Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
7
4.3 out of 5 stars
Wholesale Meats And Fish [Us Import]
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£14.95+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 29 May 2006
I bought this CD after liking "Go!" and wanting to hear more of the band. That's why you're here too, right? Of course it is! Well, "Wholesale Meats And Fish" is Letters To Cleo's second album, actually released a couple of years before the better known "Go!", and their sound is pretty similar here. The chief disappointment I had with this CD, though, is that a lot of the songs sound too similar; there's a number of tracks that merge fairly indistinguishably into one another without really leaping out at you or grabbing your attention. Whereas such a charge might be levelled at "Go!", albeit a little unfairly, I feel such criticism is more justified here. That's not to say it's a particularly bad album, just that it's not spectacularly good either due to the lack of variety. It's the kind of CD I find to be agreeable background music, but not a whole lot more. That having been said, its stronger songs are worth a mention: "What Do You Want, Yeah?" is a simple but effective rock number; "Laudanum" is the most chilled track on the album and a very good slower song at that; and if the bizarre "He's Got An Answer" doesn't stick in your head, the chorus to opener "Demon Rock" probably will! I doubt it's a CD you'll be reaching for too often though. If you liked "Go!" and want more of the same, you'll probably enjoy this, but bear in mind it's not quite as good: on the other hand, if you're only looking to buy one LTC album, I'd recommend you get "Go!" instead.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 May 2001
Along with half the planet, I first heard Letters to Cleo on the `10 things` soundtrack and was instantly impressed,so much so that buying some of their work was simply a must.Last year i couldnt find LTC's cd's in any shop!,so I came online and found them! It took me a while to get into this album, but i have to say it was worth it! - my personal fave's are `AWAKE` and `FAST WAY`,the vocals on this cd are amazing, i have now ordered `GO` and am waiting to compare it with this album.This album needs advertising,and i am the one to do it - liked LTC on 10 things? BUY THIS NOW!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! have fun listening and enjoying LTC'S music, god bless, Nat (uk)
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 October 2000
This, the third studio album from the Boston based power pop geniuses, sees them moving into heavier rock music. Of course Letters To Cleo could never be described as "grunge", but this is a VERY different album to their previous offerings: Sister and Aurora Gory Alice. The cd starts with a burst of guitar feedback and doesn't quit 'til the end. That's not to say that they have abandoned their fantastic pop-rock sound that works so well, as the same formula is used here, but songs like "Demon Rock", "Fast Way" and the Sonic Youth-influenced "Do What You Want..." are more likely to have you shouting along with Kay Hanley than dancing madly around your bedroom (although it's hard to resist). My favourites of this cd are "Awake", "Pizza Cutter" and "I Could Sleep". This album is a must for any fan and if you are thinking "letters to who"? This album is suitable evidence of why you should be a fan. It's worth importing from the US, that shows how good this is! Also recommended is their 1997 release, "Go!", which basically picks up where this one left off.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 March 2001
This is an excellent CD from the first track to the last. It has a good rocky sound to it. With some tracks being stronger than others but all of them excellent to listen to. Pizza cutter being the best track has a good beat and sound to it and the words are just brilliant. Kay hanley's voice is very good and strong throughout. There are also some excellent guitar riffs and overall a very good sound to it!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 February 2001
This album is one of the best I've heard from a not so well known American band. With tracks like 'Little Rosa' and 'I could sleep (the wuss song)'to see to your sentimental side while 'Demon Rock'sees to your angry side. Another CD that's worth a look is 'Go'also by Letters to Cleo. So it's definately worth a look.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 April 2001
"Go" is a better album then this songs such as "jennifer" let the album down with thier repetativeness. shame though! This album's mood is different from "go"'s more "poppy" i found- however it is each to thier own!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 March 2002
I first discovered letters to cleo about 2 years ago after seeing (yes you guessed it)10 things i hate bout you. I immediately got their most recent album to date 'go' and absolutely adored it. Since then ive worked backwars getting this album bout a year ago which in my opinion proved to be even better as its a more heavy kinda rock. letters 2 cleo are such a unique sounding band, there hasn't been anything like them since they got popular and im so upset to hear of their split cause they won't write nemore fantastic music :( Theres really a lack of rock bands with a female lead vocal, i mean theres kittie if ur into metal also veruca salt are well worth a try but theyre nething like L2C.
But cleo'll always rule!!!!!! This album can almost sum up my eariler teenage years- every track of this album tells a story. you get more drivin and heavy tracks like 'fast way', 'demon rock' or 'do what u want yeah' which'll get u all fired up and those with a pop/rock feel like 'awake' and 'little rosa' They're all fantastic.
I SWEAR you will fall in love with letters2cleo. BUY BOTH 'WM&F' AND 'GO'! I've been listening to thems for years and am still not bored! Plus they're a nice happy melodic upbeat sound. If ur feeling down or s'thin, Cleo always does the trick.THEYRE AMAZING, TOTALLY UNIQUE AND ALL UR MAtES WILL WANNA BORROW THE ALBUMS - MINE DID AND I DIDNT SEE THEM 4 MONTHS! BUY BUY BUY BUY BUY AND MAKE EM KNOWN!!!!!!!!
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

Go
£26.66

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)