Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
70
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£5.87+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 8 January 2004
While there are more than enough individual tracks dotted around his huge number of recordings to justify Neil Young’s major reputation there are only a few albums that, on their own, hold together as satisfyingly complete “works”. And… in the (self imposed) absence of any sensible retrospectives since 1977’s “Decade” (definitely the best place to start for any “casual buyer”) those not “in the know” could be in for some seriously expensive mistakes. So, what’s been worth the money since then? Well…for anyone looking for the mellower side of this brilliantly mercurial but annoyingly erratic artist here’s a few suggestions: “Comes a Time” (1978), “Freedom” (1989), “Harvest Moon” (1992) and “Unplugged” (1995).
“Harvest Moon”, a straight reference back to his massively popular “Harvest” which he immediately chose to move a long way away from at the time (preferring, in his own words, to head for the ditch rather than the “middle of the road”) is, amongst his peers, the rarest of things – a follow-up album not only 20 years too late but arguably better than its career-building predecessor. Over the top?... well the debate could continue for hours but, with such wonderfully laid back tracks as “Unknown Legend”, “From Hank to Hendrix” & “One of these Days”, the rolling country-rock of “Old King”, the quite beautiful “Harvest Moon” (brilliantly re-worked by Cassandra Wilson on “New Moon Daughter”) and the deeply reflective “You and Me” it’s a close call indeed. Mellow music at its best and an album that leaves you feeling… happy. Money well spent!
0Comment| 30 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 December 2006
This is an excellent CD, and you don't have to be a 'Neil Young Fan' (whatever that means!) to enjoy it. The opener, Unknown Legend, is an excellent introduction to the laid back quality of the album, which continues without a real duff track right the way to the end. Even Natural Beauty, clocking in at an impressive 10+ minutes, holds my attention right until it merges into the rainforest noises at the very end. Songs like One of These Days and Such a Woman are almost ethereal, they somehow sound timeless, hints of a Nashville sound coming and going here and there. If you have been put off Neil Young by impressions of an angry guitar weilding man playing long guitar solos, well, rest assured, THAT Neil Young does not make an appearance here.

I don't find myself thinking about the original Harvest album when I listen to this- I think this stands on its own as a great CD. Sure, there are echoes of the original, but owning the Harvest album is not a per-requesite to enjoying this. James Taylor and Linda Rondstadt supply some backing vox, along with longtime collaborator Nicolette Larson.

I am also very impressed by the photos in the CD booklet of the moon. They are an excellent added bonus to this album.
0Comment| 19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 July 2004
Being a huge NY fan, I've had this album tucked away in my collection for a while. There are probably albums that I would reach for before this one, however, one dark night I decided to give it a spin.
This album has definately matured, and maybe in my haste before, I missed the absolute acoustic gem 'You and me'. The lyrics are emotional, the guitar playing that of an acoustic genius. If you're an folky NY fan, this album is worth this track alone. 'Such a woman' and the live track 'Natural Beauty' are also crackers. In my eyes, Neil Young is king, and this album sets him on the way to his corination.
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 February 2002
This is an absolutely beautiful album. It's tranquil and peaceful in a way that other Neil Young albums are not.
Even Harvest and Silver & Gold are raucous in comparison. On the Unplugged album manages to capture anything like the warm glow of these recordings.
The best tracks are 'You And Me' and 'Natural Beauty'.
A lovely album, perfect for relaxing to. Which is a strange thing for Neil Young.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 January 2001
Out of all the Neil Young albums I've heard, THIS is the one. It's a beautiful, atmospheric album of the likes I've never heard of before or since. The reverb makes it a very 'night' record and every song is brilliant, apart from maybe 'Old King' which spoils the mood a little. 'Natural Beauty' is phenomenal and the album as a whole is the perfect record for atmospheric summer nights or cold winter days. Miles better than Harvest.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
This is a very mellow album in which the tempo only picks up on Old king, a track that features a banjo. Even there, the banjo is somewhat restrained. This album therefore won't get your toes tapping but it has a different kind of appeal.

Among the mellow songs, I particularly enjoy the opening Unknown legend (about a woman motorbike rider), the following From Hank to Hendrix (which is actually about a relationship, with music providing the metaphors), One of these days (hinting at Neil's musical influences) and the romantic title track. Neil mostly avoids politics in this album although in War of man, he sings about a theme that he has explored more on other albums, but here he contents himself with pointing out that there are no winners.

With background singers that include Linda Ronstadt, Nicolette Larson and James Taylor, this is a fine album in its way. Neil Young's fans are many and diverse, and like his music for a variety of different reasons. If you enjoy hearing him sing mellow folk-rock music as I do, you are likely to love this album.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 January 2016
Produced in Nashville, this deceptively carefully-crafted 20th anniversary sequel to the generally mellow, 1972 bestseller Harvest, is the complete opposite of its well-named, tinnitus-inducing predecessor Ragged Glory. Indeed, Young described this contemplative collection of acoustic ballads – that comes wrapped in a suitably darkly silhouetted cover - at the time as “The quietest record I’ve ever made”.

Over its 10 tracks it is unashamedly nostalgic (‘From Hank To Hendrix’, ‘Unknown Legend’), and sweetly loving (‘You And Me’, ‘Such A Woman’), and even if the light-hearted country-blues tribute to his dog (‘Old King’) is a little too corny, his twentieth studio album’s gently spine-tingling mix of his cracked, lonesome tenor, and pedal steel guitars, gentle folk melodies, and pristine country choruses, was clearly appealing. It earned him his best chart position in the US in 20 years - going platinum there in 1993 - and he followed it up with the similar-sounding, and just as persuasive, live set Unplugged
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 February 2013
I tend to look for CD's when I have already heard songs that appeal to me .I always liked Neil Youngs recordings and have a good number of CDs by this artist, I particularly wanted the Harvest Moon recording. The CD came up fully to my expectations.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 February 2010
After the excesses of `Ragged Glory' and `Weld' he (and we) probably needed a bit of a break. (That word `excesses' is not used critically, by the way, I love them both).

This either is, or isn't, a follow-up to the 20 odd years before `Harvest' - it isn't if you listen to Neil Young, it is if you listen to anyone else. There's no guitar histrionics on here; just some quiet, gentle (some would say hokey) tunes played with some old friends (the great Ben Keith for one), and some backing vocals from the likes of James Taylor and Linda Rondstadt.

I struggle to listen to the album as a whole (it's a bit too laid back taken all at once), but when the odd tune pops up on my I-pod it nearly always brings a sigh, a smile and an urge to put on a dirty old check shirt.

Best songs: `Unknown Legend', `From Hank to Hendrix', `Harvest Moon', `Dreamin' Man' and, best of all, `Natural Beauty'.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 November 2001
The follow-up (twenty years on!) to 1972's "Harvest," "Harvest Moon" is, if anything, a more impressive, and certainly more coherent, collection. One thing which strikes the listener here is the sheer quality of Young's writing: "Unknown Legend," "War of Man," "One of These Days" and the dark "Natural Beauty" are all right on the money. Even "Old King," a humourous tribute to Young's deceased dog, has a rollicking charm. While more of a "straight" country album than "Harvest," and thus less imaginative in terms of arrangements, this album has the edge over its prequel on the songwriting front. A consistant and enjoyable effort.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£6.95

Need customer service? Click here