Learn more Download now Browse your favorite restaurants Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more

Customer reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
10
Playback
Format: Audio CD|Change

on 25 March 2018
I didn't really get into Tom Petty but then one day found myself listening to one or two of his tracks and realised I had missed something. I bought this and I had actually missed a lot! He was one the best rock and roll acts around and 'Mary Jane's Last Dance' and 'Into The Great Wide Open' are two of the best things I have heard. Some music just hits you as just a good sound but some music goes deeper and Tom Petty now does that for me - I have thousands of discs but play this set a lot.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 9 July 2014
Great comprehensive Petty box set which three dics of rarities, B sides and outtakes, many of which are superior to some of the stuff released on his official albums (especially post 'Wildflowers').
Interesting liner notes/book too which seems to suggest that some of the unreleased stuff was made up on the spot, or called at the last moment which is kinda impressive.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 30 May 2013
This 6 CD collection is absolutely filled with amazing songs that sound fantastic. Having listed to "outtake" albums in the past, you can generally see why they did not make the cut! Not so with these- every song sounds great and is beautifully constructed- of course the hits and radio friendly album tracks are all here but it is the fact that the lesser known tracks are better than most bands first album!
Petty is a superb songwriter and in The Heartbreakers has a band that lets the songs breath and fly.
As a Tom Petty Tribute Band- we love em!
www.pettyheartbreakers.com
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 15 May 2016
What can you say, all you need in this collection for enjoying Mr. Petty and the heart breakers. Great music to shut out the world for a few hours. Brilliant.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 5 November 2016
This is a fantastic collection by the band. I hadn't really listened to their music until I purchased this disc set. TP&HB fans will not be disappointed.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 30 December 2013
As always Tom Petty delivers the goods but a brilliant put together package,awesome,a small piece of American and musical history,gob bless the heartbreakers
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 24 March 2007
It is rare for an artists outtakes and demos to rival their recorded work, but in Playback you have exactly that. Here you have 3 Cd's of best of tracks and 3 Cd's of outtakes and demos. Any of these tracks could of featured on an album. There are acoustic demos, full band rave ups and up to date (of the collections release) outtakes. Petty could always write a brilliant song, but these hidden tracks demonstrate just how prolific and constant his ability is. Worth every penny.

Feel free to check out my blog which can be found on my profile page.
0Comment| 37 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 27 October 2017
Wow! What a collection
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 16 January 2010
We played the 6 discs right through yesterday, a real treat lasting
5 and a quarter hours.
Running through his various LP's, selected highlights from each, is
followed by 'B' sides and unreleased material, all for the period
1973 to 1993.

Petty's previous group, Mudcrutch, are also featured.

Virtually every track is very listenable, with that old Petty Florida twang
prominent, especially on the older tracks.

A great 5 hours.
0Comment| 26 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 25 October 2015
This item was a gift, so unable to comment
11 Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse


Customers also viewed these items

Into The Great Wide Open
£5.97
Live Anthology
£37.94

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)