Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more

Customer reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
10
The Mind Is A Terrible Thing To Taste
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£5.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 5 December 2017
Very pleased with this and exactly as described. Thank you
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 10 November 2015
Great record!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 8 June 2015
Arguably the best Ministry album besides The Land Of Rape And Honey. Amazing from start to finish.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 3 April 2015
very good!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 18 January 2014
Al Jourgenson came up with the goods again on this album, totally sick, just love, I highly recommend his autobiography,
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 11 June 2002
1989 was a good year for metal. Carcass' sublime "Symphonies Of Sickness", Godflesh's inspirational "Streetcleaner", and Nine Inch Nails' debut, "Pretty Hate Machine", were all released in that year. Also in 1989, Ministry released this absolutely brilliant album. I remember first hearing this album in 1994 and sounding impressed, but whilst much 90s metal has not survived the test of time, this album has. It sounds even better than when I first heard it. "Thieves" is just one of those songs you have to play in your car when driving at full speed. Excellent samples from "Full Metal Jacket" too. "Burning Inside" is probably the album's highlight. The other seven tracks are also of a high standard. Excellent, a hugely underrated album.
11 Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 21 May 2009
I recently discovered Ministry on a compilation CD and liked what I heard. I decided to buy an album and see what I thought of them. This was the Album I bought. I now own their entire back catalogue. Yes, it is that good.

If you enjoy thumping drum and bass with heavy guitars and mechanical effects as a backdrop to some meaty vox and some excellent sampling, this is an album for you. The stop start agression of Thieves, the pumping brutality of Burning Inside and the sheer vitriol of Breathe are great examples of a band who really knew what they wanted to do with an album.

A sheer joy to listen to over and over, an album to savour.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 22 July 2001
Ministry are one of the best industrial bands ever, and this (in my opinion) is their best album, so this has got to be essential for anyone with any interest in industrial. In fact, this is just a pretty essential album. Listen to this and you can see where a lot of todays bands are coming from. In fact, even though this album was made as long ago as 1989, one track has an MC on it, (but don't let that put you off). Most Ministry albums have at least a couple of tracks I usualy skip (although they're all great), but not this one. Definately a must.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 10 November 1999
If you want bland there's so many Steps Club Seven clones too choose from. If you want cuddly, buy a Steps album.
There's a machine-like quality to the sounds on this album.
If you like riffs then you have to appreciate every track.
Thieves introduces us well to the sonic feel and to the themes that they explore throughout the whole album... that is, everything that the writers feel is bad about the world.
Staccato guitars, tortured vocals, aggressive riffs, musically you'd think that the guitars were being played back from samples but I know someone who saw them on the tour that accompanied the release of this album and they can do this live. (Check out "In Case You Didn't Feel Like Showing Up" if you want proof of this).
A "must have" album for people who appreciate properly heavy music.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 6 September 2013
"The Mind is a Terrible Thing to Taste is the most overrated album I ever did. I still have no idea why anybody likes it. I tried to sit through it and it made me all squirmy. I went, 'Ehh, is there anything else to do? What's on TV?''

He said it...
11 Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)