Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
14
4.8 out of 5 stars
5 star
11
4 star
3
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£6.41+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 4 July 2004
What impressed us immediately about this album was the energy, and quality of production. Hardly surprising, given the fact that Tommy Shaw is something of a genius as a songwriter, performer and producer. Here, his union with Jack Blades, Michael Cartellone and Ted Nugent works extremely well. Ted's lead guitar emotes blues, soul and rock with obvious passion, particularly on "High Enough" and "Come Again", and then he demonstrates his skill when he hits unbelievable harmonics on the intro of "Piledriver". This album is like listening to Styx, but with attitude, and without the De Young theatrical influence. A great, great album and well worth purchasing.
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 May 2001
I first heard Damn Yankees at a friend's house back in '92 - and I was blown away! The combination of great songs, brilliant harmonies and the most amazing guitar playing makes this an essential purchase for any rock fan. I can't pick out individual tracks for review because they are all equally fabulous. If you like rock, you're gonna drool over this!
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 December 2015
my introduction to the world of Ted and the guys came with this album this is when i 1st wanted to know more about the musicians other bands, and the reason which made me buy this is that rock candy are known for great remasters like the great job they did for white lion. but this album if your looking for great music .. music which will never date and will keep rocking like no other
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 December 2009
I loved Ted Nugent (Stranglehold & Paralyzed my 2 fave ever tracks) but this group arrangement was the making of him!
Superb songs, great harmonies, good controlled solos by Ted, superb album with 'Coming of Age' and 'Come Again' absolute classics.
Buy it & you will not stop playing it for a month.
Think of a very heavy Styx, or a Def Leppard style hamony rock with a US slant.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 June 2015
Damn Yankees debut album is a hard rock masterpiece. From the anthemic "Coming Of Age" and "Runaway", there is also two really standout ballads on here "High Enough" and "Come Again" (The former is my favourite track on the whole album."
Ted Nugent is fantastic on this album.

Do yourself a favour if you like hard rock music with lots of melody, BUY THIS ALBUM!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 December 2007
along with dont tread, the follow up to this. the short lived supergroup the damn yankees supplied the music world with some of the finest tunes that the american rock scene has produced. sometimes heavy,sometimes melodic, sometimes harmonious checkout either of their first two cds and you will not be dissapointed.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 July 2014
tommy shaw and ted nugent works really well great debut album
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 November 2008
I first heard Damn Yankees when I was 18, back in 1990 (on a heavy metal music program) and I was blown away. I purchased the audio tape in India (July 1990). Unfortunately, I disposed of my music collection in c.'99.

I rediscovered the group only last week when surfing the net, so I purchased the cd format. I have to say, it sounds equally good now, as it did the first time round. The group can play a variety of rock and ballad music. Each song is full of soul and it is impressive when they can change the tone of the song at any point (from slow and melodic to funky rock). This group is definitely one of the best things to have ever come out of USA and their work is the pinnacle of artistic and entertaining music.

It is such a shame that rock is now out of fashion, since it has been superceded by so much tosh produced by later generations of mediocre musicians.
33 comments| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 March 2015
seriously big fun. these boys were having too much of it. so they split up. expert harmony's. big pop rock crunch. great to work out too. run etc.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 September 2015
I knew it was good because I had it on Cassette so it was a must have
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£13.19
£10.28

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)