Shop now Shop now Shop now Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars
15
4.2 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

This is a terrific melange of medieval, celtic, and spanish music, all put together as only the Chieftains can. Wild as it may sound, it works beautifully. It makes for an original, non-traditional approach to celtic strains that serves only to delight the listener. The contributions of Galician piper Carlos Nunez, as well as that of Linda Ronstadt and Los Lobos, further enriches this innovative recording, making it one well worth having in one's collection.
0Comment| 33 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 January 2015
Somewhat a niche genre with the added twist of a 'spanish' influence. Not good background, but good listening, especially the long 11 minute track Galician Overture. If you especially like the Chieftans you'll probably like this.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 March 2009
as the title would suggest this has a very Spanish feel to the music.very pleasant easy listening.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 January 2010
I love their music but this CD fires the imagination, it gives a great feeling of passion, of moods and rejoicing
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 November 2012
I enjoyed the album very much. I think I must have once owned a copy before as much of it was familiar. The beauty of the album lies in a mixtures of influences, which blend well. I would recommend it to anyone reacquainting themselves with the work of The Chieftains.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 May 2010
Interesting departure again for The Chieftains. Carlos Nunez is a great musician, nice to hear the gaita and folk music from the Galician area of Spain, our celtic cousins. Great track ' Dublin in Vigo'.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 May 2015
This is Camino de Santiago de Compostela music. Any time I want a reminder of the fun and beauty of the Camino, this is what I listen to. It evokes perfectly the many moods of this unique experience.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 January 2015
As traditional bands go on they run out of easily available material and they have to go further afield. They then become something different, personally I prefer the earlier stuff
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 August 2012
Debased celtic
Irish music and Galician music are both exciting but the turgid orchestral arrangements on this album reduce both to very little.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 August 2014
What a great period of music from the band, really exciting tempo to much of this. Wonderful
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)