Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars
15
4.2 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£6.78+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 16 November 2001
Every facet of his talent is displayed, and his love and appreciation of New Orleans music shine through in this superb collection. I cannot recommend it highly enough. Do yourself a favour and absorb the history of New Orleans music through it's greatest living ammbasador.
0Comment| 24 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 August 2015
Spendid tribute to New Orleans classic sound and music, from one of his most celebrated and honorable musicians. This is where Dr John reveals all his blues and swing side, and he does it real good. Some tracks are even beter than the classic versions, although Dr John does not change them much (Indian Red, Careless Love, Litanies of Saints, etc....). Clean and rich warm sound, ballads, blues, joking pieces and classic standards, dixieland and tribal countrygrass sounds. A fantastic and lively container of all the immortal, various, passionate yet ease soirit of The Big Easy
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 August 2007
If this cd dosen't make you dance, sing, move your neck in a rocking motion, feel good, tap your hands on your legs waiting at a red light, laugh, even cry some, if this cd dosen't do any of the above then.. as Louis Jordan said.. Jack you dead.
22 comments| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 April 2016
Love his 1973-75 stuff. This seems tamer, less funky and more jazz. My fav's are 'In The Right Place' and 'Desitively Bonnaroo' which are uptempo r&b/funk at their best with a lot of soul. Also 'City Lights' (1978) for a more chilled and easy jazz feel.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 June 2015
Sorry to say not as great as I'd hope after reading other reviews. I much prefer Professor Longhorn's version of the title song & others & the new ones (to me) did not inspire as much as other New Orleans Jazz greats.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 September 2005
As a first time listener to DR John this is indeed one of the best albums i have listened to for ages. It takes the listener through an historical journey through New Orleans and is by far a masterpiece. Absolutely a must for any Music fan and i MEAN any music fan
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 December 2009
Everybody who loves the mix of blues, jazz and latin rhytms will love this album from Dr. John.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 November 2015
ok. not the best but not the worst dr john album.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 March 2011
Mac Rebennack alias Dr John represents the spirit of New Orleans and I have seen him in concert both at Tipitianas in the Crescent City and in England.
In the days of his C.D The Night Tripper he could be a little weird, but with "Going Back To New Orleans" he has gone back to the routes of the city with traditional songs. Just listen to "My Indian Red" the traditional song sung by Indians at the start of Mardi Gras and with his distinctive voice it takes you straight there.
On first listening I described it as one of the danciest C.D's I have heard, it just wants to make you jig around the room!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 May 2016
Not sure about this one, but we all have to try
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse