Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Now

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
43
4.6 out of 5 stars
Among My Swan
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£5.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 7 July 2017
excellent
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 September 2017
Great
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 July 2017
good album
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 June 2017
I have hifi not to be played on a biscuit tin, stunning wow
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 July 2017
Brilliant album, quickly delivered!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 July 2013
I absolutely love the album. It is my kind of music. I will certainly buy more Mazzy Star albums. Brilliant.
s
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 December 2013
Music that seems to be new everytime I listen to it...
Just well composed and so talented. for me, it is an Evergreen!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 November 2014
It's sort of like a romantic George Thorogood and The Destroyers; smooth guitar, rhythmic bass and drums with a soft croon over the top. Nice, non-challenging music, without becoming anthemic.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERVINE VOICEon 25 February 2016
'Among My Swan' is the Mazzy Star album you should own. To me, it's where the balance between Hope Sandoval's cool, sombre vocal tones and David Roback's simple arrangements combine to produce something that is far greater than the sum of its parts. On a cursory listen, some may find this intensely melancholic music depressing, or even boring; to me, it's music that demands your full attention, and creates subtly contrasting moods of emotional desolation, abandonment and loss. It's a record that creates it's own world. 'Flowers In December', for example, is an absolute delight, needing little more than Sandoval's appealing and melodic vocal, gently strummed acoustic guitar and plaintive harmonica to evoke an atmosphere of aching, of yearning, that is so, well, perfect, that I find mere words incapable of expressing just how wonderful it is. 'Still Cold' is comparatively harsh, but is a good example of how Roback layers up a track deftly to achieve a profound cumulative effect. Some may find the album too downbeat, but for those willing to devote only a little time and trouble, it's an album that delivers rich rewards. A classic
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 August 2000
OK, guitar-based ballads-don't you just hate the connotations? There are so few artists who make this stuff without making the listener yawn, they should be set in stone for the world to see. And so are Mazzy Star with "Among My Swan", their best release to date. Truly one of the most touching and emotional albums of the musically prolific 90's. This is no stretch. So unique, so mellow and dark at one, this is one of the best albums for autumn/winter I know ( along with Lamb's debute, Nick Cave's "Boatman Call" and "Turn Loose The Swans" by My Dying Bride). Whether you're listening to it on your way to work at 7 AM or in your room with a bottle of Baileys, November night, raining outside, phone's off the hook...well you know the setting, this is an unforgettable experience. Tracks like "Cry Cry", "Take Everything", "Happy" and "I've Been Let Down" can be either the most uplifting or the most depressing songs in the world, depending on your mood at the moment. "All Your Sisters" is probably the spookiest number ever done by a soft rock act. "Disappear" and "Umbilical", with their guitar-driven dark psychedelia could make the late Syd Barett himself wipe a bitter tear. The bottomline: if you still don't own it, get it whatever the cost is. You're missing a world within itself.
0Comment| 25 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

UNTIL THE HUNTER
£8.99

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)