Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more



on 28 January 2009
As I expected, there is quite the mix in quality (subjectively). After all, it is a collection of singles, not a discrete album.

I'm sorry to spin out what to some fans is a cliche, but I do feel that most of the best stuff was by "The Specials", not the "The Special Aka" (see the track list in the product description). Not all bands falter at this sort of stage, when one or more key members leave (e.g. Genesis), but I think The Specials never fully recovered.

That being said, this is still a mostly great eclectic mix that few modern bands can even imagine touching the soul of. If you only own one Specials CD, make it this one.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 25 January 2017
just as clever as i remembered
as they named themselves The Specials they had to deliver
thoroughly enjoyed this
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 14 April 2016
Love, love, love this CD! On a loop on the car and not sick of it at all!

All the great songs, wakes me up and makes me smile on a bleary morning into work
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 10 December 2015
One of the all time great albums. I have it on vinyl, but cannot play it at the moment, so had to get the CD.Great to hear it again (and almost as good as the LP)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 7 December 2017
An excellent album
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 3 December 2017
Cheers
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 1 November 2017
sound of my youth that’s it really nowt comes near it nowadays
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 12 April 2017
Audio replacement.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 13 October 2017
I'd forgotten how many hits they had. A terrific album, hardly any duds. Bursting with life/vitality. Almost made me feel young again.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 15 August 2014
The Specials - The Singles is great. It arrived promptly & plays 100%. Perfectly packaged. The singles are great & bring back memories. They are as good now as they were then. :-)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)