Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
47
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 28 August 2002
A lot of people hear Rammstein, or hear of them and automatically think it's german so it must be crap. you couldn't be more wrong. i bought this album just after buying mutter and was not disappointed. This album is not perhaps as well polished as mutter, but it has the same feel and is equally as good. Great guitars, cool keyboards and till's hard vocals all come together to make it all sound amazing.
My favourite tracks are Asche zu asche and herzeleid.
I had not heard any of the songs from this album before, and bought it after reading the reviews of it on this site. I dont regret it at all. If you have heard any rammstein songs before and like them, buy this album because you'll love it.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 1 June 2004
RAMMSTEIN's frist album is a wonderful fusion of heavy guitars and elctronic sounds. The dissparate parts of the band compliment each other perfectly. Richard and Pauls thrashing guitars, Flakes masterful keyboard playing, Schniders drumming and Olivers cracking bass playing. But what really sets Rammstein apart are the vocals.
Till Lindemann is something special. Till Lindemanns gravelly bass tone is something to hear. While Herzeleid does not allow his voice as much freedom as the following two albums it is still quite awesome.
If you like your music heavy and ever so slightly different then maybe Rammstein is for you. Hell even if you don't like heavy music (and until i heard these guys I didn't!) give it a shot. I recommend starting with Sehnsucht then moving onto Herzeleid or Mutter.
Song Highlights: WOLLT IHR DAS BETT IN FLAMMEN SEHEN (listen out for samples from Doom!), HEIRATE MICH (possibly my fave Rammstein song), HERZELEID and of course RAMMSTEIN (a favourite of David Lynchs used in the Lost Highway).
0Comment| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 March 2012
FAUST were first (and don't forget that pathbreaking Krautrock band)....but Rammstein have inherited the enormity of their Teutonic industrial sound. This is music to accompany a Fritz Lang silent film. Mythic, monstrous. But also surprisingly accessible. Go back and watch David Lynch's LOST HIGHWAY and see what the track 'Rammstein' does for that film... This, of course, is Rammstein's debut album. After this things get BIGGER and BETTER.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 May 2014
Rammstein stand out on their own. Yes they sing mainly in German but this in no way takes away from the songs. Always a strong beat with impassioned vocals. Possible not their best album but certainly not their worst. Unfortunately their sound and style may only appeal to certain people but really worth a listen. You will definitely enjoy it and may become a fan.
David Wilson
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 March 2004
Well, where to start? from start to finish this album is pure head-banging brilliance with 'interesting' shall we say, vocals (ok it's in german, but worth the trouble of finding out). Rammstein may not be that famous in Britain, but then I guess a lot of people are put off by the language, they shouldn't be.. this is outstanding, raw, industrial metal, and so easily accessible. I would say this (their first album) is probably the strongest of the 3 (the other 2, Sehnsucht and Mutter still being more than outstanding). My particular favourites on this album are: Asche zu Asche, a powerful number with catchy guitar riffs and great vocals. Seemann, a slower track, but still extremely powerful. Heirate Mich, the best track on the album, brilliant guitar solo at the end, and a haunting intro and finally Laichzeit, pure power and shear brilliance, and the lyrics (translated) are even better, if slightly disturbing. Overall this album is over 50 minutes of sheer German power-metal, and i would recommend to anyone looking for something slightly different.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 January 2012
So a lot of people who know of Rammstein might not have listened to this album in full. You are crazy people!!!
This album is fantastic, Till's singing style is totally different, he almost speaks the lyrics and it works so well with the heavy riffs.
This album contains some of my favourite songs from Rammstein including Weisses Fleisch,Asche zu Asche etc
It also contains Das alte Leid which ive only ever heard them play once, this song has such a great beat to it...it sounds sleazy and dirty and I would die a happy girl if i ever heard this live!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 November 2001
this has been one of my all time favourite albums for a long time. what i admire about Rammstein is that they sing in their native language and the music is full of heavy guitars to keep the best metal fans going.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 October 2002
Putting Herzeleid into your CD player will change your entire veiw on the word MUSIC. Before you jump to any conclusions, RAMMSTEIN are NOT Nazis. They hav been given that image from the german press - thats what puts everyone off their music. Their music is in no way facist or offensive. Its fantastic. If your into Industrial music, this is a MUST HAVE album. Sombre vocals from Till Lindermann mixed with hard hitting riffs from guitarists Richard Kruspe and Paul Landers makes the main chunk of RAMMSTEIN'S unique music. Theres also Bass, Drums and excellent keyboard effects, which give the album its 'industrial effect'. If you buy this record and enjoy it, dont hesitate to rush out and buy 'Sehnsucht' and 'Mutter' the following RAMMSTEIN albums. For the ultimate fan, you might also want to get the 'Live Aus Berlin' album which is a 1998 recording of the bands amazing show in their home town. Bravo RAMMSTEIN! You have truly deserved an enormous 5/5 for this work of art.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 October 2004
A brilliant album start to finish!
The finest piece from the best the best band in years!!
anyone who thought that metal was dead need to listen and listen up!!
Rammstein rule and so does the german language
Before the mighty Rammstein entered my cd collection, i would have called u a liar if you said that the german accent could be used in metal before this also check out the other two and of course the new and truely great Reise Reise!!
Also the DVD live aus berlin has most of the best songs off this release live infront of nearly 80,000 german fans, with a stage show (with), flamethrowers fireworks the lot!!!
Long live the Teutonic terrors!!!
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 November 2001
this has been one of my all time favourite albums for a long time. what i admire about Rammstein is that they sing in their native language and the music is full of heavy guitars to keep the best metal fans going.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£10.73

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)