Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
61
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£4.60+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 6 November 2005
Riverdance, is one of the greatest CDs I am proud to have. There is something for everyone on it. It's beats and melodies are amazing. The title theme which doesn;t appear until track 8 is breathtaking with the haunting voice before the rythmic furore of the show's climax.
Bill Whelan has surpassed himself the use of Irish traditional music and other styles including Spanish gives the album such definition it represents the best of Ireland, and best of the music establishment.
Pure Genius!
0Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 August 2004
[One CD, with a running time of 73:06 minutes.] This CD is the soundtrack of the fabulous show, Riverdance, which alone makes it a must-have. But even outside of that, the music is superb, and I would highly recommend it to anyone who enjoys listening to Irish music. The paperwork included with the CD has a list of the tunes, along with the credits, as well as the words to all of the songs (including the one in Gaelic!).
I really enjoyed this CD and highly recommend it!
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 October 2000
The show redefined Irish dance - gone were the straight backed, prim and proper styles which came into force with the prudish 20th century. This was dancing filled with passion, a celebration of life. The album, too, captures this feeling exquisitely. Let it play, and you'll physically feel your heart thumping and the hairs standing on the back of your neck. It is vibrant and radiating, a testament to the culture which gave birth to this music in its truest form. If you've seen the show, you'll know what I'm talking about and won't be able to resist this album. If you haven't, do yourself a favour and buy this album NOW. It's not quite the same as seeing the show live, but it's an excellent start.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 December 2013
I have not received the Riverdance CD I ordered!. The one I viewed online and ordered has "Riverdance" in white writing. I am after a specific track - the one I received had "Riverdance" in black writing and does not have the track I am after. So hugely disappointed and not happy that I will have to pay to return it! Trade Descriptions!!!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 July 2014
Still sounds good years later. It was a game changer as far as Irish dancing and any dance shows were concerned. Simply amazing. Good songs and wonderful music that are a good listen in their own right. Recommended
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 March 2004
Bill Wheelan's music is always lovely. The Riverdance soundtrack is particularly nice, though I was a little dissapointed that the poetry from the show was not on the soundtrack. If you like gentle music with an Irish flavour that can inspire and evoke emotion, this is definately the CD for you.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 December 2012
I'm loving this cd - the music is evocative and exciting in turns. The tap sounds are included in this (they weren't in my old cassette version) which I like. If you've seen the stage production it will take you straight back and even if you haven't you will find it moody and evocative.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 July 2012
I have loved River dance since i was a little girl. Bought the dvd best of River dance. But it is not a good as the old version. Pleased i manged 2 get the old version on cd. Love playing the cd brings bk lots of good times
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 August 2013
This is a beautiful album. If you like the show or Irish or Celtic music then you will love this album. A nice variety of slow, peaceful, calming songs and exciting, fast tempo pieces. And for those who love they way the taps in the show add to the music, some of the pieces have the taps added.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 September 2012
I love this CD and I listen to it all the time on my iPod. The songs are all brilliant and some include the songs of the dancers which I really love. The music and musicians are amazing and I really love the sound of all of the tracks. It brings back wonderful memories of me watching the show when I was little - it was my all-time favourite video to watch as it always put my a great mood and I am so glad I have found the CD to go with it. I really love it and I hope others like it as much as I do. Thank you Amazon Freya xxx
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)