Learn more Download now Shop now Browse your favorite restaurants Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop now Learn more

Customer reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
The Stooges
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£5.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

on 7 April 2010
Just finished a biography about Iggy and his crazy life,so bought a couple of his very early albums,which at my age[60]is also very weird.But they are ok,for their time but time moves on and so Iggy will be at Knebworth but will he trade on this old stuff,and abuse the crowd,or surprise everybody and produce a different set?We shall see!Oh and the the album is in the new car.Not sure what that says for old stuff?
44 Comments| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 6 December 2014
I was just on my way out to the doctors when I remembered I hadn't reviewed this one yet. I've literally got five minutes so please excuse me my uncharacteristic brevity. I wouldn't want to appear dismissive. It's just I've been having these terrible heads of late accompanied by what I can only describe as an almost complete derangement of the senses (see Rimaud, Art., not Rambo, John). For example, I was in Presto the other day, there to buy a lemon and a pair of socks, when it appeared that the old woman behind me was leading a bullock rather than pushing a trolley. It was only later that I recalled that Presto had ceased to exist years ago! Then there was the occasion a couple of weeks back when I could have sworn that a small dog called me a 'Preening tart' in the local park. There are many more episodes but I don't want to miss my bus. I could drive but the idea of my having one of my 'visions' at the wheel frightens me. I dread to think of what sort of mayhem might ensue were I to see Rolf Harris riding a reindeer down the high street dressed in tight Pink Panther pyjamas, while in command, or not, of the Sierra.
Which said, I bought this believing it to be the comedy trio and haven't even listened to it yet. I'll probably pass it on to my son, Leif, after the singer, Garrett, a great favourite of my late wife Judy, after the singer, Garland, a great favourite of her even later father Bing, after the singer, Crosby, a great favourite of his mother, whose name I forget, who recently began a course of antibiotics for a bit of trouble he's having 'downstairs' and needs cheering up. It's more likely his kind of thing. He's very keen on The Busted or something. Must dash.
11 Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 12 February 2011
It seems like those reviewing this have heard the album but not this version. The John Cale mixes are running at the wrong speed. Around 8-10% too slow making them unlistenable. Rhino know about this, they were made aware before this product was released but chose to leave it.
44 Comments| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 31 July 2016
Ditto the previous review pointing out the issue of the tracks running too slow. Rhino issued a statement at the time to the effect that the speed was consistent with the master recording they used, which is hogwash. Iggy sounds as if he's on Mogadon! (He probably was at some point, but not this time). This issue is unfortunately consistent with the downward trend in the quality of Rhino's output in the 2000's. Doesn't anyone there actually listen to the material they are releasing? To add insult to injury, Rhino included a repressing of this 2 CD set WITH the original order with a note to the effect that 'the label colour' was incorrect on the original pressing, STILL with the incorrect speed! The whole schmear is ho-hum (considering the cost), some wonderful unseen photographs, an eccentric and amusing choice for bonus seven inch, but shoddy packaging and dismal annotation. This was THE opportunity to document the definitive story of this classic album - it should be a nerd-out - and this has been passed over for fast bucks, it seems (an unfortunate conclusion to any endeavour Iggy is involved with, it seems. To wit, the equally disappointing 'Raw Power' box, using (and losing) the masters for the RCA albums as collateral for a new record deal, 'TV Eye Live', Car Insurance ads, etc. I know this all goes to show what a Wild, Untamed Rocker he is, unconcerned with heritage or history, only with his next fat wad, but how many fans will put up with having their faces rubbed in it for so long?).

Much as I love the man, it is crucial to remember, amidst the all-conquering Pop ego, he has always been reliant on superb musicians in order to enable him to effectively perform his act, in spite of his often spiteful denigration of their talent.

What's more, I sold on my copy during lean times for considerably less than the hundred quid it now sells for - S**T!!!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
VINE VOICETOP 1000 REVIEWERon 8 October 2006
This expanded remaster of The Stooges' 1969 debut is extremely welcome both for the quality of the remaster (it sounds absolutely brilliant) and for the quality of some of the extra material on the second disc. The contents are basically split into three: the original album on CD1, some unused mixes by producer John Cale which start CD2, and a kind of alternative version of most of the album taking up the rest of CD2.

For anyone that's never heard this, the original album contains three of Iggy Pop's all-time classics in No Fun, I Wanna Be Your Dog and 1969. These and Ann were the only songs they had when they arrived at the studio; they filled out the rest of the album with three new songs written in one evening (Little Doll, Not Right and Real Cool Time) and the dirgey chant We Will Fall. The latter is a bit of a waste of space but while the first three songs mentioned are the greatest, the other four, especially Little Doll, are near-classics of proto-metal/grunge/whatever. The band had not been playing their instruments for very long, though they'd got pretty good by this time, but they were just bursting with youthful enthusiasm, especially guitarist Ron Asheton, whose playing, if not technically brilliant, is inspired, vicious and original.

