Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
22
4.8 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£18.38+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 27 December 2011
I bought this for a friend, having got it already myself; I think it is by far the best I have heard, the tempos are excellent and all soloists good.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 January 2014
Wonderful! This is the recording to buy if you want quality. John Eliot Gardiner incomparable. The notes are worth reading too.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 December 2012
A total joy to listen to. Have wanted to acquire this recording for a long time, and was not disappointed.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 October 2014
Probably the best version of Bach's Christmas Oratoio
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 December 2015
Excellent version. Very enjoyable.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 May 2015
This was super. JKS(Mrs.)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 November 2014
Good German version
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 November 2014
History fails to record the name of the man who was more heroic than any recipient of the Victoria Cross or the Medal of Honor but his fame lives on in the annals of bravery. When Ronnie Reagan unleashed the might of the Republic on the island-state of Grenada in 1983, carrier-based jets accompanied the Marines. In response, this unnamed member of the Grenadian Air Force took off his Cessna and flew gamely towards the American squadrons.

He was armed with a shotgun.

Up against the Tomcats, I suspect this lionhearted warrior was no ace when he perished fierily. Even so, he served his day. I think longingly of his feats whenever I turn my attention to Jeggy's Christmas Oratorio. It's been in my collection for over twenty years. Good money was paid. The presentation is first class and the booklet is scholarly. But sadly, I lack intestinal fortitude: I have never been able to listen to it in its entirety.

It takes a braver man than me to encompass this bright vacuity. Awash with fast tempi, clipped phrasing and glibness, it's a stark reminder of why Jeggy is almost unlistenable in this repertoire - assuming of course that one wants Bach to be a numinous encounter. Anthony Rolfe Johnson is probably the best of the soloists - and that's saying something.

Bach's Christmas Oratorio is a meticulously planned masterpiece; the German notes in the booklet contain an amazing diagram to that end. Each of the Six Parts has a distinctive character of its own. But you would never guess it on the basis of this recording. Much like the squares of a Rubik Cube, all of the movements are interchangeable, such be the homogeneity of the `Jeggy Lacquer'. If you have this survey in your collection, play either disc in the car and push the `Random' button. Soon you'll be in agreement.

Befittingly, we close with the brave pilot above.

He will not grow old as we that are left grow old. Jeggy shall not weary him, nor the English Baroque Soloists condemn. At the closing of the Christmas Oratorio, we will remember him.

Lest we forget.
22 comments| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 May 2016
Excellent
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 December 2014
Splendid
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.