Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop now Learn more

Customer reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
45
New York
Format: Audio CD|Change


on 22 November 2017
"Transformer" is okay, perhaps most interesting because of its Bowie / Ronson involvement. "Berlin" is better but very "dark" for many people's taste. But "New York" is surely Lou Reed's best album. High energy, great songs. Highly recommended.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 6 November 2013
At the time of its release New York was considered Lou Reeds best album for a while. I was too tight to buy bit outright so all these years I have had a copied cassette version minus the last two tracks!
It's been played a hundred times and to me it still sounds as fresh as ever, great songs performed by a tight little combo and as Lou says on the sleeve notes this record should be played in its entirety in one session as if you would, say watch a movie.
"The last great American whale" is my fave track. "stick a fork in its ass, turn it over and its done" ---love it.
Inconsistent output from Lou has dogged his career, one step forward two steps back ,witness Metal Machine Music, for whatever reason his fans did not deserve that.
New York is my lasting memory of Lou Reed, a true giant of the rock genre we all love.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 25 March 2017
This album has aged well. I recently got a copy, having owned it on vinyl all those years ago. The production is crisp and unfussy and Lou sings great on every track. This is a very strong collection of songs, with no weak tracks spoiling the flow. Love it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 22 September 2010
The genre of LP as graphic novel is superbly realised in this recording. The songs are poignant and colourful. The portrait of New York at a moment in time is crystal clear - ugly, beautiful, bolshy, aggressive. But for me the best thing on hearing it all again after a leave of absence, is the superb playing and the disarmingly unfussy recording. Just some guys with guitars paying their fingers off. Hugely recommended to anyone who ever visited New York, enjoyed a Lou Reed song or played a guitar. So nearly everyone.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 16 June 2017
fab
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 5 February 2018
Happy with product and delivery
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 30 September 2012
Far less singing, far more spoken word, but considering Reed's age when this album was produced, it's better this way.
Guitars on Romeo Had Juliette are outstanding, the rhythm, lyrics and melody of Hallowe'en Parade is memorable, but best of all is Dirty Boulevard. Strikingly blunt lyrics, repetitive and ridiculously catchy guitar all built around 3 chords.
Really like all the other songs on the album, no duds at all. Endless Cycle, There is No Time, Good Evening Mr Waldheim, and Last Great American Whale are among my other favourites.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 29 August 2017
All very perfect
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 28 March 2016
My only disappointment is not knowing about this album when it was first released many years ago. It is a masterpiece, lyrically and musically, raw, polished and melodic. A perfect companion to 'Transformer' in any collection.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 12 November 2016
Quite simply...a masterpiece from a genius...
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)