Learn more Download now Shop now Browse your favorite restaurants Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop now Learn more

Customer reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
Modern Life Is Rubbish
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£4.53+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

on 23 October 2017
With this album, Blur really pushed the boat out quite a lot.

This is a great cd to listen to on holiday in the car.
And never since have Blur done an album quite like it since.
You will enjoy it from start to finish.

And the bonus disc is excellent. Great B Sides on this album, some experimental some a bit more typical Blur.
I think its their most varied record when it comes to sound.

You have the loud guitar driven Advert but then the atmospheric and unusual Oily Water and Miss America.

It is probably quite a very british album from Blur bit also not always either.

Very overlooked by so many people, all the people...who always go hand in hand with their strange life!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
TOP 100 REVIEWERon 16 September 2013
Blur's second album 'Modern Life Is Rubbish' is my hands-down favourite out of everything that these four men ever done. It truly brought Britpop to the focus at the time, and spawned three singles: the indie anthem 'For Tomorrow' (not only my favourite Blur song, but in a short list of my all time favourites by any artist), 'Chemical World' and 'Sunday Sunday', none of which hit the heights of their later hits, but made a lot of people take notice of them.

I think that the front cover conveys the message that this is a great album (If I was to judge a book by it's cover then that's what I would think anyway) - and indeed it is. The title is appropriate as a lot of the songs give off the message that life in the modern world is well, 'rubbish', and at the same time manages to perfectly capture the sense of living in the city, creating an almost romantic and somewhat nostalgic picture of London at the same time. With strong of elements of The Beatles and The Kinks influencing throughout, it's the epitome of a British record.

For the most part, the tracks on the album are slow-paced and relaxing (the laid-back, atmospheric 'Blue Jeans' is particularly sublime) whilst the others, including the outstanding 'For Tomorrow', and fan favourite 'Sunday Sunday' are quirky and upbeat, the perfect tunes to sing-a-long and lift your mood. The rather funny thing is, the whole record sounds just as fresh and modern today, which is quite an achievement for an album released in 1993.

Please do yourself a favour, whilst this is an outstanding album, you should seriously consider buying the 2012 two disc Modern Life Is Rubbish edition to hear these songs in superb crystal clear remastered quality, and also to own the bonus disc which has 19 tracks, including all the B sides to the singles 'Popscene', 'For Tomorrow' and 'Chemical World', including a sweet cover of Rod Stewart's 'Maggie May', and the original 'Young and Lovely', a gem and still occasionally played live today. The packaging is also very neat, housed in a lift-off lid box with four artwork postcards and a booklet with never-seen-before photos and liner notes based on an interview with all the members of the band. It really is a superb, worthy re-issue of one of my all time favourite albums.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 20 October 2012
I was one of the bone-headed people who bought into the whole Blur vs Oasis thing, not during it's zenith in the heady days of mid-nineties Brit-pop. No I was too young for that (12) and wasn't too interested in music in the first place. My ignorance stemmed from archival interviews concerning both parties, and me being working class, sided with Oasis.

On mature reflection both are superb bands in their own right and in two contrasting styles. Whilst Oasis rely(d) on the well worn formula of just making plain old rock n roll to the highest degree, with punch the air anthems and unforgettable choruses (they did with subsequent albums certainly mix things up more), Blur tried something slightly different. Of course much like their peers they also have all of the above, (Country House, Girls And Boys, Parklife, Song 2 etc) but after listening to this, their 2nd album, I was immediately entralled by the sheer scope, depth and ambition of it.

We need look no further than the opening track "For Tomorrow", a near four and a half minute single which seemed outrageous at the time. I am aware that such singles already existed but they were usually consigned to well established bands possibly looking to experiment therefore making a risk justified. Blur's record company were NOT interested in facilitating Damon Alburn's "eccentricness". It's a riveting piece of work though, with beautifully integrated strings and intelligent use of higher octave backing vocals. The influence of The Kinks and Syd Barrett era Pink Floyd can also be easily heard within numerous tracks "Sunday Sunday", "Miss America" and "Star Shaped".

My personnal favorites next. "Advert" is so instantly likeable in it's punk simplicity that I almost ALWAYS want to skip the brilliant aforementioned opening track just to get to it. "Blue Jeans", "Villa Rosie", and "Oily Water" are all uniquely strong tracks, but "Chemical World" goes one better with it's extraordinary nail on the head quinntissential English instrumental lurking at it's tail-end.

Not so great tracks time....eh....there are none! Well ok some songs are definitely stronger than others, and if I was to mention a couple it would be "Pressure On Julian" and the melancholic closer "Resigned". That being said they only appear weak as the competition on this classic (yes classic, not instantly recognisable but classic) album is so fierce! It says in the liner notes that "Many hardcore fans consider this their best" and if "Parklife" is indeed considered their best, by critics and/or by fans, then I would have to agree with them as I own both albums and have given them both multiple playthroughs.

In summary, this would be a very worthy addition to anyones collection and with the sheer abundance of extras you get with it, it's definitely worth your coin.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 13 September 2013
'Modern Life Is Rubbish' suffered from '2nd album syndrome' and, for some reason, the public just didn't really connect with it en masse and the singles released failed to hit the Top 10. However, many of the excellent tracks on this LP such as 'For Tomorrow' and 'Chemical World' are firm favourites with the fans (and the band for that matter) and this collection is definitely worth checking out.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 6 January 2018
Blur's best album, in my opinion. Still sounds great 25 years on. And the title is just as apt today (or even more so!)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 31 July 2015
Item arrived on time and as described. Thanks.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 22 January 2016
90's classic
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 15 August 2014
Bought as gift, recipient very pleased !
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 7 November 2016
love it
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 17 January 2016
love this album.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Customers also viewed these items

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)