Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
22
4.3 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£6.60+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 29 May 2017
Not the best ever but still well worth the listen
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 February 2016
Excellent album
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 November 2008
This album has garnered mixed reviews over the years. In '79, it was seen as an almost-renaissance. I think this did a disservice to the two previous albums, Run with the Pack, and Burning Sky; that's another story, though. Desolation... is certainly a good record in its own right, but is not very immediate. A grower, then? Yes, George, a grower.

The hard-rock side was very well covered. Rock'n'Roll Fantasy had the sort of heavy, menacing groove that Rainbow had used the year before (Lady of the Lake, and LA Connection, both from Long Live Rock'n'Roll). Gone Gone Gone showed how good a songwriter Boz Burrell (RiP) was; Joe Walshian humour with funky hard rock. Darn great! Evil Wind is an inspired number too (and this time Rainbow used a Bad Co song as blueprint - hear No Release, from Difficult to Cure, '81). Ralphs' little solo at the end, with Burrell and Kirke getting funky again, is worth hearing several times. Shame it wasn't a bit longer.

Oh Atlanta is the more countrified Bad Co, like Simple Man and others. And Crazy Circles shows that acoustic numbers can be exciting. The other five tracks all have something to offer after a few plays. Rodgers is his usual classy self, of course.

Overall, recommended, unless you hate subtle hard rock albums!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 July 2014
Not bad, but the band are past their best and running out of ideas.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
This 1979 album is the 5th from the classic line up of Bad Company, one of the 70s greatest supergroups. It would be another three years before another was forthcoming

The first three albums from the group were absolute stormers, and essential to the collection of any lover of blues based rock. However, with the previous album (Burnin' Sky) the rot had set in a bit and the band started to sound a bit bored and jaded. This feeling comes to a head here, and pervades the whole album. There is still lots of powerful vocals and well played rock, but it often feels as though the band have run out of steam and are going through the motions. There just isn't the energy and passion that marked their earlier work. This was, however, a group of highly talented individuals, so even on an off day they are still pretty good. So there is enough good material here to warrant three stars, but this is more one for the completists.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 March 2009
bad company have always been a favourate band of mine, but found this album a bit dreary compared to the others. don't get me wrong its not bad but not up there with straight shoooter or album bad company. I have most of everything bad company have done in my cd collection, the only reason i have kept desolation angels is to add to my collection. nevermind i might give it another few plays it might grow on me yet.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 July 2012
It's interesting to read the other reviews on this CD / Album. Maybe I love it so much because it reminds me of a good point in my life. Maybe it's because the songs work together well or it's the great sleeve that wrapped the original vinyl. Maybe it's because it's well recorded. Perhaps it's all of those. OK, there is a pop feel to some of these tracks but the overall sound and recording quality is one that works best for me of all the Company releases. All these years later I still enjoy listening to the songs either close up on cans or in the car. The tracks easily run into one another and I think the band were as tight here as they ever were.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 March 2017
What a disappointment !
I used to have a huge respect for this band but most of this CD is just bland and does not come anywhere near to their earlier high standards.
Apart from "Rock n Roll Fantasy" I wonder if these songs are simply a collection of rejects that failed to make it onto their previous offerings.
Paul Rogers is generally a fine vocalist but there are times throughout this CD when I just wish he would halt the constant background warbling for a second or two and allow the rest of the band to shine through.
'Quite glad 'I only purchased a "USED CD" as it can only be described as a bit of a waste of money.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 April 2014
I bought this album when it first came out (on one of those big black round thingies) and went to see them on the promotional tour in Southampton; Both were disappointing. The guys seemed to be pretty much going through the motions and looked jaded. On listening again now it isn't so bad...a few good numbers and it an enjoyable listen but there is still the feeling of a band that was tired and needed a rest
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 October 2001
This album is a must for any Free, Bad Company & Paul Rogers fans. All ten songs have something to offer, with tracks such as Gone, Gone, Gone - which has a rocking edge to it, through to Early in the Morning - a classic slow ballad. Paul Rogers is probably one of the most under-rated performers in the UK. This album will never disappoint and was one of my first vinyl replacements.
What are you waiting for - just go out and get it !!
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)