Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit

Customer Reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars
31
4.9 out of 5 stars
5 star
27
4 star
4
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£12.69+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 15 December 2005
This is now the 11th Christmas that this music has been part of the tradition of my holiday season, and although I've acquired numerous other holiday music collections over the years, this far surpasses any other collection that I own. It is difficult to do justice to this music by describing it in mere words. The collection ranges from the 14th to the 16th Century, and is unlike any other collection of Christmas music available. It evokes the true spirit of the Christmas season, is enlightening, inspirational, and transports the listener far from the trite elements of the 'modern' holiday season. No other choral group can compare to the Harry Christophers The Sixteen (named such as the group consists of four treble/mean, four alto, four tenor and four bass choralists). A truly unique auditory experience, and absolutely worth every penny.
0Comment| 91 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 February 2003
This is a wonderful collection of Christmas music by "The Sixteen", a group of sixteen glorious singers who brilliantly capture the magical melodies and harmonies of 15th & 16th Century English and European (mostly German) church music. Best tracks are the soaring "Resonet in Laudibus" by Jacob Handl, "Gaudete" from Piae Cantiones (made famous by Steeleye Span), "In Dulci Jubilo", "Riu, Riu, Chiu" and "The Boar's Head Carol". A marvellous album to put you right in the mood for Christmas! Only disappointment - none of Michael Praetorius' haunting melodies are included.
0Comment| 73 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 January 2015
Perhaps not for everyone I suppose but the serenity and clarity of what 'The Sixteen' normally are about here translates quite excellently within a medieval (and slightly later) Christmastime framework. Curl up in your most comfortable chair with a glass of your favourite wine, for that is how sweet this music will sound to you.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 April 2017
Bought to rep[lace a vinyl
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 January 2004
If its 100% relaxation classics you are after then look no further!
Harry Christophers and the Sixteen have not just captured the yuletide moment with this album, but have developed these great themes to be enjoyed at any time.
A truly magnificent masterpiece delivered in the most professional manner by this extraordinarily talented group of singers, producing a CD that is more than a purchase, it's an investment in excellent vocal presentation.
0Comment| 52 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 September 2011
Yet another one of these Christmas collection that you cannot be without and well worth a place in any collection.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 January 2012
This is very pleasant Christmas music and makes a welcome change from the usual 'Jungle Bells' and 'I'm dreaming of a White Christmas'. It makes a good Christmas present.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 December 2012
What a realy treat. Great recording, lovely sound quality throughout. The Sixteen have really surpassed themselves. Listened to this over and over.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 January 2014
Having listened to and enjoyed other medieval carols (from Anonymous 4 & others) I thought I'd try this CD. I try to learn a new carol every year and hoped I'd find one here. Really enjoyed the range of music and The Boar's Head Carol - a rumbustious offering - was my 2013 choice. Interesting to hear carols from Europe too as well as some old favourites (Lullay thou little tiny child). The CD has inspired me to listen to more Renaissance music - I did used to sing the odd madrigal or two!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 February 2013
absolutely stunning music and highly recommend this to anyone who enjoys period christmas music. have had it playing all through december and will bring it out of mothballs when we near the festive season once more.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse



Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)