Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle New Edition - Sgt. Pepper Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
44
4.8 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 25 November 2016
A good place to start for a newbie perhaps ? A good selection of tracks ranging from funk beats ,rap and rock combined with the odd ballad and a worthy collection. Its RHCP before Blood sugar sex magic and Californication; If you like those two albums you are pretty sure to get on ok with this.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 April 2017
I love This band, vinyl 1class
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 October 2003
if you like the original chili's and their funk sound then this is the album for you, if on the other hand you are a green RHCP fan who was introduced via By The Way or Californication I would advise you to listen to BSSM first. that said this is a truly amazing album, with covers of stevie wonder's Higher Ground and Castles made of sand being simply great. the opening song Good Time Boys has to be heard to be believed (if your in the fan club and wonder how the hell they came up with the name RockinFreakApotamus check out the vocal ad lib near the end of good time boys!) some great songs higher ground, knock me down, taste the pain, the basketball orientated 'Magic Johnson' all sheer genius plus a cover of hendrix's fire.
An excellent way to spend £7, i'm amazed amazon haven't put the price up!
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 May 2004
I bought this album shortly after discovering Blood Sugar Sex Magik and falling in love with the album and the band. I set about getting all of their earlier albums, and this is the first one i purchased.
Mothers Milk is the first album to feature a completely different line up. Although Kiedis and Flea remain from the original Peppers, their guitarist Hillel Slovak tragically died from a heroin overdose shortly after their previous album, and their drummer Jack Irons went into a depression and left, due to the death of Slovak. So after deciding whether or not to carry on with the band, Kiedis and Flea thankfully kept it going. They enlisted a young guitarist who was a massive fan of the band, John Frusciante. His energy and enthuiasm won him the role, and he could already play all of their songs anyway. On drums, they found Chad Smith, who, although seeming to be out of place with his heavy rock image, fitted in perfectly. They set about writing Mothers Milk together, unaware that this would be the band line-up that would make them world famous.
So to the album itself. Their previous album 'Uplift Mofo Party Plan' signalled a slightly rockier edge, and they continued with this direction when making Mothers Milk. The album contains Flea's trademark funky slap bass throughout, and Kiedis's rap style vocals, but it brings in new energy from Frusciante and Smith. My album summary is as follows.
'Good time boys' - Starts the album off quite rockily, as it means to go on. Sounds like the CD is jumping in the middle of it, but its not! Some great guitar riffs.
'Higher Ground' - A cover of the Stevie Wonder classic, and better than the original! This one has featured on loads of compilations over the years. Flea's bass is brilliant.
'Subway to venus' - Bizarre vocals about space being king or something. A fairly average song though.
'Magic Johnson' - A tribute song to the legendary US basketball player who the Chili's love. Quite quirky, but funky as hell when it kicks in.
'Nobody weird like me' - How Flea's fingers don't fall off while playing this track i'll never know, the slap bass is on overdrive. Really fast paced rock song.
'Knock me down' - Mid tempo tune, an extended version of this appears on the re-released, remastered version of the album, but doesn't work quite as well. Good song, not dazzling, but good.
'Taste the pain' - Great little song, good guitar riffs, vocals, and a good video to go with it, buy 'What hits' on DVD if you can!
'Stone cold bush' - One of the album highlights, really rocky song, fast paced, great wah wah guitar, sounds of a woman having an orgasm in the background, what more could you want!
'Fire' - A cover of the Jimi Hendrix song, but about twice the speed. Brilliant version, and dare i say it again, better than the original?!
'Pretty little ditty' - Beautiful little instrumental track, part of which was covered by Crazy town years later on their hit 'Butterfly'.
'Punk rock classic' - Short snappy punk track, very rocky, ending in the guitar riff from GnR's sweet child of mine, bizarrely.
'Sexy mexican maid' - Brilliant smooth song, great groove, sexy lyrics.
'Johnny,kick a hole in the sky' - Great end to the album, got everything, funk,rock, great drumming, weird vocals (i mean what does kick a hole in the sky mean anyway)
There is a remastered version of this album available which has extended versions of Sexy Mexican maid and Knock me down, also has 2 brilliant instrumental tracks one of which is probably the funkiest thing they've ever done. It also has 2 live covers of Hendrix songs. Well worth buying.
All in all. this album is my 2nd favourite Chili's album after Blood Sugar. It basically paved the way for what was to come, and they re-invented themselves with this album. It is way different to the sound of Chili peppers circa 2004, in my view it is a much better sound, but any Chili's fan old and new will like the majority of this album. Go and buy it, you know you want to!
0Comment| 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 November 1999
The Chilli's have always had a style of their own, but it matured with this album. The introduction of an 18 year old John Frusciante brought a dynamic edge that they just couldn't grasp before. If you like guitar technique this man turns the rule book upside down. It's ten years old, but it's timeless.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 January 2005
I got into the Chili's in a pretty back to front way - I bought Anthony Kiedis's autobiography, 'Scar Tissue' completely on the off-chance, as the blurb made his life seem interesting (it certainly is)....and I couldn't find another book I wanted to read. Like any decent biography, it dunked me into his life for a week or so and brought the things he'd done creatively into sharp relief. It's strange, I'm only 44 and "knew" the Red Hot Chili Peppers, but was fairly sure I was unfamiliar with their music, or at least so I thought. I went away and listened to 'Californication', 'By The Way' and Under the Bridge', etc and realised I knew these songs after all, just didn't know they were by the Chili Peppers. Age must have taken its toll after all...

