Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

3.7 out of 5 stars
14
3.7 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£7.93+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 22 May 2004
The Pet Shop Boys are, to my mind, the best pop musicians in the business. Their output has a consistently high quality, and if they slip up every now and then, they are sure to bounce back. Their two most recent singles, Flamboyant and Miracles, are enough to show this.
Which meant that when I listened to this, I was surprised. My astonishment soon gave way to boredom and by the end I couldn't get it out of my stereo fast enough. I suppose you might want to dance to it, but it's good for little else (and I can't dance to save my life!). A load of tedious, repetitive tracks which segue into each other, and because they are so samey it's difficult to tell when one starts and the other ends. These aren't even the best remixes out there, and I don't know why they bothered.
If you want some good PSB remixes, go for Bilingual Limited Edition (NOT the special edition with the Further Listening disc)or PopArt Limited Edition, which features a third disc of remixes. I am not a remix fan, but they are far superior to the substandard material here.
0Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 December 2002
Not a patch on the original "Disco", this second volume is a poorly seamed non-stop patchwork of 'Very' era tracks ranging from the great, "I Wouldn't Normally Do..[beatmasters mix]" to the grating, god-awful remixes of "Liberation" & "Yesterday When I Was Mad [vasquez mix]. I think the boys regretted it's release soon after & by the looks of things next years "Disco 3" will be much more like it. If your looking for the killer remixes from their early '90's output, seek out the CD singles which were mostly fantastic.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
HALL OF FAMEon 29 December 2005
The first 'Disco' album (or rather, mini-album) by the Pet Shop Boys was released a year or so after their main hit album, 'Please'. That album generated several major hits, and the 'Disco' remix version collected those in good, dance-able and recognisable form.
Thus, it is understandable that fans would expect the same treatment from an album entitled 'Disco 2', right? Well, not really. First of all, the Pet Shop Boys had been in a period of decline, relatively speaking, in terms of their overall popularity. Their album 'Behaviour' was the last major chart-topper; the album 'Very' got a lack-luster reception despite being in many ways very typically Pet Shop Boys in sound.
The songs collected on 'Disco 2' are primarily from 'Very', with a few extra tracks thrown in ('So Hard' from 'Behaviour', 'We all feel better in the dark' from a B-side, and 'Absolutely Fabulous' from their one-off single release in honour of the show of the same name). One of the problems is less PSB and more systemic, perhaps - the era of remixes staying more-or-less faithful to their base tracks had come to an end, and the remixes of the mid-1990s to the present are more DJ/remixer creations with just a hint of the original song thrown in. One often gets the sense of more remixer than PSB influence on the tracks here.
The songs included here (sometimes more than once) include 'Absolutely Fabulous' (x2), 'I wouldn't normally do this kind of thing' (x2), 'Go West' (the PSB remake of the Village People classic), 'Liberation', 'So Hard', 'Can you forgive her?', 'Yesterday when I was mad' (x3), and 'We all feel better in the dark.'
There is a bonus disc in some packagings, which includes remixs of the songs 'Decadence', 'Some Speculation', 'Euroboy', and yet another version of 'Yesterday when I was mad' and 'I wouldn't normally do this kind of thing'.
I must admit this is one of my lesser-played PSB albums, in part because there are no clear breaks in the tracks (and I rarely have time to listen to an hour or more of music of this sort uninterrupted), and partly because, while the die-hard fan will want these tracks, most will probably prefer the original songs themselves in any event.
One for the fans, definitely, but not for the casual listener.
11 Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
HALL OF FAMEon 9 January 2006
The first 'Disco' album (or rather, mini-album) by the Pet Shop Boys was released a year or so after their main hit album, 'Please'. That album generated several major hits, and the 'Disco' remix version collected those in good, dance-able and recognisable form.
Thus, it is understandable that fans would expect the same treatment from an album entitled 'Disco 2', right? Well, not really. First of all, the Pet Shop Boys had been in a period of decline, relatively speaking, in terms of their overall popularity. Their album 'Behaviour' was the last major chart-topper; the album 'Very' got a lack-luster reception despite being in many ways very typically Pet Shop Boys in sound.
The songs collected on 'Disco 2' are primarily from 'Very', with a few extra tracks thrown in ('So Hard' from 'Behaviour', 'We all feel better in the dark' from a B-side, and 'Absolutely Fabulous' from their one-off single release in honour of the show of the same name). One of the problems is less PSB and more systemic, perhaps - the era of remixes staying more-or-less faithful to their base tracks had come to an end, and the remixes of the mid-1990s to the present are more DJ/remixer creations with just a hint of the original song thrown in. One often gets the sense of more remixer than PSB influence on the tracks here.
The songs included here (sometimes more than once) include 'Absolutely Fabulous' (x2), 'I wouldn't normally do this kind of thing' (x2), 'Go West' (the PSB remake of the Village People classic), 'Liberation', 'So Hard', 'Can you forgive her?', 'Yesterday when I was mad' (x3), and 'We all feel better in the dark.'
There is a bonus disc in some packagings, which includes remixs of the songs 'Decadence', 'Some Speculation', 'Euroboy', and yet another version of 'Yesterday when I was mad' and 'I wouldn't normally do this kind of thing'.
I must admit this is one of my lesser-played PSB albums, in part because there are no clear breaks in the tracks (and I rarely have time to listen to an hour or more of music of this sort uninterrupted), and partly because, while the die-hard fan will want these tracks, most will probably prefer the original songs themselves in any event.
One for the fans, definitely, but not for the casual listener.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 June 2013
It was with some trepidation that I was waiting for the follow-up to PSB's remarkable "Disco", released in 1986. It took eight years for the Boys to produce this sequel but it really was worth the wait.
To be sure, this product is somewhat different from what "Disco" was. "Disco" focused on six remixes from the "Please" period that were nicely positioned next to one another.

