Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
130
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£3.47+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 29 March 2017
Terrible playback! Some of the tracks make a clacking noise, which is worse according to the volume of the tenor. Pavarotti seems the worse affected, and E lucevan le stelle, and Nessun Dorma, two of my favourites, seemed worst affected.I wondered if my hitherto reliable equipment could be at fault but I tried the same tracks from a Pavarotti 50 of the best album and they played perfectly. Shame on you Decca, as your label was on both! This is puzzling as the 50 best was excellent, with 5 stars, and I have had no problems with other Decca CD's.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 April 2017
Present for my dad who's a fan. Good value, thanks
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
thoroughly enjoyed the memories this dvd brought back, the tenors really gave a superb concert. After enjoying the performance I bought another copy to give as a birthday gift to a friend who also enjoyed the quality of the sound and memories of the actual concert.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 April 2017
Thank you. Perfect.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 July 2017
forget Il Divo listen to the old masters
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 June 2017
Perfect reproduction. Wonderful memories of the greatest concert of our time, an historic event!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 July 2015
Perfect DVD - Outstanding concert
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERVINE VOICEon 18 September 2007
This is the recording of the first performance in the so-called `Three Tenors' series of concerts. Staged on the eve of the 1990 FIFA World Cup final in Italy on 7th July 1990, and broadcast live around the world, the event probably widened the listening audience of opera music more than any event in history and subsequently elevated the status of the three tenor singers Jose Carreras, Placido Domingo and Luciano Pavarotti to superstar level.

This latter point led to some disapproval of the sceptics who suggested that rather than bring music to the millions, it made millions for the musicians. In fact, probably both these statements are true and while it may be easy to criticise the singers for their financial gain, the contribution they have made to the opera genre is probably more valuable than their combined wage cheques for these events (rumoured to be $1 million each incidentally).

Opera purists also voiced disapproval at the large-scale amplified events staged in big arenas by suggesting that they do nothing for the understading and appreciation of opera music, but the response (when interviewed in 1998) by Domingo demonstrates these concerts were aimed at a different audience `I understand the complaints of purists, but I don't want the purists to go to the Three Tenors'.

Of the Three Tenors, Pavarotti has perhaps maintained the most popular appeal and has been embraced by the pop/crossover fan base, due in no small part for his popular version of `Nessun dorma' which became the theme tune for the BBC TV coverage of the 1990 World Cup and has since been performed many times as a concert finale by the singer.

Since its release in 1990 this album has been hugely successful having sold 10 million copies worldwide, and sales will no doubt be revitalised since the death of Luciano Pavarotti. This may not be the best of recordings, for the orchestra sounds a little thin probably due to the open air venue acoustics, but this is of little consequence for the singing is brilliant and the album probably represents the pinnacle of Pavarotti's career.

There will be many obituary albums to celebrate (and make some money from) Pavarotti's fame but this one will be difficult to upstage.
0Comment| 22 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 September 2004
This was the first appearance by the "Three Tenors" - Luciano Pavarotti, José Carreras and Placido Domingo - and was to lead to many more such "gala" nights in the next ten years. Yet it was purely by chance that BBC TV soccer commentator Gerald Sinstadt, looking for suitable music to introduce the BBC's 1990 World Cup coverage in Italy, decided on Puccini's "Nessum Dorma", in the version sung by Pavarotti. This inspired choice led to the concept of the "Three Tenors" concerts.
In his youth, the big man was a soccer player, and played in goal for Modena before choosing a singing career. All three singers are self-confessed soccer fanatics.
However, Carreras was recovering from leukemia and had not been expected to sing again. He had no money and it's an open secret that this concert was to help get him back on his feet. The three tenors came together at the Caracalla Baths, an open-air site just outside Rome, and gave a performance which was as joyful and vibrant as the 1990 World Cup final between Germany and Argentina had been limp and turgid.
Old and new favourites, operatic and musical (including the soccer anthem "You'll Never Walk Alone" from 'Carousel'), Italian and Neopolitan songs under the baton of Zubin Mehta - this concert lit the blue touchpaper and we've been admiring the "Three Tenors" ever since. Sound quality is better on later versions but that is to be expected.
11 Comment| 39 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 June 2005
After watching the concert for the first time I'm actually speechless. I have the cd from this concert and I love it, but the dvd is a hundred times better. No wonder it's the world no. 1 classical bestseller. All the tenors are in resplendent voice, but to me José Carreras is the star of this night. Hearing (and seeing) his rendition of "Il lamento di Federico" and "L'improvviso" will leave you gobsmacked. His stage presence is like always both humble and charming. Adding to his charm is the way he behaves in "Lamento di Federico" after having produced some tones of pure delight. He instantly lifts his eyes to heaven, smiling, looking around as if he expects to see someone up there who helped him getting through the difficult parts of the aria. Then he blows a kiss of thank you to heaven, obviously grateful, before he continues singing.
Although I'm not the biggest fan of Pavarotti or Domingo I have to admit that Pav's "Torna a Surriento" and "Rondine al nido" and Domingo's "No puede ser" was absolutely beautiful.
The reason for not being their biggest fan is that they're not able to stir my emotions like Carreras, but when performing together the three voices blend perfectly and it sounds just wonderful.
I loved the way the three of them enjoyed themselves when performing together. It's real fun to watch the encore "O sole mio" where Pavarotti gives his famous trill. He just shakes his head and the high notes pops out. I've been listening to this on the cd for a long time, but never before seen what really happened. Pavarotti starts singing and then Domingo surprises him by cutting in, taking over the singing. When it's Pavarotti's turn to sing again it seems he's thinking (humorously) "I'll teach him not to interfere with my singing again" and then he push his "high-note-button". When he's busy doing this, you can see the two other "conspiring", looking like two young boys who are really "up to something". And when Pavarotti allows them to take over again they leave him flabbergasted by throwing themselves into the song, repeating his trill perfectly, making it sound all the way as impressive as his.
The look on Pavarotti's face is priceless. He's laughing out loud in astonishment. It's obvious he wasn't expecting any competition....
I also have to comment on the conductor, Zubin Mehta. He really impressed me with his conducting, being so attentive to the singers. He's watching them closely all the time and making the orchestra follow them just perfectly. He's giving a hundred percent throughout the concert. And you can also see him being impressed by the tenors performances, acknowledging this by putting down his baton and applauding. At one point he also gets down and hugs Carreras after his wonderful rendition of "Granada". So he's definitely not a stiff and unapproachable conductor.
This dvd is a real treat. If you buy it, my guess is that you can look forward to many hours in the company of the three tenors.
11 Comment| 85 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)