Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now

Customer reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars
8
4.9 out of 5 stars
5 star
7
4 star
1
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£10.27+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 26 April 2010
Of all the single composer albums that Bartoli has made (Mozart, Gluck, Vivaldi, the other Rossini Arias CD) this is by far the best. Spectacular singing, resembles the early voice of Sutherland almost. Dazzling and luscious coloratura singing. Also a good introduction to some of Rossini's lesser known operas e.g Zelmira, Le Nozze di Teti e di Peleo etc. Highly recommended.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 January 2003
Made 11 years ago, this disc captures Cecilia at her best. She eases her way through 8 arias that many a more experienced opera singer would have difficulty in performing.
It was with Rossini's La Cenerentola in 1993 that Cecilia had her first great success and her skill in tackling the Rossini repertoire is expertly exemplified here. Every note is perfectly placed and timed and the speed of her colaratura runs is astounding - just listen to the last few minutes of Bel Raggio Lusinghier from Semiramide as an example.
Often accused as having a somewhat frenetic style, Cecilia shows here that she is capable of singing with tenderness and emotion as well as with gusto and passion, producing a well-rounded CD from various Rossini operas, most of which are, unfortunately, little heard of nowadays.
For any fan of Rossini and of great singing, this CD is an absolute must. The arias here are prime evidence as to why Cecilia Bartoli has become the leading, most popular mezzo of the last ten years, and sets the target for which all others must aim!
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 December 2016
Just love this Ladies voice.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 May 2017
Fabulous CD
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 December 2000
If you want to hear Cecilia Bartoli at her best, you should hear her sing Rossini. This recording catches her in her prime, at the terrifyingly early age of 24! Bartoli sings her way through some of the most difficult music a singer can face, with what seems the utmost ease. The colluratura passages are sung cleanly, and are beautifully coloured. Cecilia also brings life to these heroines, this recording is Cecilia the singer and actress! It also brings to light Rossini's fantastic operas, the majority of which we do not see performed today. A definite must-have!
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 December 2012
This was the first Cecilia Bartoli recording I ever heard, and it blew me away. She cut her teeth on Rossini before venturing to Mozart and others. How well she did! Glorious vocals throughout. Buy, without hesitation.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 October 2006
I've been lucky enough to have met Cecilia at a signing years ago and she signed a copy of this disc for me which I have since framed.

I am a big fan of everything Bartoli does - she is certainly one of the best mezzo's in the past decade. She has great control of voice and though may not be the most beautiful it has grace and warmth.

Cecila has done many fine discs and this ranks right up there with the best of what she's done.

A must for Rossini and Bartoli fans alike. For everyone else you're missing out if you don't try it.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 February 2016
I absolutely LOVED this album!!!
If like me, you adore Cecilia Bartoli's amazing voice, you'll be delighted with this album.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Customers also viewed these items

£11.49
£10.18
£10.27

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)