Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now

  • Vegas
  • Customer Reviews

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
15
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£9.41+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 29 September 2000
Vegas has to be one of the best crafted examples of it's genre; creating a perfect fusion between breaks, techno and even a hint of trance. This CD is great to relax to or to go mental to. Well recorded with nice, clean, natural bass lines and mad drum tracks. Can't reccomend this anymore. I just hope they don't leave it much longer until they release some new material!
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 December 1999
Liking all kinds of music, but especially various kinds of dub experementation, I had high hopes for this LP which I'd previously enjoyed tlistening to in chillout sessions in clubs up and down the UK.
I'm pleased to say I wasn't disappointed in hearing its transition from white label/dance floor to CD in the living room.
"Vegas" initially struck me as a cross between a grittier variation of the Higher Intelligence Agency's Two LPs "Colourform" and "Freefloater" and a smoother take on The Future Sound Of London (circa FSOL's ISDN, Dead Cities and their excursions as Amorphous Androgynous). However, the more I listen to it, the more I hear and the more I like it.
This CD takes ambient and techno and fuses it elegantly with drums and bass to produce something for dancing or just chillin out to. The sounds are almost exquisitely crafted, with a coarse, almost grainy edge that sidles alongside deep bass that goes through the floor before moving your internal-organs about. The 10 different tracks on Vegas are all very different and there's not a boring moment on the whole CD.
The Crystal Method clearly have a lot to say and this first LP is hopefully a showcase for future world domination.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 October 2001
I will get straight to the point. Vegas is quite simply the best dance album I have heard, and I have heard quite a few. TCM's blend of breakbeats, electro basslines and bonkers samples are just mesmerizing. If the single 'The Name of the Game' is anything to go by, the new album will be worth the wait aswell...
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 March 2000
Wow! What a CD! The first track i heard by The Method was the one with Filter and that was ace! Sort of a rock/trip hop crossover. I got the UK 12 track copy with that track on it and Now Is The Time, so it's definitely worth tracking down that copy as Now Is The Time is psychotic! If you've got a car and you want some speeding music, this is the stuff to listen to.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 April 2000
People who say that if u like the chems, props, fluke, orbital, etc u will like this are wrong. Compare the baslines of the groups, the hard hitting techno rock-riffin beats of the Method to the spangly indian beats (private psycadelic reel & the sunshine underground) are different styles all together. One thing is constant. They are both unbelievably talented artists, producing constantly amazing records. If u like techno (u will know what i mean if u have played ridge racer). If u want dance that is madder than your average chems, the method are for u. U say tekno. I say Vegas. For full effect, purchase car and cane it alnog narrow country roads as fast as you can drive it.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 June 2006
This particular album has a great deal of potential, there were some very nice ideas, the problem was that their tracks became stale. Usually starting off well good intros to climaxin and then a lack of progression as they added a few breaks and rehashed the sounds already produced. A lack of direction is unfortunately not their major down fall it's their lack of diversity, I counted at least five tracks that sounded very similar. There style is similar as other people have said to the chemical brothers perhaps slightly harder edged, however this album is no where near as rewarding.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 May 2013
Everyone knows The Crystal Method now as they've been featured in so many films but this was their second album and they'd found their feet by then. Just great stuff to listen to when dancing or taking substances. Cannot be listened to on low volume. That would be an insult. Just great off-yer-tits music.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 July 2001
I have the UK version of this with 12 tracks and it is brilliant! I bought it because I recognised some of the tracks from the FIFA computer games and I wasn't disappointed. My favourite tracks are "Jaded" and "Keep Hope Alive", but every single one is a beauty. I can't wait until they bring out some new stuff. Until then, I'll keep listening to this. It's a must for all techno fans!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 March 2000
I bought this CD because I had heard a few of the tracks before. And After a few hours listening I would have to say it is a satisfying buy. The Sound is like Chemical Bros meet Prodigy which if you are into trance will go down well.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 January 2008
iv owned this album for a few years now and it still gets played frequently, alot of peoples views tend to liken them to the chemical brothers, which i do agree they are similar, but at the same time very different. they share similar beats and sounds, but TCM sound very sharp and have a unique "distorted" sound to them. i can listen to this album all the way through, where as with the chemical brothers i tend to listen to selected favorite tracks.

most dance fans will already own this album, but if you dont then i strongly reccomend it! in my opinion TCM hold there ground against other great dance artists such as; the chemical brothers and leftfield

i also own the other TCM albums and they are also brilliant. "legion of boom" just sounds like an updated version of this album and "the tweekend advanced" is kind of like there b-sides

enjoy!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£9.58
£10.76

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)