Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's



on 15 December 2016
I love this cd. First heard part of the music in the film Shine, it is now one of my favourite things to listen to.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 April 2017
Lovely recording -beautiful music -especially Emma Kirkby "Nulla in mundo pax sincere "
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 July 2006
Ah yes. This recording, which was my second ever, the first being Emma Kirkby & James Bowman with AAM performing Pergolesi. That recording was so perfect that I had to buy more and hear it, so I found this one.

The sound of the choir in the Gloria is of course Anglican by its very nature - none of the earthy gutsy sound of the Monteverdi Choir here. However, the performances are very fine indeed, and cannot be faulted in terms of quality.

Nulla in mundo was rightly made more popular by this recording and by the film Shine (oh yes - remember that!?). Kirkby's singing is youthful and clear, and there are indeed moments where she sounds like a treble boy, but with some serious experience!

As always, the AAM under Christopher Hogwood combine to create an almost unrivalled ensemble, as demonstrated on the second disc of little-known cantatas for voice.

A superb disc, and a great introduction to Baroque music. Stop reading this and buy it.
0Comment| 37 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 May 2003
This is a stunning rendition of the "Gloria." It's probably worth buying for the rendition of "Laudamus Te" alone - angelic!
For anyone who loves Vivaldi, it's a must. My only miniscule criticism is that the tempo on the "Gloria" at the beginning is a bit too fast.
0Comment| 39 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 December 2010
My main purpose in writing this review is to prevent too much dust settling on a set of recordings which have seldom, if ever, been out of the catalogue for something in the region of 30 years. Some treasured recordings sound disappointingly dated when one returns to them after many years. Not so this set! If Vivaldi has gone stale on you, these performances will refresh your ears.

I agree with the praise expressed by my antecedents here & would simply add that, while Emma Kirkby is in wonderfully mellifluous voice (especially in 'Nulla in Mundo Pax Sincera'), we should not overlook Judith Nelson, whose glorious singing, in duet with a gorgeously lyrical oboe, makes 'Domine Deus, Rex... (Track 6, disc 1) the absolute highlight of a double CD that is never less than brilliant.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 November 2015
It is an outstanding beautiful piece of music. Many reviews have been written on it - so maybe no need to say more - just listen to this beauty.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 March 2013
I had a copy of Vivaldi's Gloria, which pales into insignificance in comparison to this version with Christopher Hogwood conducting. Most moving and emotive interpretation of the music. Vivaldi would have approved!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 November 2000
This is absolutely fantastic, anyone who can claim to like baroque music should not be without a copy of this. As is to be expected the Academy of Ancient Music has produced a fine recording of this Vivaldi masterpiece, (and it is not half as religious as the title suggests). A seriously essential edition to any cd collection. If this hasn't persuaded you then maybe the combination of Christopher Hogwood & Emma Kirkby should, as recordings rarely come finer than this. I love it & so will you!
0Comment| 48 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 May 2015
I first heard this recording of Vivaldi's Gloria in the 1980s and it remains one of my favourite recordings of all time. Other recordings do exist but Hogwood's use of only pure voices unencumbered by vibrato make this version stand out. The "et in Terra pax..." is particularly fine. Coupled with it are a collection of smaller works featuring stellar performances by Emma Kirkby and James Bowman. Kirkbys recording of "nulla in mundo pax sincera" is justly famous but Bowman's "cum dederis delicto suis somnus" and her own "amor hai vinto" equal it for sheer spine shivering beauty. Awesome.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 October 2009
CD1 has given, and continues to give, me immense pleasure. The performance and production on the whole CD is very good, with exceptional individual performers. The first track "Gloria in excelsis Deo" gives me a mix of shivers down my spine, goose bumps and a massive grin when I listen to it, it is a superlative performance and can be listened to over and over again without loss of pleasure.

Buy it an enjoy it.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)