Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Now

  • Tejas
  • Customer reviews

Customer reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars
18
4.1 out of 5 stars
Tejas
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£6.21+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 22 November 2007
Some fool decided to overdub 80's drums on this and the other early ZZ Top albums at some point in the 90s. I think the record company suits have realised that they've milked the Top's 80's chart success sound now and are slowly re-releasing with the orginal drums. Aren't we lucky?

I don't think Tejas has been 'fixed' yet, so best avoid until it's sorted.
44 Comments| 21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 May 2012
Tejas is a great album. Not ZZ Tops finest (Tres Hombres is if you ask me) but there are some absolutely cracking tracks on here and I would thouroughly recommend any lover of blue based rock to have a copy of Tejas in their collection. But please don't buy this version. It was remastered in 1987 on the back of the success the band had with Eliminator and it's hard to believe Warner Bros could have got it so wrong. Tejas (the original) is a warm, mellow, guitar lead album, the remix a jarring abomination of overdubbed synth drums that destroys the original recording's sound and feel.

Until such times as it is remastered to the original sound, best make do with downloading the tracks from this album which appear on the Chrome, Smoke & BBQ box set.

Four stars for the music, minus two stars for the remix.
11 Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 May 2017
Everything you are going to read here is going to be completely biased because I'm a diehard ZZ fan, but rest assured that it is the truth!

Through every ZZ recording there is a certain 'je ne sais croie' that has you spellbound and forces you to listen through the whole album. This occurs from the 'First Album' up to and including 'Eliminator.' They really capture a moment and embellish it. This is excellently encapsulated in 'Tejas' where the emphasis is based around their.dare-I-say C&W, bluegrass, blues and boogie roots and the basic musician's need to improvise. This and incorporating one of the tightest rhythm section in a three-piece band along with some great songwriting brought forth 'Tejas'. I think you could put this album in a genre of its' own, prog-country boogie maybe!

I believe that it was not accepted well by the press and the listener upon its' release; not mainstream enough I suppose. But once you crack this nut and listen to it deeply, a real gem shines through. The tightness of that rhythm section and Billy F Gibbons guitar prowess set the tone and pace here and it is pure genius!

You will notice that this is not a 'verified purchase', but I am one of the lucky ones that has the album on vinyl, as well as the awful 'ZZ Top Six-Pack' CD multi-album compilation with a remix using 80s recording techniques and plenty of gated reverb - yuck! This is from where some of the versions of the earlier albums in CD format have been taken, so if you can get the real article, even if it means buying a turntable! Remember, all guitar music belongs on vinyl, do you hear me, Billy?

Oh and if 'Uncle Billy' or one of his minions pick up on this review, is there any chance of a re-issue in 180g vinyl in its' original format?
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 July 2009
I was given this album on vinyl by my history teacher at school when I was about 15. I fell in love with "Tejas" right then (same as I already had with Deguello) but it's taken some years (13 years) to get it, why? Because you never see this one in the shops. Thanks to amazon, I've got "Tejas" on CD now, but i'll never part with that old original vinyl edition, one of my most treasured possessions! There is just something unusual about this album, one thing is that it has a lot of overdubs and layering of sounds with effects, unlike most of ZZ Top's output from the 1970's which were proudly stripped down. I really like this, it gives the album a trippy kind of feel close to some of Little Feat's work but still with Billy Gibbons most righteous and stinging blues guitar licks and huge fat riffs, with really interesting stuff from Dusty and Frank Beard. No other album by ZZ Top has anything similar in style as the beautiful Mariachi-meets-"Sleepwalk" instrumental "Asleep In The Desert", one good reason enough to buy this one. Essential for any Rock N' Roll, Texas Blues or Blues/Rock collection.
11 Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 September 2010
The recordings were ruined in the 1980's with overdubbed drums etc. This is due to be rectified when the remastered versions of the original albums are released. I would steer clear if you're a fan of the album in it's original vinyl format.
11 Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 January 2010
The overall quality of Tejas is outstanding. There some stand out tracks like El Diablo and Driving While Blind, but there are other less popular tracks that make this so good. Notice the un-zz top-esque Enjoy and Get It On. It fits in perfectly with the more obvious ZZ Top tracks like ten dollar man. There are some unfortunate excurtions into cheesey folk, but every bands got to try diffeent styles sometimes, and ZZ Top learnt never to do it again. The final track wouldn't be out of place being played as the credits roll at the end of an old western flick, and suits the album cover exquisitly. If youwant to hear ZZ Top doin' their stuff with a slightly milder edge, then get this CD, Enjoy and Get it on!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 April 2011
Ordered this from a Japanese supplier - please note this is not the long awaited remaster that fans have been waiting for - this is just a Japanese reissue of the previous `six pack' version with Japanese language insert and spine - incredibly disappointed as it is advertised as `Digitally remastered with superior sound quality' on their website with an April 2011 release date - very misleading!!! About time ZZ Top and the powers that be writed this wrong - it is scandalous that the artists' work was previously butchered and remixed, let alone the time it has taken to remedy it!
11 Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 6 June 2003
The last track on this album kinda sums up the whole thing. 'Sleep In The Desert' casts a long shadow over the whole thing, seeping slowly into your subconscious. Whilst the album has it's fair share of upbeat tracks, 'Arrested . . .', 'Snappy Kakkie' etc - there is a laid back feel to it reminiscent of the fabulous cover art-work. They could only come from Texas, and the album smells & feels like beat-up trucks & long-horn cattle.'It's only Love' & 'Pan Am Highway Blues' tell the story. Buy it and enjoy soaking up the Good Ol' Texas ZZ blooz.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 March 2015
Have mercy! Can't help but agree with some other reviewers about the re-mastering of this, underrated, album. Whoever thought it was beneficial to add 80s style drums and other tweaks to this should have a cactus implant! Despite it not being ranked highly by the majority of Top fans I loved the original vinyl release and its stripped down, evocative sound. For Top newbies please don't listen to this and assume that this was how it sounded back in the day. A real shame........
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 August 2012
I love this album and would rate it as one of ZZ Top's best. Tres Hombres and Fandango take a bit of beating, especially the remastered versions, but this album is up there with them. I suppose my only mini grump is that this would've rated 6 out of 5 if it had been remastered too. Unfortunately it sounds a bit tinny, so c'mon you guys, get TEJAS remastered. Play it loud!:o)
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)