Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle New album - Matt Terry Learn more Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
35
4.7 out of 5 stars
Greatest Hits [Us Import]
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£20.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 5 September 2017
Great CD, love listening to it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 October 2017
Great cd
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 April 2017
Good value
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 June 2017
Brill
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 December 2004
For a 1960s teen band, the Monkees stood head and shoulders above the rest in the quality of their tuneful songs and their strong pop voices. This music has aged surprisingly well and most of the songs far surpass today's pop by any measure. There are hooks aplenty in these catchy little gems whilst the vocals and instrumentation are just perfect! My favrites include Last Train To Clarksville, I'm A Believer, Stepping Stone, Pleasant Valley Sunday, Daydream Believer, Valleri and Listen To The Band. Michael Nesmith went on to become a successful solo artist himself with songs like Silver Moon, Some Of Shelley's Blues, Nevada Fighter and Joanne. I highly recommend his album Listen To The Band. As for the Monkees, their effusive melodicism shines on whilst some of the tracks, for example Last Train To Clarksville and Pleasant Valley Sunday, contain evocative imagery and are really soulful. This album includes all of their greatest hits plus some other memorable ditties from the golden age of pop and is highly recommended.
0Comment| 31 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 December 2004
For a 1960s teen band, the Monkees stood head and shoulders above the rest in the quality of their tuneful songs and their strong pop voices. This music has aged surprisingly well and most of the songs far surpass today's pop by any measure. There are hooks aplenty in these catchy little gems whilst the vocals and instrumentation are just perfect! My favrites include Last Train To Clarksville, I'm A Believer, Stepping Stone, Pleasant Valley Sunday, Daydream Believer, Valleri and Listen To The Band. Michael Nesmith went on to become a successful solo artist himself with songs like Silver Moon, Some Of Shelley's Blues, Nevada Fighter and Joanne. I highly recommend his album Listen To The Band. As for the Monkees, their effusive melodicism shines on whilst some of the tracks, for example Last Train To Clarksville and Pleasant Valley Sunday, contain evocative imagery and are really soulful. This album includes all of their greatest hits plus some other memorable ditties from the golden age of pop and is highly recommended.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 September 2010
only track missing that I would have liked was "Only shades of grey", all the old favourites were there.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 September 2011
Has all the hits, not sure of the quality of the recordings? Probably would have tried another recording that has been digitally re-mastered but I still enjoy listening to the album.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 January 2014
This is a fantastic album full of their greatest hits one or two I had never heard before if your feeling down put this on and give yourself a lift
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 November 2013
I purchased this for my husband and so glad he really liked it. Brings back loads of memories of this fab group from our younger days!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)