Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more

Customer reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
72


on 24 December 2014
I had this LP as a kid, and digitization made me pass it by until now.

Anyway, this is to Joni's Blue what Led Zep III is to IV.

A fascinating snapshot of Canyon life in the post-hippie era, Joni pulls no punches - lyrically, harmonically and melodically. The stereo mastering is faithful to the recording - especially lovable are the plosives on the mic where she sings. No emotion is wasted.

BTW, for this period, check out Frank Zappa video, where Joni is part of the gang.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 28 February 2010
This is the first Joni Mitchell album ive bought although I was previously familiar with some of her songs.This album is beautiful.her voice is strong but at times ethereal,her lyrics are endlessly interesting and the music is wonderful.she is a captivating artist...even her slow songs somehow kept me from hitting the skip button because they are so poignant.The first song,mornig morgantown is joyous and is followed by For free which is my favourite on the album.Other highlights for me are Blue Boy,Woodstock,The circle game,Rainy night house and Big yellow taxi.There isnt really a bad song on the album although The arrangement isnt outstanding but I have a feeling even that will be lovely after a few listens.Im not someone who buys a lot of folk music and I would recommend this to everyone whatever sort of music they usually like.Only someone with a heart of stone could fail to be moved by her songs.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 27 January 2018
Joni Mitchell at her best again very simple mainly voice and guitar although the piano is beginning to make an unwelcome for my taste appearance but can't fault a track on this album my favorite tracks ladies of the canyon Morgan Morgantown for free and the circle game
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 5 January 2016
Great music, including the original studio version of 'Big Yellow Taxi' and other songs that have become better known in the live versions. Nice remastering too.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 9 February 2015
Fantastic early Joni Mitchell album which is a must if you like the album that followed, Blue (together with the one that came next, For the Roses). The vinyl sounds warm and rich.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 8 September 2014
I can only listen to her once a year, but she is worth it. Her lovely voice and the lyrics of a thinking person. Quality music.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 21 February 2015
Bought this as an LP years ago and suddenly though I should have it on cd when hearing a track on the radio. Great cd, not a massive Joni Mitchell fan to be fair but very pleased to listen to this again. Bought it from Zoverstock in great condition at a very fair price, Many thanks to this seller for a quick delivery.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 26 July 2016
You don't hear much of Joni Mitchell these days but this album takes me back to the 60s and flower power ( memories) nice one
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 5 April 2011
Along with the classics Blue and Clouds, Ladies Of The Canyon is essential listening. Released in 1970, this is Joni Mitchell at her peak, and it contains the hit Big Yellow Taxi. Enjoy!
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 31 May 2016
Great
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Customers also viewed these items

Hejira
£5.99
Clouds
£3.99
Blue
£5.99

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)