Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
21
Elgar: Violin Concerto / Vaughan Williams: The Lark Ascending
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£8.48+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 27 May 2016
The Elgar is elegant and committed - clearly a favourite with both Kennedy and Rattle. 'Lark' is on the slow side - 4 minutes slower than Barenboim and Zuckerman in the 70s - and rather outstays its welcome. Worth having, all the same.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 11 March 2014
I've listened to a lot of recordings of this and, other than the two famous vintage recordings, this is in my opinion the best. Also, miles better than Kennedy's earlier recording with Vernon Handley. Dramatic, virtuosic and nicely structured. It's worth it for the last few minutes of the first movement alone.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 3 March 2018
Perfect
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 29 June 2017
Go Kennedy & Rattle - fine recording.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 7 May 2016
Thank you, completely satisfied. I'm new to classical music, feeling my way,
prefer the more lyrical sound which this perfectly displays.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 19 March 2014
This is a lovely recording and I am delighted with it. There was a slight problem but the seller dealt with it satisfactorily and I can recommend both the CD and the seller.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 16 March 2015
Especially purchased for Nigel Kennedy's Lark Ascending by Vaughan Williams. It met all expectations, was truly a beautiful, emotional and sensitive piece ..... and the elgar violin concerto was very good too.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 22 January 2016
Good.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 4 September 2015
Amazing good performance from Kennedy and Rattle
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 23 February 2014
Bought this after watching Nigel Kennedy on the proms
playing Lark Ascending on the Last Night of The Proms.
Delightful!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)