Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
24
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£3.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 9 August 2001
Twang....budoing....shimmer (then slide up six) budoing ..wheee..shimmer ( finish on low E)
All of you slide guitar afficionados will recognise the brilliance of Ry Cooder at his best. You can sense the heat of the deserted black-top highway and feel the perspiration start to prickle on the back of your neck - all by listening to this CD! How good is that!
Next time I'm in the Southern States this one is going with me for the car! Ry can also be found in "Why don't you try me tonight" and of course the wonderful soundtrack of "Crossroads."
33 comments| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 February 2007
I have to confess to hearing Ry Cooder's memorable and beautiful soundtrack long before seeing the film, however like many film soundtracks I have since purchased, this one stands up as a fine example of inspirational music on its own - with or without the film for reference.

It's funny, that years later I find myself embracing, with equal enthusiasm, the work of Gustavo Santaolalla: memorable for his soundtracks to Brokeback Mountain, 21 Grams, and Amores Perros. Like Cooder, Santaolalla also creates a timeless haunting soundscape with the purity of a simple guitar palate and when it works... there is nothing to beat it.

If you like this album, check out the other soundtracks I mentioned. In the meantime if you only have room for one 'out there' acoustic guitar album, buy this one at any price... you will not be disappointed.

Enjoy,

Ernest the Goose
11 comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 May 2007
Is this, I wonder, the greatest filmscore ever made? Well, if it isn't, it must come close.

It is impossible to imagine Wim Wenders' film without the sparse, haunting, melancholy wail of Ry Cooder's guitar, the soundtrack being an integral part of the action (if the film can really be considered to have much in the way of action). It is as difficult to imagine "Paris, Texas" without Cooder's music as it is to imagine the shower scene in "Psycho" without Bernard Herrman's staccato strings but, whereas Herrman's score works only with the film, the music on "Paris, Texas" makes for a raw and wonderful listening experience on its own.

Listen to this album with your eyes closed and the hairs on the back of your neck stand on end with the power of the plaintive sounds. The extract of dialogue, "I Knew These People", is Harry Dean Stanton narrating the tale of young love gone sour: it fits so well with the rest of the album but still comes as a surprise, increasing the emotional weight of the record. All of which makes it sound like a bit of a miserable endeavour but, melancholy though it is, it is, somehow, far from miserable. Just beautiful.
22 comments| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 13 October 2003
A beautiful soundtrack to an even better film, Ry Cooder's music fits the mood of 'Paris Texas' so well. 'Paris, Texas' is my favourite film and I just had to buy this CD and it still sends tingles up my spine in place.
So atmospheric.
Andy Moore
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 January 2014
this was a Christmas present for my husband and he really loved it it came well before the due date in plenty of time was very happy with this purchase and would recommend this site to family and friends
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 October 2013
This was really enjoyable Ry cooders playing creates just the right mood
giving you that feeling of a vast empty desolate landscape the only
gripe its rather short on playing time even so its still a good cd
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 April 2013
This is the music the BBC use over any documentary report from the deep south, they only ever use a few seconds of course - buy this and find out how the track ends. Not for everybody though.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 April 2013
Ry Cooder strikes again the beautiful sound track Is one of the most haunting I've ever heard and whenever the opening track starts It sends the hairs standing up on my neck. At £3 was a bargain, It's not true what they say about Amazon that finding a bargain Is trying to find a Pearl In a shell, (LOL).
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 December 2014
Great guitar work by Ry Cooder but don't expect anything other than long, slow laid back heavy cords. Like marmite you either love it hate it!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 May 2013
Mood music at its best, one CD that is always being lent to friends, they need to buy their own. Good in its own right but perfect with the film.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)