Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
23
4.8 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£5.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 6 June 2017
Beautiful rendition, highly recommended
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 March 2017
Excelent Schubert works, very fine playing and record.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 August 2017
If you like Schubert, what's not to like? On a par with Stern/Rose/Istomin
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 April 2017
glorious trio
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 May 2017
I do so adore Schubert and particularly the last two Trios.
For me, the Beaux Arts interpret well the spirit of the first of the final Trios, D898, playing with vigour and trendering.This prevails in the beautiful Nocturne D897, Schubert's immediately equally inspired previous work.
However, I must express my disappointment with the performance of D929.It is played at a leaden pace without expressing sufficiently the tortured soul and emotions demanded by this masterpiece of romanticism.
I would humbly suggest the Stuttgart Piano Trio on Naxos which, for me, nails the essence of the E flat Trio in a luminous and inspired rendering. Also perfectly recorded.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 December 2015
Excellent performances and a bonus - I was expecting one CD and found two. I have a very old LP of Oistrach, Kushnevitsky and Oborin playing the B flat piano trio which I wanted to replace - now not only do I have an equally spirited performance of it but all the other trios as well - wonderful!
Recommended.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 June 2016
This is an enjoyable collection of music that few beyond his circle of friends would have heard in Schubert's short lifetime. The big "late" B flat and E flat pieces are the standout works, but Schubert's melodiousness and inventiveness are heard throughout.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 14 May 2017
These fine, polished performances merit a place on the shelf of any serious Schubert enthusiast. The icing on the cake is the terrific value, with over two hours of such beautiiful music being yours for a penny under £6.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 October 2006
Schubert's chamber works are unassuming and genial, abounding in sunny melodies, gorgeous harmonies and moments of great beauty. The playing on these disks is always wonderful, the musicians commune with one another perfectly. The tone quality is perfect at every turn. Their techniques are brilliant, their sense of melody and forward motion amazing. The Bb piano trio is particularly well captured with a sense of great spontanaity. The Notturno is also very beautiful, this piece will no doubt surprise you in it's lush beauty, even if you know a lot of Schubert. If only this could have been a ten disc set of trios by Schubert........
33 Comments| 58 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 August 2017
I like this very much.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse