Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now

Customer reviews

5.0 out of 5 stars
26
Don Quixote
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£6.96+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

on 30 December 2010
For me, Gordon Lightfoot is forever Canada in the 1970s. Listening to this album while lying around with friends in a darkened candle-lit room, with the snow drifting in huge flakes under street-lamps outside and a sentiment of pulsating nationalism within the room. Magical memories, which span the busy urban love-trap of Toronto, Calgary beyond the endless forests and wheatfields of the prairies, the lakeland retreat of The Islands, childhood reminiscences and oh-so-bittersweet songs of love.

"On Susan's Floor" was our situation. Susan's apartment was home to many passing through, and many who stayed. "Second cup of coffee" was us too - as night inched towards a morning we would sooner postpone.

Don't ever think of Lightfoot as anything but Canada, though he worked for a long time in the States. His wonderful music is the heartbeat of north of the border.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 3 September 2017
An excellent CD by a troubadour of exception. My favourite all-time Gordon Lightfoot track, "Christian Island" is just brilliant. Forty-five years after, I've really enjoyed listening to the LP I bought in the early 1970s. Loved it then and still ove it now. A great purchase for a modest outlay.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 2 September 2007
Lightfoot, has always been a prolific writer of quality songs. Sometimes upbeat, sometimes sombre and more often or not, totally original.

During the 70s his outpouring was of the highest standing. There are songs on his CDs that only a true fan would be aware of, but bigger profile artists have acknowledged that the sheer volume of his work is staggering, given the depth of quality available in his catalogue.

Don Quixote is a mirror image of the way Lightfoot twinned his love of life with his love of music. Like a breath of fresh air you are introduced to the sheer freedom that a song such as "Christian Island" portrays. A man at peace with his solitude. Then we have the loneliness and sombre beauty of "Looking at the Rain", "Ordinary Man" and "Beautiful". All songs that leave a mark on the listener.

However, my personal favourite is "On Susan's Floor", a person and place that obviously meant a lot to Lightfoot at some time in his life. The image and sensitivity is special.

I love this album, it is purely and simply Lightfoot at his magical best. Like most of his albums released in the 70s, he lifted the bar and rose to the challenge time and time again.
0Comment| 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 9 January 2017
a favourite cd x
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 6 November 2017
good
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 23 May 2009
I bought this album way back in the 70's on vinyl. There is no doubt that singer/songwriter Gordon Lightfoot has produced a plethora of wonderful songs in his hey day {60's -70's} The Don Quixote album epitomises that era; every track is a gem! Gordon's fine baritone voice performed in his own inimitable style sounds as fresh today and makes delightful listening. Gordon Lightfoot at his best! Go for it!
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
TOP 100 REVIEWERon 11 March 2011
Through the woodland, through the valley
Comes a horseman wild and free,
Tilting at the windmills passing,
Who can the brave young horseman be?

So begins Gordon Meredith Lightfoot`s follow-up to Summer Side Of Life, a hard act to follow.
It`s debatable whether this Don Quixote is the romantic Spanish knight errant or the romantic Canadian singer-hero, tilting at a few windmills of his own. Haven`t we all? It`s a fine mid-tempo opener to a very fine album, but then, GL`s opening tracks tend to be attention-grabbers.
Gord`s been nothing if not geographical across his twenty albums, and Christian Island is another seafaring tale, a ballad, to add to his other maritime sagas. Wonder where he got his taste for the sea and ships.
Next up is `the catchy song`. On almost every release Gord has at least one catchy, uptempo song that stays in the mind and won`t let go. Alberta Bound is a typically jaunty example, with one of Gord`s killer choruses, so simple yet so `right`. It`s one of the mysteries of life how this troubadour (if any singer-songwriter deserves that epithet, he does) comes up with such a seemingly limitless stream of
memorable melodies, often deceptively simple yet quietly devastating in their effect.
Looking At The Rain is that Lightfoot staple, the gravely beautiful ballad. And what a tune - just right. Never heard it before but I`ve known it all my life...
Another standout is Second Cup Of Coffee, a `campfire song` - of friends & lovers past and present - if ever I heard one, with its opening lines:

I`m on my second cup of coffee, and I still can`t face the day,
I`m thinkin` of the lady who got lost along the way...

and the deliciously harmonised refrain that includes the great line:

Thinking of girls, with their fingers in my curls...

...it sounds as good as it looks!
Then comes a gentle love song called Beautiful. It is.
On Susan`s Floor is a rare non-Lightfoot composition, by Shel Silverstein & Vince Matthews, the former responsible for much of the Dr Hook songbook at the time. It could`ve been written by GL himself, so snugly does it fit his style. It`s a standout track, a slightly quirky ballad about all those who`ve "found a home on Susan`s floor".
Finally, The Patriot`s Dream (to a tune bearing more than a vague resemblance to Grand Coulee Dam!) is a superbly constucted 6-minute song about the victims of war,
those who fight and those who grieve:

The songs of the war are as old as the hills,
They cling like the rust on the cold steel that kills

After setting the scene, GL does what he tends to do in his `story songs` and concentrates down onto the personal, the music aptly slowing:

There was a young girl watching, in the early afternoon,
And she heard the name of someone who said he`d be home soon...

Don Quixote is quixotic enough, as varied, surprisig, but assured, as any of the eight mostly classic run of records he made in the 70s. This is one of the best of them.
In a word: beautiful.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 23 February 2010
This Canadian singer songwriter is a mater craftsman...........This is another excellent album from Gordon's years at Reprise records.......story telling songs with beautiful melodies are the hallmark of his style and this album. There is thought,care and happiness in his writing and like Don Quiote , Gordon treks from subject to subject carrying with him his well loved but battered guitar and his life ravaged soul. Gordon is always ready to do musical battle and is always triumphant!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 30 June 2013
I had this when it was on vinyl and left a hot water bottle on it! Haven't heard it since 1979! This song collection is as delightful as it was then and sometimes your memory can be very deceptive. Not this time though!
Those new to Gordon Lightfoot will, I hope, enjoy the timbre of his voice, the interesting lyrics and the haunting melodies.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 14 May 2012
The Iconic Singer/songwriter Gordon Lightfoot,some say Canada' s finest, no argument there,bought this on vinyl many years ago so it was really a matter of time that I would get it on CD,the songs are as fresh as I remember,thought provoking lyrics and sweet guitar licks, superb
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse


Customers also viewed these items

Summertime Dream
£7.96
Sundown
£7.24

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)