So I've started to go gently through their back catalogue (new to old) expecting to be progressively less impressed as they moved out of the Rick Rubin era toward their debut. So far so wrong. I haven't got RHCP and Freaky Styley yet, but think this album is excellent and although I didn't enjoy "Uplift Mofo" quite as much, there isn't too much in it. I don't know though, this is a more serious record and RHCP became more musically adept from here on, even if their outlook remained kind of gurning skater punk for the most part, until Californication...

I tend to like this more than BSSM, it's certainly faster and heavier, but not as polished. What I particularly like about it [and the RHCP in general] is that many of their songs have a well chosen change of pace, hook or a captivating solo that maintains your interest and keeps you going back to listen over again. The only little nit that I'll pick is that 'Fire' sounds pretty muddy, but then it was recorded live a while before the album was made. 'Pretty Little Ditty' sounds like a precurser to the Californication era, while 'Good Time Boys' rampages along and is twisted by a funky bass line and then gets back to rampaging. My favourite track is 'Johnny, Kick a Hole in the Sky', it's a fusion of all that the RHCP have taught me in the past couple of months - I didn't understand the funk/punk thing until I heard RHCP, now I realise it's the funk that punk was missing. Or at least it seems that way at my age, although at 17 I'm sure I would have felt differently.

Red Hot Chili Peppers? Discovered them late. Glad I did.
0Comment| 44 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 February 2004
This is one of the Chilli's finest albums. It introduces John's fantastic guitar work, next to Flea's excellent bass work. Anthony has great lyrics and Chad fits the whole thing tightly together. I must say that if you like BTW or Californication you may not like this album, but the song knock me down, lays foundations for their later chordal based work.
Hillel's (RIP) guitar work in Fire is great.
This album is important in the Chilli's back catelogue, for it was their turning point from hard rock/ funk of the earlier albums to a more chordal and 'eaiser listning'sound of later albums. It paved the way for BSSM and the new fans of Chilli's owe alot to this album.
The instrumental Pretty Little Ditty is a fine example of John's and Flea's talents and you may notice that a riff from the song has been sampled in a chart hitting song by Crazy Town.
Stone Cold Bush has my favourite Flea solo of all their albums (aside from Flea's bass there is a select sampling as well!!)
The live and previously unreleased songs are good and show how different some songs are from beginning to the album version.
All in All i would say a must purchase for ALL rock fans, electric bassits/ guitarists and if your a chilli fan, well you would already have this album!!
And why were any songs (aside from Higher Ground)not included on the latest Greatest Hits album?
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 March 2007
The album that introduced me to four guys who would soundtrack most of my adult life... together with Faith No More they've had a lasting impression on my musical tastes ever since ever. Although Blood Sugar... will always be the standout for it's Frusciante licks and mellower basslines and more experimental edge, this album rocks on a level they haven't gone back to since. And because of this I think this remains their most 'fun' album, filled with frat-school rocking and some monster riffing. 'Nobody weird like me' was played live when i saw them last year, and it remains the highlight of all their gigs I've seen (bar 'scar tissue').
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 November 2013
If you've only really heard the later Chili Pepper's stuff. BUY THIS ALBUM. I loved the Chili's when I was younger with the likes of Cant Stop, By The Way, Snow etc etc. But since joining and writing as a bassist with a funk metal band, I got recommended this as a 'Guide' along with Rage Against The Machines self titled album. Clear to say, this destroys anything the Chili Pepper's have ever done. This album is insane. The funkiest and grooviest basslines in rock history, accompanied by fast pacey funk riffs and some awesome heavy funk beats. It is awesome, from start to finish!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 September 2001
I was lucky enough to get this album in vinyl from a relative who passed it on to me as a birthday gift.My friends have this album on CD but i prefer the 'real' music feel you get from playing a vinyl.This album shows the start of the change of the chili peppers into the sound they produce now.They finally seemed to hit their stride with Mother's Milk, for the first time making their unique mix of funk, rap, and metal smooth enough to attract new fans, while keeping it enough as it was so as not to push away old fans. The Chilli's have always had a style of their own, but it matured with this album. The joining of John Frusciante brought a new edge that they just couldn't grasp before. If you like guitar technique this man turns the rule book upside down and then throws it out the window while still being extremely good. It does have the feel of a less unique band than the early 80's funk band. So if you want the earlier chili style go for The Uplift Mofo Party Plan. Only one of the tracks on this album fails, i feel, to live up to the standard of the others and that is 'Magic Johnson'.This song just seemed a little too disjointed for me but is still not a bad song.the other tracks showcase incredible talent (though not all on the part of the peppers themselves) and a special mention must be made of 'Pretty little Ditty'.This is such a good mix of sounds that its no wonder Crazy Town based a song on the guitar section (though they do not give it nearly as much quality).A special mention must go to the incredible sound of Flea's trumpet playing on several tracks.Not only is he one of the world's best bassists but he is very talented with the trumpet and musically in general.
If you like to own vinyls of great albums then this is one for you, but every chili fan should own a copy of the album whether on CD or otherwise!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£3.98
£5.99
£5.99

Need customer service? Click here