Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
23
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£4.19+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 17 March 2002
this was the deftones first album, and along with around the fur, their best. This album is raw, loud and every single track has a fantastic riff and painfully powerful vocals. Standout tracks include bored (an early sign of the influence a repetetive riff can have), minus blindfold (haunting guitars and vocals), engine number nine (sheer metal excellance), and best of all: root (the best intro ever combined with perfect vocals and instrumental backing). if you like hard, heavy metal with piercing vocals and thumping riffs that deserve full volume, buy this album before all others.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 January 2002
this is one of the very few albums where i can say that every song is gr8! it is a ***** album if there ever was one. There are so many stand out tracks here, "Bored" "Nosebleed" "Lifter" "Root" "7Words" "Engine No.9" etc... This album often gets overlooked and some have even called it dissapointing!! Yet, it is an amazing album and any one who likes linkin park or limp bizkit... check out the real masters... buy this album!
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 September 2000
the album is very loud and very aggressive. If ever you should find yourself in a bad mood, a nice sing/scream along will almost certainly make you feel better. It always does me. This is just one of the coolest albums there is. Buy it.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 February 2003
This first release for Deftones has caused them trouble for amny years, as the rawness and heavey sound has labelled them as nu-metal, a tag they have only recently shaken off with the release of the convolting White Pony. But this album is a classic debut, matching Korn's debut and certainly surpassing the first offernig from Limp Bozkit, Three Dollar Bill Y'All.
It starts with the amazing bass of Chi Cheng on Bored, and the formulae of heavy bass, catchy riffs and the again convolting vocals of Chino Moreno thorought until the closer Fireal.
Standout tracks are Minus Blindfold, with the speed of the ending bridge, 7Words with the anger and repeteion of the word Suck by Moreno, and the classic Engine No.9.
However, even though I highly recommend this, i would not start your Deftones collection with it as it does give you a false facade on what the Deftones are about, so I would recoomend, in fat, working backwoards from White Pony (buy the special edition, which includes the track Back To School, rather the EP which conttains this) to this and you will be in awe of one of the best bands to come out of the US in the past decade.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 December 1999
After listening to Around the Fur, and being blown away by it's originality and power (enough to get the most stressed person relaxed, after a stint of exploding on the dance floor), I obviously went ahead and bought Adrenaline. I was, and still am, in awe when it comes to them. The CD does take a few playings to get used to (as does any CD) before you start appreciating the cleverness of the band. Obvious favorite is 7 words, but if you like the mellower side of the Deftones, your fave will probably be Minus Blindfold....anyway, here's to good music.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 October 2008
Such raw passion and energy...'Adrenaline' finds Deftones at their finest.

Opener 'Bored' sets a high standard that the album manages to maintain throughout.

Classics like 'Lifter', 'One Weak', 'Nosebleed', '7 Words' and 'Engine No.9' keep the pace and passion at a frantic level that is entirely under sophisticated control.

Fantastic album that doesn't sound either dated or tired.

Anyone with a remote liking for metal should buy this album.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 December 2000
This album has so many depths to it, Chino moreno on vocals ranges from quiet almost angelic singing to shreaking angry message with the emotional lyrics this album contains. Stephen Carpenters influence on this album is very obvious as the build up of every song into a breath taking riff is aparent on each track. This album is a must for anyone who appreciates good music and good hard hitting vocals. Keep up the good work chino and the crew!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 August 2001
If you have only got either Around The Fur or White Pony or both of these, you NEED to buy this one. The music is so much more powerful and spine-chilling than anything since they released this album, such songs as Bored, Nosebleed and Root bringing out the best of them but Engine No. 9 is just something else...in a class of its own. I can't describe any more how good this album is, buy it and see for yourself.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 February 2001
compared to there other albums adrenaline is the most satisfying of there albums, with great guitar, drums and lyrics from chino which i can only describe as yearning for something which cannot be attained or even sensual, the way his vocals undulate from low whispering conspiratorial to anger, screaming blue rage are simply fantastic. Adrenaline in my opion is far superior to white pony and around the fur in every respect. This is true music to jump around to, rebellion and non-conformity have never been so good.
In two words - simply brilliant
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 February 2001
In my veiw this album is the best in the world! It is loads better than Deftones other 2 albums which are a bit too mellow for me but still realy good! For people out there who like heavy sh*t this is prety god dammned heavy!!! I love Chino's sadistic whispers which sudenly change to mad raps or primal screams/shouts then back again!!! And Steven Carpenter's mad guitar riffs and Abe cunninghams wicked beats on the drums and Chi Cheng's kool bass lines!!!!!I am a prety open minded guy, i like stuf from Marilyn Manson to Metallica and this has to be an all time great!! My favourite songs have to be the great 'Engine no.9' the wicked '7 Words' and 'Nose Bleed' they are all ripping tracks!! This album is real nu-metal and i think is as good as good and better than most other bands claiming this genre!! This cd is nice and klunky and primativly raw but clever and rythmic too!! If you dont have this album i order you to go and buy it now i garantee you'll love it!!!!!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)