Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Learn more Shop now Learn more

  • Karma
  • Customer reviews

Customer reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
9
Karma
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£24.23+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

on 18 February 2017
The creator has a Master Plan! It starts with a musical quote from A Love Supreme, builds to a hypnotic chant, then a frenetic climax and a second crescendo before drifting away across the universe. Mind blowing.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 12 January 2018
ok
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 11 April 2007
First time I heard this I couldn't believe it. My all time favourite Jazz album. I've recommended this to a few friends who have all given me positive feedback. "The Creator has a masterplan" is available in shorter form on a couple of compilations, but sit back and listen to the full length version.

This isn't easy listening but is a serene experience every time i listen to it.
0Comment| 21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 12 December 2015
Quite crazy and quite beautiful
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 12 March 2016
The LP is a very nice pressing, but does split Creator into two and of of course the second half starts with a small child scaring range of squawks brilliant album though and very listenable. Inspiration by John Coltrane is a constant under current and no complaints there. If you like this, try Alice Coltrane and the Soul Jazz Compilation - Universal Sounds of America.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 22 October 2014
Great!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 20 June 2001
Sax man Sanders, see my review of Tahuid for more detail, has produced another great album here.
Elements of the avant garde, free composition style, and meditational rhythm and sparseness, mix and combine with and under the clear guidance musically and otherwise (contrast and compare with Sun Ra and his collectives) of Pharaoh to produce a beautiful melodic composition, The Creator has a master plan.
Underpinned by the great Reggie Workmans stylings on Bass, Creator jogs along for over thirty minutes, and it will move you with it, especially when Pharoah steps up with gutsy but beautiful contributions, spreading love and happiness to anyone within earshot.
Emotional, challenging and beautiful, this is one to be cherished
0Comment| 19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 7 February 2008
This is a great album. Late 60's new jazz born out of
the late Coltrane.
In fact, Sanders played with Coltrane on a few albums+tours
and the influence in evident.
Touches of 'A Love Supreme' are all but discarded after
you just get used to them. Almost as if Pharoah was
payign homage to his peer and then boldly stating that
it was time for him to move on.
Leon Thomas' approach to singing is still inspiring to me as when i first heard him.
Check him out also if you can, you'll find Sanders on a
few of his PLUS an almost 7" version of
'The Creator Has A Master Plan'!
If you like Jazz, expression of the Soul as an art form, then this
is for you!!
11 Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 20 June 2015
Hugely influential on the great JOHN MARTYN for which we should be grateful ! And had plans to work
together before Johns untimely demise.......
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse


Customers also viewed these items

Thembi / Black Unity
£8.64

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)