The concept behind "Disco 2" is different - which is why I like it so much. Instead of songs, we have a full suite which is about 48 minutes long. The transition between the tracks is well done, and the whole piece is not dissimilar to what would have been a "Dance Suite", had the Pet Shop Boys been classical composers.
To take an example, several years after the completion of "West Side Story", Leonard Bernstein composed the "Symphonic Dances" from West Side Story. These were a 20-minute composition that was linking all the major themes from WSS in one seamless piece of music.

PSBs asked DJ Danny Rampling to do the same with selected remixes from the "Very" period (that's all the singles from "Very" plus "Absolutely Fabulous" covering the 1993-1994 period). Rampling added extracts from one of David Morales's remixes from "So Hard" and one of "Brothers in Rhythms"'s remixes of "We all feel better in the dark".

The whole thing works remarkably well - which was unexpected as some of the remixes selected here were pieces I LOATHED when I listened to them in their entirety (for exmple Farley & Heller's mix of "Go West" - pointless, of Rollo's dub from "Can you forgive her?" - spineless).

But the thing is that here none of the remixes are included in their entirety. By privileging 4-5 minutes extracts, Rampling insists on the consistency of the whole 48 minutes, and each selection is here for the purpose of what it can bring to the whole composition, which is called "Disco 2".

As a result, we have here a new Pet Shop Boys album that manages to be innovative by only recycling existing remixes, and which manages to be better than the sum of its parts, by smartly using bits and pieces which were not particularly successful in another context.

This album shows the richness of PSBs, their remixers and DJ Danny Rampling, and it ends up being a very intelligent and upbeat sequel to "Disco". Because of the way it is structured, I will dare say that it is indeed better than "Disco" and one of the best LP of Pet Shop Boys alongside "Very Relentless" for example.

