Learn more Shop now Shop now</arg> Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
12
4.6 out of 5 stars
5 star
8
4 star
3
3 star
1
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£5.10+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 9 October 2004
This is clearly one of the best albums to have ever been produced. The combination of soft ballads and rock and roll really gives it a good balance. With songs to suit every mood this is definately worth a listen, if not a place in your record collection!
0Comment| 22 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 September 2015
I have this album on cassette and used to play it a lot in the car. Had not heard it for many years and was having a bit of a Bob Seger revival when I saw this on Amazon. Bought on a wave of nostalgia - 'Stranger In Town' is a classic in my opinion - the CD arrived safely from the US in good condition.

If I rated this on the songs alone then we would be up as a 4 star album. The normal mixture of rock n roll tracks ('Makin Thunderbirds', 'Roll Me Away') and heartfelt ballads ('Even Now', 'Love's The Last To Know', 'Shame On The Moon') and memorable lyrics ('Once inside a womans heart a man must keep his head, Heaven opens up a door where angels fear to tread').

What let it down for me is the sound quality. The transfer to CD just doesn't seem great - volume fluctuations between tracks, muffled in places. Not as clear as on would expect but I guess it is 30 years old ! The CD insert is also poor quality - rather blurred photo on the back cover. Almost like a poor reproduction.

Overall a good solid Seger album, not his best, not his worst with some standout songs that always feature on a 'Best Of'.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 May 2010
I bought this album when it was first released in the 80's. It was a brilliant album then and still is. I have been buying alot of music cd's as all my albums were stolen after a break-in some years ago. My job involves travelling all over the country so i like to listen to good music from renowned artist's
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 November 2007
This album is great in places but distinctly average in others. That said, the good far outweighs the bad on this classic album.

There are several brilliant tracks, my personal favourites being "Even now" (classic Seger), Shame on the Moon and particularly Roll Me Away. I feel it's a bit let down by Little Victories which feels like a filler track and Boomtown Blues which doesn't do it for me.

Actually, I'd give it 5 stars but it's a very short album for a single CD.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 January 2011
I agree with the other 5* reviews here. I brought this when released in the 80's at the same time as Dire Straits Alchemy.

Unfortunately kids destroyed my stylus and time moved on.

They were great then having purchased it again it remains a timeless classic.

I would prefer to have 9 excellent/good tracks rather than have mediocre padding
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 January 2013
the distance,bob seger and the silver bullet band
i have a lot of bob seger music, but this is one i never was aware off,a nice supprise
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 August 2013
apologies, i put the wrong song on here that i couldnt find any where else apart from this cd. the song is 'somewhere tonight'

this song is so hard to get anywhere else, in fact you cant get it anywhere except on this cd. Its such a lovely song and is so rellevent now as we are going into autumn. The review of the album is not good but i found it good. I love my music and am not a perfectionist but like it to sound good and this one does to me so in the future if i want something i maybe will ignore the perfectionist and just enjoy what i want to hear
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 April 2013
Some of the best music I have heard from the band, beautiful songs with marvelous words, excellent production I recommend this to anyone who has ever heard of Bob seager
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 January 2016
Bob Seger, what can i say? Does what it says on the box.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 November 2014
Quick and perfect
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)