Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle The Grand Tour Prize Draw Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
16
4.7 out of 5 stars


on 12 July 2017
As a kid when this came out, 'Speak' was one of the first albums i bought along with a few notable other bands work (Metallica, Slayer, Anthrax, Iron Maiden etc). Anyhow, I was in my local second hand shop, packed to the rafters with EPs, LPs, singles, cool a*s picture discs, posters all over the walls and so on (you get the picture); after 10 minutes or so the music in the shop changed. This blistering barrage of noise pumped out of the wall-mounted speakers. I really thought they were gona come loose and fall. I went over to the counter and asked, or should i say shouted "whos this"?. The guy (with long hair and a denim jacket loaded with band patches) pointed at his sleeve. "SOD" was the patch he pointed to. I found the "S" section and picked up "Speak". Arriving home i put SOD on first. It blew me away! As a kid around 12 at the time, SOD were punching my chest with a slue of distorted guitars, cool drums, pumping bass lines and damn fine lyrical abuse. Theres plenty of fun hidden amongst some of the coolest mosh tracks from yester-year. I am in my mid 40s now and "Speak" speaks volumes. If you were a kid in the 80s, a rocker and you missed listening to this fine album, you missed out big time. Simple as that. To listen to it now brings all those raw, emotional feelings back as if it were yesterday. First time listeners may wonder what the hell is this!? Well, its part of the fabric of bands that shaped and formed the metal horizon without a shed load of computer jazz and was made how metal sounds best. The guys, the instruments and a record button; a bit of sound engineering and bingo, an album. The 80s rang a bell, we, the rockers, listened and all these years later, "Speak" encompasses all the true hard work, sweat and imagination needed the create an album. Its a total shame albums aren't made the same these days. Its a shame i miss my record deck. Its a shame i miss the click and pop of a dirty player needle, but i dont miss finding re-released content, albeit, its now a cleaned up cleaner sound. The CD has removed some of the original power and moshi-ness from the LP but crank it up, get a mosh pit going and annoy your loved ones. This album comes in a slim fold out cardboard case. There is the original artwork of Anthrax/Scott/Charlie folded up in the sleeve (see pic). A nice set for mosh fans! \m/
review image
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 November 2012
This album is a funny thing with a funny lyrics.
21 tracks are too many for an album, you should listen to the whole album as one piece.
The songs are so fast that i can't follow the lyrics, the music is brutal and it's a risk for your neck and the walls in your room.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 February 2006
I just heard this for the 1st time in about 10 years or so. To often you go back to these old albums and they're never as good as you remembered them. This is sooo much better than I remembered. Listening to this makes you forget that you're getting too old to jump around in the moshpit.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 February 2005
Man this album is a stand up classic from the archives of metal meyhem.
It's brutal riffing right from the off, no messing around, mind blowing beatdowns or moshes as they used to be called, and humourous lyrics that you better ignore if you're easily offended.
Really this album (amongst only a handful of others, like Kill 'em all) laid the foundation for a lot of modern metal. Mixing fast and slow with hellishly hard grinds, this eternally overlooked masterpiece was a true groundbreaker. I'm not going overboard either. There is no way you'll listen to this and think it's 20 years old. Just no way. If this was released today, assuming it got past the censors, it would still sound fresh.
It's a wierd experience listening to a piece of history and at the same time being moved to thrash around like it's the latest take on the theme. It's class, it's timeless, but more than all it absolutely barnstormingly rocks from start to finish...
11 Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 April 2006
A splendid, ripsnorting, and hugely silly record. The quality of the music is a matter of opinion, and that's mine. But to assert "the lyrics ... are just racist - okay?" you have to ignore everything else Scott Ian has said or done, ever. You may not think that the ironic intent has been successfully communicated, and that would be a valid criticism. To ignore that intent, and so to libel some guys (Scott Ian and Charlie Benante)who did more to introduce positive, antidiscriminatory messages into the generally wretchedly right-wing world of metal than just about anyone else, is hardly sustainable.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 September 2004
Right this is a difficult one. Thrash metal's most controversial record rears it head with the metal revival. Firstly, this was much coveted in its original form. Firstly, because of its limited availability, but also because of its nototious lyrics. If it wasnt for the presence of cult hero Dan Lilker and Scott 'Not' Ian (Both Anthrax), this record would have probably been lost in the mists of time.
It is by no means awful, but get past the aura this record has, and you realise it isnt that good either. Most of the songs are short and pointless and for those that last longer than a minute, there is much repetition and is mostly unengaging. You could probably find a picture of this album in the dictionary under the word 'Amateur'.
Musically, for completists only, really. But buy it if you want a little bit of thrash history in your home.
As for the lyrics? They arent ironic, they are just racist - okay?
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 April 2001
Awesome for its time and today.mix of the musicianship and HEAVY rhythm of thrash and the speed and emotional intensity of hardcore punk, 'crossover' metal/hardcore is nothing new guys. Years before sepultura, fear factory etc mixed elements into their pure thrash, guys like sod and dri did it better. Also started the 2 second song trend. also sounds like a thoroughly natural amalgam, not contrived or forced.Nor is #it speed for speeds sake like napalm and their ilk. As fast as anything of the era, including slayer, cos of the less rigid structure of hc, but the the band, whose day job was Anthrax (apart from singer Milano), are note perfect.
Want something better?Try the bands 'live at the Budokan'1992. An emotianally charged reunion whose passion makes it even more powerful than the studio tracks.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 October 2003
this album has it all,fast pace,great riffing and good vocals.dont buy if easily offended.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 December 2001
This is just insane!. As an Anthrax fan (at least of the Joey days) this was a must buy. Basically Anthrax mark 1 with Billy Milano on "vocals" this is probably the most raucous album around. On my version there are 22 songs which screech through in 29 minutes with ludicrously tongue in cheek lyrics (or at least I hope they are). Ian, Benante and Lilker play insanely fast whilst Milano questions our ability to do his mosh. If you are looking for songs this aint the place. If you're looking for the fastest riff music ever recorded, WELCOME!!!!!!!!!!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 July 2000
I first heard this in 1988 and was blown away by the brutality of what was the first metal/punk crossover. In 1999 I finally got the CD version and found it had lost none of its venom. From "Milk" to "Kill Yourself" the album is loud fast and very offensive. Be warned - the SOD boys have a sick sense of humour (check out "Pre-Menstrual Princess Blues" and "Speak English or Die"!). All in all if a record is still impressive 14 years after it first came out, it has to have something going for it.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

Handle With Care
£10.88
Bigger Than the Devil
£52.25
Rise Of The Infidels
£11.39
SPEAK ENGLISH OR DIE (30TH ANNIVERSARY EDITION)
£45.89

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)