyl. Plus, how weird to obtain music that, as a music collector, cannot actually "collect", since it is stored on a hard drive instead of a shelf.

At 62 tracks, the running time would make this a 4-disc set, which would have made an excellent deluxe CD set, but one that may have been a little pricier than all but the most die-hard fans would like to pay. I suspect Garbage would not sell thousands of 4-disc packages at this point, so keeping it digital-only for the fans makes some sense. With 6 options to choose from (see below), one would have thought that at least one of these would include both physical and digital material in one package, but no. Annoying as this already was, it actually became even more for buyers of the digital super deluxe edition. Available originally at only £7.99 from most EU retailers (well, e-tailers in this case), just 2 days before release amazon e-mailed customers, apologizing for not being able to deliver the pre-ordered MP3 album.

The result was them cancelling preorders or redirecting to a link, which took you to a copy of the standard 21-track digital download, and for double the price. Customer service can issue a refund, as it turns out, so the price for the 62-track bundle is actually £7.99 and not the inflated £15.98, but why all this hassle? Even the physical copy of this anniversary edition is causing frustration. With regard to the 2LP vinyl, it is still not clear at present whether the pink-coloured vinyl is limited or exclusive to one region. In my country (Greece), we get the standard black vinyl (I checked with 3 different retailers). I would love to get my hands on those pinkies, they look fantastic on the promo photos! Please, feel free to post any info as to where one can get this set.

Listening to the digital version of the album that made me a fan 20 years ago, makes me realize how dramatically things have changed since Garbage introduced themselves with this flashy self-titled debut. What remains the same, though, is the impact of this genre-defying set, which feels just as instrumental for post-grunge, as it does for trip-hop music. Younger audiences are probably unaware of this band's contribution to alternative rock, but it was this very record that bridged different worlds, and drew different audiences together under Garbage's unique banner. Calling them the forbears of alternative rock is only fitting. All it takes is a random listen to any of the songs on this, from the opening "Supervixen" to the closing "Milk". As for the G-Sides, they are only indicative of the band's legacy. Garbage rule!

List of 20th anniversary releases (all remastered):

- deluxe CD edition (CD 1: original 12 tracks / CD 2: 9 G-Sides)
- standard vinyl edition [2LP: original 12 tracks (pink-coloured vinyl not confirmed for all regions)]
* includes download card
- deluxe vinyl edition bos xet [3LP: original 12 tracks / G-Sides / fan zine (3LP 180gram vinyl)]
* includes download card and autographed photo of band

- standard edition (original 12 tracks)
- deluxe edition (original 12 tracks + 9 G-Sides)
- super deluxe edition (original 12 tracks + 9 G-Sides + 29 remixes + 12 alternate versions)
review imagereview imagereview imagereview imagereview imagereview image
11 Comment| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 4 October 2015
Good reissue of a fabulous album. The first side has some of the top tracks ever. I will focus on the reissue.
The best bit is that the physical release comes with the Amazon download that has the 62 tracks from the download-only Super Deluxe version. This includes all the remixes and there are some great versions amongst them. I like remixes that add a twist (not a complete change) to the original. The best of these are the Danny Sabre mix of Stupid Girl and the wonderful Martin Gore mix of Queer. These downloads are even better than the reissue - so well done to Amazon for including them all.
The remastering sounds like it has better bass, but the treble is still shrill - like the original (which I could not locate to compare it). I have to play it through the hi-fi's graphic equaliser - it will probably sound good on a car's music system. The extra disc is a disappointing 32 minutes long and contains the G-sides (B-sides to you and I). Good to have them together, but it would be even better with the best of the remixes.
So good CD reissue bolstered by a fabulous Amazon download
33 Comments| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 13 February 2017
Great tracks. The original album still impresses. The bonus CD contains the b-sides that were included on the CD singles taken from the album, only original b-sides are included, not remixes that were on the 2nd CDs of the two part single releases (remember those cd1 and cd2 sets for singles?). Non album single 'Subhuman' is also include as well as the version of '#1 Crush' featured on the Romeo & Juliet movie soundtrack, though I prefer the original mix that was used as a b-side to Subhuman that is sadly absent. The single mix of 'Milk' that featured the guest vocals of Tricky is also sadly absent. 'Kick My Ass' a song taken from a tribute album to the cult singer/songwriter Vic Chestnt rounds up the bonus CD.

So why only 2 stars awarded? That would be down to the awful mastering, overly loud, compressed and harsh. The original album was already pretty loud, though that was simply an artistic decision that suited the style of music. This remaster simply sounds horrible to my ears, so much so that I repurchased all the Garbage cd singles that I sold many years before just to rehear those b-sides, the Subhuman single set me back £10 alone. My initial attraction for buying this new version was a chance to reown those b-sides in one package at a great price. A shame really, transferring the original master recordings using today's equipment whilst keeping the volume levels in line with the original 1995 release of this album and its supporting tracks would have resulted in great release.

A missed opportunity from a sound quality perspective.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
TOP 100 REVIEWERon 11 March 2017
Garbage were always perhaps the most Americanised sounding of all the Britpop bands, but their eponymous debut album was definitely within the Britpop flavoured canon. Their American sound was no doubt due to the fact that Garbage are in fact only quarter British, with three Americans making up the core of the group, and fronted by Scottish vocalist Shirley Manson. Their first album contains many of the band's most popular and best-known hits, and was released the day after what became known as the 'Battle of Britpop' in 1995.

'Garbage' does sounds rather dated now, but is still a great slice of Britpop despite it sometimes being overlooked. The opening track 'Supervixen', and subsequent hit singles alone ensure a four star rating from me. My favourite is the catchy, singalong tune 'Only Happy When it Rains', followed by the much more melodic, laid-back 'Queer', and the haunting 'Milk', as well as 'Stupid Girl', despite the cheesy chorus, which provided them with an indie anthem, and their biggest UK hit when it peaked at no. 4.

Shirley Mason's sultry voice is unmistakably 1990s here, used over the album's very sleek, electronic-laced alt-rock grooves. 'Garbage', an interesting mixture of alternative, dance rock and power pop, makes for a very easy listen, with songs dealing with every emotion, from hate and love, often at the same time, to desperation and peace. It still serves as the best place to begin with if you're currently a novice to this highly creative band, who are still performing together, and making good music to this very day.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 12 November 2015
A long time favourite album still sounds fresh to the ears. The bonus tracks make this a great album to have in the collection. Unfortunately I was let down by Amazon as they deemed it OK to pack it in a card envelope to despatch. This would crush the spine of the CD pack and after sending it back 4 times I gave up and bought it somewhere else.
review image
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 31 January 2000
This album is the best CD in my collection, each song is unique, great guitar work, Shirley's sexy vocals and great lyrics. Buy it or die!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 2 January 2016
Ok first of all, the vocals on “Supervixen” & “Que*r” are quite low down in the mix, which seems odd considering that this is supposedly a newly digital remastered version of the album.
Anyway, the main reason for buying this album again (as most Garbage fans will already own it) is the second bonus disc, which is excellent & almost strong enough to be a studio album in it’s own right, in fact “subhuman” & a cover of the Jam’s “Butterfly Collector” would have fitted quite nicely on the original record. The rest of the songs on the Bonus disc have a more dance feel to them, being B-sides this band probably felt that they could be a bit more experimental with their sound.
The original album has really stood the test of time, with that great slightly dominatrix theme to some of the songs (no wonder Shirley Manson has such a large male following) & still holds up in a male dominated music scene.
So if you’re a big fan of Garbage you’re gonna want to buy this two-disc version of the album, but if your new to the band, I’d advise you buy the old version of the album, the sound quality great & it’s considerable cheaper.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 20 October 2016
Only bought it, because I was looking through my collection of music cd's and realised that it was not there............miss this band so much, love it
11 Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 10 June 2000
This album is great. I bought version 2.0 before G, now expecting G to be good but not a good as 2.0, however i was wrong this album was better. It was more hardcore garbage using little computer effects like in version 2.0. This album is a must have for all Garbage fans!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 10 December 2000
This album has got to be the best album ever released. It is the most adictive and powerful sound that I have ever heard. Released by my favourit band. I must say a very well done to Sherly Mansun for releasing this amazing album. Buy it cos its a must have!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)