Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
31
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£8.64+ £1.26 shipping


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 18 October 2012
I was really looking forward to an exceptional 2 CD set after reading the reviews here. I was rather disappointed.

I am not an organ scholar nor a classical music critic, so my views are as a lay person with a general interest in many genres of classical music, a lot of listening experience (live and otherwise), and two better-than-average domestic stereo systems.

I was interested to hear distinct tonal differences between the organs played, but for the most part these 1970s analogue Decca recordings do not do justice to the longest stops: all but three pieces have not much hint of anything deeper than a 16ft stop. The mid and treble ranges are clear and forward, but what other reviewers seem to regard as a "room shaking" bass register is probably well above the pitch which I presume these organs actually produce when called upon to do so.

I will not rehash the opinions of others here about the selection of music, or its interpretation, which seems to have managed to achieve something approaching a consensus. My contribution may therefore seem a little one-dimensional, but I felt the shortcomings in this respect needed airing.
0Comment| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 April 2017
Peter Hurford's Bach interpretations have stood the test of time. They are played with virtuosity and insight and the sound of the organs that he uses is surprisingly lively and visceral.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 May 2017
Probably the best organist ever
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 April 2017
I was rather disappointed
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 February 2009
Here on a a budget 2CD set are all the great Bach organ works beautifully played by Peter Hurford and lovingly recorded by Decca engineers in the 1970s. The remastering is entirely successful and the sound is so clear that the bass tones can quite literally be felt in your feet. These are not organs of Bach's time, though, but full-blooded modern machines - if you seek historical authenticity look elsewhere. My only reservation with this release is the paucity of the liner notes. One and a half pages does not do justice to these masterpieces. There is no biography of Peter Hurford himself nor any elaboration on the many different organs chosen. It's not surprising CD sales are decreasing in favour of cheaper downloads.
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 March 2006
Well-judged tempi, good recording, the scholarship you'd expect from Mr Hurford, allied to imaginatively chosen registration. The C Minor Passacaglia & Fugue are particularly good - I've been looking for a sensitive recording of this for ages after dismissing a lot of ponderous versions which start off with the big guns already blazing!
0Comment| 30 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 March 2005
A wonderful CD- the playing is sublime and the production quality is admirable. The sound is a little overpowering from time to time; you can almost feel the stonework shaking under the tremendous power of the more imposing pieces. This is balanced nicely by a choice of ethereally beautiful interpretations of quieter pieces. An absolute joy.
0Comment| 45 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 July 2017
A great asset to my Organ Works collection. Good reproduction good selection of music. I commend
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 May 2013
Slightly dirty music from Austria. J.S. liked his beer chips and gravy and it shows in his compositions. Good, not great. It's quite evil music with zero-sugar melodies and counterpoint. Peter Hurford works the manuals.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 December 2008
I have been familiar with Hurford's Bach ever since he recorded his 70's discs in New college Oxford when I was a student. His playing always gives great clarity to the textures and counterpoint, combining thoughtful stop registrations with exciting playing. The choice of instruments is a bonus as they are particularly suited to the playing of Bach. All in all this recording is to be recommended and bound tt be a treat for all enthusiasts.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse