Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Learn more Shop now Learn more



on 21 May 2011
Having heard Harvest prior to After the Gold Rush, I thought I'd heard what Neil Young had to offer. Boy was I wrong.
After the Gold Rush features some of Young's greatest folk music, as well as some really great rockers that are far superior to the rock songs on Harvest. There, already I've stated what is the real purpose of this review: After the Gold Rush is better than Harvest, by a mile... or two.
"Tell Me Why" opens up the album nicely. It's catchy, but absolutely not one of the best on the album. This immediately changes on the following song, also the title song, which is an extremely beautiful acoustic folk song. And this is where Neil Young really shines. The title song is not the only acoustic deserve-to-be-classic song on the album. "Don't let it bring you Down" and "Birds" are some of the asolute best songs, I've heard from Neil Young, and it is not difficult to see why the singer/songwriter-genre has turned out to be so popular since.
Neil Young seems to be the first singer/songwriter to really give this much of himself. It's deeply personal and the lyrics are simply masterpieces.
But Young doesn't stop here. Whereas most musicians and bands have trouble mastering only one genre, Neil Young shows that he is also a master of country-rock. "Southern Man" manages to keep the personality of his folk songs, but in a rock package with awesome country/blues-solos.

On the last notes, I'll encourage you all to start out by listening to Harvest (if you're new to Young), as that is Young at his most catchy and straightforward. But it's with Harvest's predecessor, After the Gold Rush, that Neil Young's talent and potential truly shines. A masterpiece, and after only a few listens, one of my all-time favourite albums.
11 Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 9 July 2015
It's usually a toss up between this and the following years release, Harvest as most peoples favourite Neil Young album although John Peel always picked his earlier release Everybody Knows This Is Nowhere as his favourite.This is the album that contains the beautiful Don't Let It Bring You Down and the scathing Southern Man(not one of Lynard Skynards favourite songs!)From this point on Neil became the Dylan of the 70s and each new release was greeted with anticipation by the critics. And why didn't he write more verses to the lovely Till the Morning Comes which closes side one?
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 7 July 2014
Happy with purchase.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 6 January 2013
This in my humble opinion is Neil Young's best album.
Though his massive body of work is so hugely varied that saying that is a bit like saying Oak trees are 'the best' tree!

This is the first NY album I ever heard back when I was a headbanging 1980's teenager and into the likes of Ozzy's Black Sabbath & Dianno's Iron Maiden. So quite how or why I connected on such a deep level to this in contrast very folk-rock / country-acoustic record still baffles me to this day?
It is interesting to note though that I still quite often listen to 'After The Gold Rush' now but it's very rare Ozzy or Dianno gets access to my ears!

This is simply quality, inspired, timeless music.

A good place to start your NY obsession - be prepared for some massive and wonderful surprises along the way!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 3 January 2015
Good item, fast delivery.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 22 June 2015
1,82 L for shipment is reasonable, 3,6 L is an abuse, please consider maintain the charge of 1,82 L
11 Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 19 October 2014
one track did not play sadly. previously had this as a cassette tape, so pleased with the music
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 17 July 2009
`After the Gold Rush' is one of those seminal albums and required listening for fans of Neil Young, both existing and new. This is the album that really kicked off his solo career and it has some great songs on it. Neil Young sings in his usual plaintive style and his vocals suit the themes of the songs perfectly. I love `Southern Man' which was his indictment of deep south bigotry and it has some excellent guitar towards the end. `Don't Let It Bring You Down' is another standout track as well. Written before his super successful `Harvest' album, this album shows where Neil Young's style was heading and these two album compliment each other superbly. To go back to Neil Young's roots this is a great place to start, it has plenty of his early folk style playing and engaging lyrics as well, that I enjoy reading along with the songs for the poetry they create. Well worth a try.

Feel free to check out my blog which can be found on my profile page.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 21 October 2008
This album was on constant play throughout an American road-trip of mine in a camper van from festival to festival, state to state, gradually heading westward to California. I was 18 at the time and the year was 1989. The start of the journey began at the Woodstock festival, twenty years on, (opened with a speech from Jimi Hendrix's father and a set by Richie Havens). As a consequence it is drenched in memories.

This album has it all. Steeped in the golden glow of the times, it covers many areas of being, heartache, visions, psychedelic thoughts, glimpses of pastoral idylls, all set within a hybrid of folk/country/rock that is distinctively Neil's own. His thin nasally voice is perfect throughout, the harmonies sublime, the quality of recording simultaneously sparse and lush in a way that you never find on digital media these days.

A classic, a slice of time frozen. If you only ever get one Neil Young album in your life, get this one. It's his best, and goes in my top ten favourite albums of all time.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 23 April 2013
In a review of this album in the music magazine Rolling Stone in 1970 Langdon Winner wrote:

"Neil Young devotees will probably spend the next few weeks trying desperately to convince themselves that After The Gold Rush is good music. But they'll be kidding themselves. None of the songs here rise above the uniformly dull surface... apparently no one bothered to tell Neil Young that he was singing a half-octave above his highest acceptable range... I can' t listen to it at all."

I disagree: it is one of the best albums in Young's long and illustrious back catalogue.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)