Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Now

Customer reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
122
4.7 out of 5 stars
Eliminator
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£5.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 29 September 2017
I have been a keen admirer of this band, but this album rocks. The guitar riffs are brilliant, and the tracks are a standout. I am very pleased with this record on vinyl format. The track 'legs' are funky, and the classic 'give me all your loving' is an all time favorite of mine. I think this is one of the essential albums of the rock genre.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 July 2017
Had the record - wanted the CD for the newish car - old one had a tape deck!! Makes the drive to work so much more bearable...
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 July 2017
Love this album
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 July 2016
Very good
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 March 2017
Probably their best album
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 August 2013
I bought this album a s a vinyl lp back in the eighties. Still luv it today & brings back loads of good memories,
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 April 2017
Great band super music
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 23 March 2010
Most people reading this review will already know enough about the album itself, a 5* eighties masterpiece. What they'll be wondering is 'Is it worth forking out for the deluxe edition?'. The answer is yes, just about. The remastering does wonders for the sound, it just blasts out of your speakers. It brings the whole sound alive and makes you ask the above question (Come on Rhino lets get Tejas, Deguello and El Loco remastered). But what about the extras. Well, the cd extras are hardly essential. Do we really need two extra versions of Legs, especially a Dance Mix (Lets face it those eighties dance Mixes were an abomination and this is no exception). The live tracks are not much better, recorded at the Marquee and Donnington, the sound is fairly rough after the excellence of the main album (There must have been some decently recorded gigs on the Eliminator Tour). That brings us to the DVD. First up the promotional videos. Who can forget those. Ahh, how time can distort our memories. In '83 they looked so cool. Now they look pretty tacky, and those eighties styles just look horrible. The TV Dinners video fairs better though with some morf like animation. Finally onto the last 4 videos, taken from the Tube. These are worth it. By this time they'd been touring the album for quite some time and were tighter than a pair of Def leppards spandex. This really is worth seeing especially Tube Snake Boogie which was never broadcast. Overall then, a 5* album with 3* extras. Buy it for the much improved sound & Tube videos. Do what I did, get it cheap off the amazon marketplace.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 September 2008
Oh, man! Remember when we'd sit there watching Whispering Bob on the New Year's Eve 'Old Grey Whistle Test Special' and phoning in to make sure 'Gimme All Your Lovin,' 'Sharp Dressed Man' or 'Legs' won the video vote? Then one year, (this was before we had video recorders in the home, wasn't it?), Bob played all 3 in a row! I mean, Lynyrd Skynyrd won enough times with 'Freebird,' now it was ZZ's turn, and what classic tracks and videos they were and still are!
On Disc one we have the 'Eliminator' album for the first 11 tracks, as per usual, and is it OUR age NOW or don't these tracks date? They sound as fresh as they did 25 year's ago! Track 12 is 'Legs' single version / bonus track, 13 to 17 are Live, previously unreleased bonus tracks, and then a dance mix of 'Legs,' which is fun and just knockout!
Disc 2 is the DVD with those 3 'Whistle Test' classics plus 'TV Dinners.' Then, and this will make everyone just Click To Buy if you haven't decided to already, four Live tracks from ZZ's performance on 17th November 1983 on 'The Tube.'
Now, we probably got the vinyl disintegrating there in the LP box, and the original CD caked in dust by now, but just click the button, THIS IS THE PUPPY YOU NEED for the 21st Century; you'll be 25 year's younger by the time you've played this a few times!
11 Comment| 27 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 June 2015
Haven't heard this in years , every bit as good as I remember but crying out for a remaster , this version being the original 80's one ie. compressed , flat and muffled.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)