Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
58
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£5.55+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 25 February 2016
1989 and Clapton is back on form with this masterful album.
Obviously the highlights are the bluesy tracks Before You Accuse Me,Hound Dog,Hard Times,Running On Faith.
But tracks such as Pretending,Anything For Love,Bad Love No Alibis and Old Love(with Robert Cray) are truly stunning.And there you are,ive just mentioned 8 of the 12 tracks.As for the remainder i would say the weakest is Lead On Me with Run So Far,Breaking Point, being just good to very good.
Buy this and its companion Unplugged and you can't go wrong.2 of Clapton,s albums best at that time for a while.
89 was a good year seasoned veterans such as Tina(The Best),Elton(Sleeping With The Past),Rod(Vagabond Heart).Ofcourse in a few years they would be blown away by Brit Bop and hail the conquering heroes(for a while) Oasis and bands such as Blur,Pulp and Suede adding that spark back into music.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 July 2017
I love Clapton's music anyway.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 March 2017
Good Item at a Good Price
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 May 2017
All good
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 November 2016
Timeless Clapton, matures with age
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
After (what in my personal opinion) I consider to be the two worst albums of his career, Behind the Sun and August, Clapton managed to finish the eighties with this excellent album that shows him right back on form.

It's an album of blues/rock in which Clapton sounds really interested and committed to the music, an attitude that was missing from his previous few releases. He mixes some great guitar work with some of his best vocals, at times sweet and yearning, at times gruff and world weary. Mixing up the tempo allows Clapton to show off his full range, and whereas on earlier records he concentrated on either Clapton the guitarist or Clapton the vocalist, here for the first time he finds a great balance between the two and finally shows himself to be the complete article. It was a commercial and critical success, picking up a few awards, and quite rightly so.
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 June 2010
Having previously owned this album on cassette and sold it on, I missed it and rebought it on CD. I am now enjoying it more than ever. Some outstanding tracks - Pretending, Bad Love, Hound Dog, No Alibis & Before you Accuse Me. The rest are merely very good!
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 May 2008
It was so good to hear this album which I had played to death on vinyl and after about 7 years of not hearing it I was so pleased that it had lost nothing of it's original appeal. I think the thing that appeals to me most is the production of the album which shows what a fantastic producer Russ Titleman is(just listen to Toto albums and you will see what I mean)and that really makes the difference for as much as I love EC I really miss the Titleman touch when you see him live. This album does stand the test of time and stands up very well against recent albums by Eric.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 June 2017
Fantastic album with every song a polished performance. Particularly like Bad Love, Pretending and Old Love. Mr Clapton can do no wrong with this album
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 January 2010
This is the album that brought me, and many others I suspect, back to listening to Eric, and is a great collection of songs, some of which are outstanding. It was a restart to his career, and should be in anyone's collection of grat EC albums.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£8.26

Need customer service? Click here