Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more

Customer reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
18
Angelfish
Format: Audio CD|Change


on 20 September 2017
This is the band Shirley Manson was in before garbage and it sounds like a average garbage album. Its not bad, its not good just middle of the road.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 19 January 2012
I'm guessing that everyone that buys this album is doing so because it is Shirley Manson's pre-Garbage outing. Which is a bit of a shame as it's a very solid album in it's own right. I'll admit, I bought the album expecting a strong vocal performance on an otherwise weak CD, but was pleasantly surprised to find myself with a well-written, well-produced album which sounds great all round.

Musically the sound is similar to Garbage's first album - perhaps a little more pop-y and a little more bass heavy. I'm not going to pretend that any of its songs stand up to the best of Garbage, but they do compare well with their album tracks. All in all, if you're a fan of Garbage and want something similar, you are not going to be disappointed (and probably pleasantly surprised) with Angelfish. On the flip-side, if you hate Garbage you're not going to enjoy this either...
11 Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 15 August 2012
A superb indie rock/pop album! Tina Weymouth, of Talking Heads bass fame, is credited as a co-producer. The songs tell stories of misery and heartbreak, yet the whole is powerfully energetic and uplifting. I hear a kind of slightly heavier, rockier Smiths here, with Shirley playing the role of Morrissette. The highlight of the set is the petulant vitriol of track 9, Tomorrow Forever. An essential addition to anyone's CD collection.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 1 September 2017
Love her, and her first outing.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 4 September 2016
If you are a Garbage fan you will probably like this. Good album..
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 4 August 2015
I like it. Not as good as Garbage but a brilliant little band all the same. can't work out my favourite tune yet.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 7 September 2014
Epic brilliance pre-Garbage. This album is complete, a perfect and angry musical shout against the world's injustice. I love it
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 15 August 2015
Top seller.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 14 February 2015
V Good
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 4 October 2016
Best album of the 90s😃
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Customers also viewed these items

The Glory Hole (UK Import)
£89.10
Hammer And Tongs
£33.33

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)