For the record, the US market benefitted from a bonus CD including "Decadence", "Some Speculation", "Euroboy", the Raf Zone Dub of "Yesterday, when I was mad" and the 7" mix of "I wouldn't normally do this kind of thing". It is pleasant to hear these tracks again side by side but they are available in other formats, elsewhere, one way or another - so no need to spend the extra money...
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 February 2011
I will admit as many other people have mentioned that this album is no where near as epic as Disco because Disco was sooooo good, but i have to say that id recomend you to buy this album for the we all feel better in the dark remix alone because it is AWESOME! very sexy... and the absoloutely fabulous remix is very techno - you could rave to it - and psb dont often make raving stuff but when they do it is brill! for example the b side on the new york city boy single called eclipse it too was epic...so in conclusion I would recomend you to buy it... and even so it is cheap so if you arent satisfied then it isnt much of a loss. PSB 4 LIFE
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
HALL OF FAMEon 19 December 2005
The first 'Disco' album (or rather, mini-album) by the Pet Shop Boys was released a year or so after their main hit album, 'Please'. That album generated several major hits, and the 'Disco' remix version collected those in good, dance-able and recognisable form.
Thus, it is understandable that fans would expect the same treatment from an album entitled 'Disco 2', right? Well, not really. First of all, the Pet Shop Boys had been in a period of decline, relatively speaking, in terms of their overall popularity. Their album 'Behaviour' was the last major chart-topper; the album 'Very' got a lack-luster reception despite being in many ways very typically Pet Shop Boys in sound.
The songs collected on 'Disco 2' are primarily from 'Very', with a few extra tracks thrown in ('So Hard' from 'Behaviour', 'We all feel better in the dark' from a B-side, and 'Absolutely Fabulous' from their one-off single release in honour of the show of the same name). One of the problems is less PSB and more systemic, perhaps - the era of remixes staying more-or-less faithful to their base tracks had come to an end, and the remixes of the mid-1990s to the present are more DJ/remixer creations with just a hint of the original song thrown in. One often gets the sense of more remixer than PSB influence on the tracks here.
The songs included here (sometimes more than once) include 'Absolutely Fabulous' (x2), 'I wouldn't normally do this kind of thing' (x2), 'Go West' (the PSB remake of the Village People classic), 'Liberation', 'So Hard', 'Can you forgive her?', 'Yesterday when I was mad' (x3), and 'We all feel better in the dark.'
There is a bonus disc in some packagings, which includes remixs of the songs 'Decadence', 'Some Speculation', 'Euroboy', and yet another version of 'Yesterday when I was mad' and 'I wouldn't normally do this kind of thing'. This listing does not appear to have this bonus disc included.
I must admit this is one of my lesser-played PSB albums, in part because there are no clear breaks in the tracks (and I rarely have time to listen to an hour or more of music of this sort uninterrupted), and partly because, while the die-hard fan will want these tracks, most will probably prefer the original songs themselves in any event.
One for the fans, definitely, but not for the casual listener.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 March 2008
Probably the worst CD I've ever owned.

As Kurt Messick points out, many of the "remixes" here do that 90s thing of having very little in common with the originals. If they'd done something interesting with them fine, but these remixes are as mediocre as they come. They'd be more suited to cluttering up the "extra tracks" on an overpriced 90s CD single.

"Liberation" is even worse, as it appears to have *nothing* in common with the song from "Very" except the name. Were they taking the, uh... mick?! Absolutely Fabulous was a rubbish song to start off with and is even more annoying in the two remixes here.

There's one good song on Disco 2- "We All Feel Better In The Dark". Never heard the original, but this version's good. Doesn't make up for the 11 other lousy tracks though.

The album is pretty seamlessly mixed into one long monotonous whole.... well, not *that* long. Thing is, the album only lasts 45 minutes or so, and since there are 12 tracks, none of them last very long. So they probably don't even work as club-oriented extended mixes.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 December 2016
great remixed album an absolute for all petshopboys fans
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 December 2000
Disco 1 was seminal in a historical way. Eight to ten minute long tracks that never seem to end seem hopelessly dated today but have their place in pop history plotting the development in electronica. This time round Neil and Chris have gone for a non stop medley of tracks, mostly from the Very album. The result is certainly mixed. Liberation recieves the most dire treatment, making it unrecognisable to the original beyond the use of the word 'liberation.' Absolutely Fabulous gets a look in twice which is no bad thing given it was never on an album (but should it have been?). So Hard from Behaviour gets a fantastic tantilising 30 seconds but then stops. Overall though there's a feeling of disapointment. The album is far to kitsch for parties... we are talking pre-cool PSB mixing going on here... it all sounds very frothy and a little silly... and you miss out on the PSB's finest qualities eg. lyrics, a well fitting album, great tunes, irony etc. Lifting the spirits at the end of the album is the song 'We all feel better in the dark', an old B side which also features on Introspective. Its a great mix and features a rare appearance by Chris. Thankfully PSB remix albums improved post disco- Bilingual in the mix (only available as a SE with the album) is much better. Remixes of the Night life era are gorgeous. In summary Disco 1 and 2 are the only dents in an otherwise pristine pop crown.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£3.99
£7.23
£9.00
£9.99

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)