For anyone that already has the album but is tempted by the additional material, I'd say there are two reservations: 1) they're basically the same performances; 2) the John Cale mixes are worth hearing once or twice but aren't as good as the ones on the original album - they're less powerful and 3 of the 4 are shorter edits; the exception, I Wanna Be Your Dog, only runs longer because it runs nearly a semitone slower. These reservations, however, are completely blown out of the water by the rest of the material. Although they are basically the same recordings, some have entertaining alternate vocal performances, and most are longer than the original versions (especially No Fun and Ann), revealing large quantities of previously unheard and absolutely scorching guitar soloing by Ron Asheton - you have to ask why these tracks were faded on the original album - surely not to make room for the thoroughly dull We Will Fall. These alternate versions are also newly mixed, to an extremely high quality, and sound absolutely superb.

So while the overall sound is far cleaner and sharper than the magnificently grungy production of The Stooges' far more celebrated second album, "Fun House", this is a highly auspicious debut from one of the greatest rock'n'roll bands of all time.
22 Comments| 38 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
VINE VOICEon 8 October 2011
I'm reviewing the The Stooges' original album, not the double disc reissue, which is surely of interest only to the serious collector. Much is made, especially in the sleevenotes, of this album's influence on punk, etc, but rarely of its antecedents. Sure, it influenced what the Sex Pistols did and that's hugely significant, but the third album 'Raw Power' is much closer to late 1970s punk rock and is a far better album.

'1969' looks both back and forward, which is ironic in a song which purports to be about the present. Musically, it recalls Bo Diddley and the first wave of British r&b, with the addition of the wah wah pedal, an effect which is overdone to the point of tedium across the album. Lyrically, like most of the songs, it says little. The Stooges main ploy is repetition, their simple but relentless riffs working up a feverish groove and this extends to Iggy Pop who keeps repeating mundanities such as 'It's 1969, baby'. What is forward-looking, however, is the line, 'Another year with nothing to do'. There was plenty of social and political protest in music at this time, but issues of personal frustration and boredom were largely swept under the carpet until 1977.

The outstanding 'I Wanna Be Your Dog' sounds like a continuation of what obscure, angst-ridden US bands like The Seeds and Count Five had been doing for a few years. While their predecessors had been writing largely misogynistic lyrics, however, The Stooges simply lusted. It's noticeable too that across the album, Pop often sings 'we' rather than the selfish 'I'.

'We Will Fall' is the biggest surprise, like a mantric chant performed in a stupor, but highly effective. 'No Fun' is, of course, the direct line to the Pistols and sounds almost as if it could have been written for them. After this, however, The Stooges begin to repeat themselves, a symptom of a band of limited technical ability. Moreover, 'Not Right' simply sounds like a rip-off of early Kinks, though many other famous bands have been guilty of that. I don't agree with other reviewers that the stuff this was up against, such as Led Zeppelin, is dross. For me, the important thing is a healthy variety. 'The Stooges' stands out only because there was a dearth of this kind of approach to music when it was made. It's an album of exciting moments, but is by no means perfect.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 26 January 2000
Self expression is hard to come by when you lack any talent or ability. This album just goes to show that with the smallest bit of ability, a pinch of skill and the simplest of chords and scales, something truly transcendent can be created. Hell, wasn't that what punk was all about? The bigger question is why do so many of these try hard musicians end up sounding so damn good? Lou Reed, Johnny Thunders, Richard Hell, Alan Vega and yes, even Iggy Pop and Ron Asheton. This album is just the b**locks. Every song burns with some of the greatest riffs created, lacking anything like the polish of fellow early stalwarts and riffmeisters Led Zepplin. Sounding ten times better also, for all their crudy roughness. Powerhouse drumming and Wah Wah noise to fry an egg on. Worth noting is the producer, none other than Welshman John Cale, bringing his noisy, avant garde sensibilties on the back of two other seminal, pre punk, Velvet Underground albums. This Album inspired many artists to pick up the guitar, learn a couple of chords and make music, including myself. This album hasn't aged a jot, unlike contempories The Doors, whose music The Stooges took to its logical conclusion, including Iggy's cavorting. Sound's fresher today than freshly caught fish, taken to the fresh market on freshday, and sold by Mr Fresh the fishmonger. Bow at the alter of apocalyptic guitar heaven.
0Comment| 33 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 6 December 2017
There are controversies between the editions of the Stooges albums. I liked the sound of this double edition on vinyl. Only Disk 2 has already paid for the investment. Indispensable
11 Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 3 June 2017
killer pressing AMAZING quality heavyweight cover straight into protective sleeve. Some bull on the inner sleeves singing the record companies praises F them. Great album great pressing. Absolute standard must-have given a first pressing in decent condition up to £1000.
22 Comments| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 6 March 2017
The Stooges first album is an absolute classic, It includes his rightly famous brilliant songs I Wanna be your Dog, No Fun and 1969 along with lesser known classics such as Ann, Real Cool Time, Not Right and Little Doll, and the 10 minute long We Will Fall, (which I have to admit I didn`t like at first but since grew to love). It`s worth getting the 2CD deluxe version, with alternative John Cale mixes, alternative vocals and wonderful extra long versions of Ann and No Fun. Wonderful!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Customers also viewed these items

Raw Power
Heavy Liquid

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)