Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
69
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£5.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 19 September 2011
A wonderful album that still sounds good, but be warned - the mp3 download version has replaced the original version of Steamroller with an inferior live version. I've clicked on all the versions of the song available on Amazon downloads and the original version does not appear to be among them. Shame.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 May 2002
Okay, so it's not actually the original; that goes to the weird "Original Flying Machine" album on Apple Records, but this is definitely wonderful, vintage JT. From start to finish, there are sublime moments, as well as things that still surprise you after repeated listening. Any album with Sweet Baby James and Fire and Rain on it has to be a classic, but the other tracks stand proudly alongside them. 5 stars; no question.
0Comment| 21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 November 2010
All aspiring singer songwriters should listen to this seminal album, not just because James was here first but because it is a thing of beauty.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 May 2008
I'm amazed this classic has been untouched since its initial cd release in the 80's. Technology has moved on since then, and we deserve a crystal clear version, so we can hear JT's sublime singing and picking in the way it was intended to be heard!
44 Comments| 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 November 2000
This is a hoopla of magical music from the silky tongued JT. The highlight being his heartrenching rendition of fire and rain, which is moving enough to bring a tear to the strongest of strong men. The line' Suzzane, the plans they made put an end to ye' cuts to the very bone. All good stuff.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 3 January 2016
I recently dug out my old vinyl records and found that the JT album Sweet Baby James was on
its last legs, so to speak, and thought that the price on Amazon for a CD replacement copy was
very fair. Other people have commented on the need for a "remastered" version of this album
but as long as the CD sounds as good as the original 33rpm LP then I am relatively happy.

Originally issued in 1970 (46 years ago at the time of writing this) James Taylor's dulcet tones
still conjure up nostalgic memories of college days, and happy times.
Fire and Rain, Anywhere Like Heaven, and Oh, Susannah, still bring back the old nostalgia of a
long lost youth and no one can remaster happy memories.
11 tracks in all.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 April 2014
This was actually James second album though I've always considered it his best next to Mud Slide Slim, later albums gradually moved closer to the jazz scene where he is now. James was raised in an army family and was expected to carry on the family tradition though he really wanted to be a musician. He was sent off to military college but did'nt take to the strong disciplinary life and following a complete mental breakdown was placed in a mental home where he again rebelled against the harsh regulations inherant within those establishments. He recovered but many of his songs are based on his experiences in both places the best known probably being 'Fire & Rain'. Many of James friends in his early recording days were well known artists in their own right and they often appear on each others albums at that time, Joni Mitchell, Carly Simon and Carole King amongst them. I highly reccommend this album to students and lovers of late 60s early 70s music. JR.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 July 2014
Our honeymoon in Ireland in 1971 was a triumph of hope over practicality . Waved at gunpoint through Belfast checkpoints by frightened looking squaddies , we somehow made it around the Emerald Isle in a battered old British Racing Green Mini with a creaking subframe . This album was the soundtrack to that great adventure . It even got us safely through the dark dangers of the long and winding road from Stranraer to Newcastle . This is one of the first of the 70s singer/songwriter albums and still one of the best . Carole King prompts and prods from the piano . Boyhood friend Danny Kootchmar plays beautiful guitar and the rhythm section of Randy Meisner and Russ Kunkel are sound as a pound . There isn't a dud track but the standout is Fire And Rain . We played it at the funeral of my wife,s brother in 2000 and it formed a fitting coda to a sad and troubled life .
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 April 2014
Oh yes, I really love this album, and the tracks are so much sharper than my old cassette version. Beautiful music to listen to when relaxing.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 June 2013
I should have purchased this album back in the 70's, but I was very heavily into rock in those days. My tast in music is far broader theses day's, I now find myself looking back through the last 5 decades of music and purchasing great recordings erepective genres.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)