Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
33
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£8.71+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 8 October 2015
Ry Cooder playing the blues. What's not to like? OK the music is fairly standard blues and designed to fit in with a feel good film, but it's still good blues. The choice of tracks and their delivery come across well. Pleasant enough in the car on a long journey and a good warm up for something a bit deeper and heavier.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 February 2013
I think that Ry Cooder is my favourite guitar player of all time.I saw him at the NEC in Birmingham playing this back in the 1980's and it was one of the best gigs I have been fortunate to witness.This still seems as brilliant now as it did then
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 March 2013
You have to be glad that Ry Cooder never remained with Captain Beefheart but instead his vision was to introduce the world to many different strands of American music usually known as Americana
Before the Captain he played in a group called the Rising Sons and it was years before I found out they weren't the same ones as the ones on Amy who cut 2 singles You're My Girl and Try To Be A Man.
Whatever a single was issued in the UK of the 2 A sides with You're My Girl being covered by the Rockin' Berries and in the 80s by Randy & the Rainbows
Thus nothing was issued in the U K bearing the name of these Rising Sons as they had suddenly become Taj Mahal though in the early 2000s came a CD credited to Taj Mahal & the Rising Sons featuring Ry Cooder with the info about Columbia dumping this in the vaults.Added to the confusion is that both Rising Sons recorded a Goffin-King song-the Amy group did You're My Girl and the Columbia one did what was possibly the original version of Take A Giant Step better known nowadays as the first Monkees B side.The Ace for one of their Goffin-King comps managed to find yet another version by the group the Rising Sons sounded like-the Tokens
Me-I'm glad the CD under review left off the "guitar battle" as I find this kind of thing excruciatingly boring
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 7 September 2010
Classic soundtrack for a blues road movie. In my opinion "Feelin' Bad Blues" is the greatest slide blues instrumental ever.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 February 2016
Very enjoyable collection of traditional and new material performed in what has become Cooders iconic style.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 June 2013
After watching the film this was a must, so full of music from my childhood and some really rare stuff
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 November 2014
NOT REALLY AS LONG AS WE DONT HEAR BANJOS SKINNS BRO PLEASE.I FEEL THE NEED THE NEED FOR WEED XXXXX
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 February 2017
Great soundtrack to one of my more off the wall favourite movies. Ry Cooder is sublime as always
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 December 2016
Very hard to come by and will make an old man's Christmas....thank you
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 January 2015
Poor to say the least. The cd arrived but there was nothing on it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse