Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Learn more Shop now Learn more

Physical Graffiti
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£18.43+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 3 January 2017
I'd never really thought much of Physical Graffiti over the years, focussing more on the first four albums while acknowledging Zep weren't over after IV just a little changed. what a mistake, thanks Jimmy Page for bringing the new remaster of this onto my radar. You made me realise I criminally underrated the power of this album with its easy to pick up yet complex rhythms in a wide yet strangely intimate sound stage. This is a monster of an album with 4 tracks in a row which are simply sublime yet all very different. The beautiful blues of In My Time of Dying gives way to the epic hook of Houses Of The Holy and surely one of Robert Plant's most majestic vocal performances in the studio. From there you have the incredible funk driven Trampled Underfoot and finally the pure drama of Kashmir. Those four songs alone would blow almost any other full album by a mere mortal band out of the water.

Oh what a fool I've been!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 23 February 2015
Led Zeppelin Physical Graffiti Deluxe Edition 3 CD Box Set released Monday 23rd February 2015. The sound is remarkably-clear and lively. It really breathes, and has dynamics. Jimmy Page has really achieved a remarkable deluxe-remastering, and should be praised. Many people consider this album to be his magnum-opus. John Paul Jones' arrangement, and orchestration of, Kashmir remains influential, as does the drumming of John Bonham, the vocals of Robert Plant, and the guitar-army of Jimmy Page (especially on Ten Years Gone). There is the beautiful acoustic guitar of Bron-Y-Aur (Golden Breast). There are the good-time stompers of Custard Pie, The Rover, Houses Of The Holy, Trampled Under Foot, Kashmir, Night Flight, Sick Again, and, The Wanton Song. There is the variety of In The Light, and, Down By The Seaside. The Companion Disc contains an interesting early version of In The Light which is entitled Everybody Makes It Through, and which has a different introduction, and, different lyrics. The packaging is truly excellent, and is just like the original vinyl-release. The accompanying 16-page booklet is also excellent, with lots of photographs in both colour, and, black-and-white. The Eastern mystery, and magnificence of, both the music and lyrics of, Kashmir, are a true-achievement. Jimmy Page honours Peter Grant, by giving him credit as Executive Producer. The Swan-Song Records logo is of Apollo (The Sun, The Truth, Music, and, Healing). Physical Graffiti is considered to be the greatest hard-rock album of all-time. A timeless master-piece. First released on the 24th February 1975, the sails filled across 40 years, 1975-2015, now 40 years gone, sitting with The Elders, In The Light. Award 5 Stars!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 11 August 2016
Don't mind the packaging although I would prefer hard covers for durability. Pleased with the mix on these CD remasters although I think some of the early Analogue remasters are superior in timbre and tone. Clarity was never an issue with Zeppelin albums so tweaking for a more precise sound really isn't what one needs to hear. All-in-all I'm glad I bought all the albums from Zep two to six as the sound is definitely superior to my standard CD versions. I didn't bother with Zep one as most other reviewers say this one is the weakest of the bunch and anyway I'm happy with my 1979 analogue-remaster. I will be buying the first six vinyl copies shortly although I already have excellent early vinyl pressings in my collection. I'm looking forward to comparing the originals against the remastered vinyl. It should be interesting! One thing has confused me, it clearly states in the adverts on Amazon that four out of the five Cd's should have auto-rip versions available for download, but I can't find any vouchers or codes within the packaging to allow me do this. Am I missing something Amazon?
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 27 February 2015
After having 4 albums released which are, for the most parts, in the same vein, Houses of the Holy came out and was something different, deviating from the heavy blues rock and folky songs, with more popmusic and even funky influences, plus the rather apart progrock on No Quarter. Ironically the title track from that 5th album was nowhere to be heard, till this monster double album was released. It contains songs from earlier recordingsessions and new written material, which suit each other excellent. From the hard rock to acoustic folk, progrock to country blues, Led Zeppeling masters it all. Sadly no place was found for the Immigrant Song single B-side Hey hey, What Can I do, nor for the HoftH outtake Walters Walk. Anyway, those can be found on the closing album Coda. Exactly 40 years after its release on 24 february 1975 this new package is unveilled with a companion CD with alternate takes. Contrary to II, III, IV and HoftH not from (almost) each song a different recording but only of 7 songs, nearly halve of the albumtotal. However, most don't make a big difference, Sick Again is much shorter. Everybody Makes it Through the Light is a much better song than the one on the original album, shortened to In The Light.. But no new songs are presented here. Press mentioned that tapes were found with unreleased songs, apart from different versions. Spoken was about Midnight Moonlight, a ten minute song (present on the first album by The Firm and credited to Page and Paul Rodgers, the singer of that band). So those extra songs don't shine new light on this album, which in it self is brilliant. Later albums Precence nor In Through the Out Door can compete with the overwhelming musical power of Physical Graffity. A joy to listen to, each time again.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 15 April 2015
It might well have been said before but I have to repeat-this album may well be Led Zep's pinnacle. I love all of their studio albums but you can honestly sit down with this one and be blown away by such high quality songs,sound and musicianship on almost every track here. Of course there are the ones we all know and love like In my time of dying,In the light,Trampled underfoot and the majestic Kashmir but there are also the maybe slightly lesser known but no lesser quality Custard pie,Night flight,The rover,Houses of the holy,Down by the seaside and the beautiful Bron-yr-Aur to name just a few. Like most folks though the reason to shell out again for this collection is the 'Companion' disc which promises much but sadly is not as interesting as it might have been. Firstly there are no new or previously unreleased tracks here(again as with most of the previous re-issues),just alternate versions of 7 tracks that were on the finished album,the most interesting is an early version of 'Sick again'. Where are the non LP tracks Mr. Page? 'Swan song' perhaps?
11 Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 21 April 2012
'Physical Graffiti' finds Led Zeppelin at just about the peak of their considerable powers. It's a sprawling behemoth of an album that takes in just about everything that the band stood for. From the stomping blues- rock of 'Custard Pie', to the supercharged funk of 'Trampled Underfoot' and the quirky barrel -house rock n' roll of 'Boogie With Stu', there is a sufficiency of riches to keep even the most avid listener occupied for a long ,long time. Of course,no discussion of this album would be complete without mentioning 'Kashmir' or the monumental slide guitar fest of 'In My Time of Dying',classic examples of how the band could develop and extend basic ideas into feverishly exciting displays of musical power.And lets not forget the shimmering beauty of the solo guitar instrumental 'Bron -Yr-Aur' and the heartfelt 'Ten Years Gone' with its beautiful solo by Jimmy is nothing short of extraordinary.

Critics may argue that amid the gold there might be a hint of filler,and maybe (just, maybe)they might have a point.But even the less distinguished material ('Sick Again'/'Down By The Seaside'?)there is always some aspect of the performances to enjoy even if lyrical or musical inspiration occasionally flags.For me this is definitely a desert island set and whilst it may have flaws,it is about as consistently enjoyable and varied as rock albums ever get.

Sadly the Zep would seldom reach these heights again- although 'Presence' has it's moments and 'In Through The Out Door' has glimmers of the old genius, but at least they knew when to quit.'Physical Graffiti' is a fitting monument to a great band,that sounds as alive and dynamic today as it did all those years ago.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 24 December 2012
i've recently come to love led zeppelin. i was a baby when they were first famous, and i still recall my bro in law playing them on his in car stereo. i actually used to fall asleep to led zeppelin when i was a toddler, i found their music that soothing. heavy metal music has that effect on me, lol. the thing about led zeppelin is their guitar riffs are like mantras, which is probably why i find them so relaxing to my easily taxed brain, so now i am a happy convert' as i have most of their albums. i have the dvd and double cd celebration day too, and i intend to spend christmas afternoon enjoying that.

songs worth recommendation. well, they're all worth a good listen, but my old favourites are houses of the holy, kashmir, trampled underfoot, bron yr aur and in my time of dying, less morbid than it sounds. if you like other led zeppelin albums, you won't be disappointed with physical graffiti.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 6 January 2018
Nicely repacked, and strong recording from Led Zep. Good mix of hard rock, acoustic / folky influenced material, and also some funkier recordings compared to the first 4 records.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 4 July 2017
Led Zeppelin at their best. Not one weak track on this classic and you get a bonus disc with alternate versions too!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 10 March 2015
The new remasters continue with Physical Graffiti. Sound is clear & crisp. Not much point commenting on the songs as we all know them especially the wonderful Kashmir. The bonus disc has interest for avid fans although I would have prefered to have seen live tracks from the era. Must have for rock fans but unless hard core just go for normal 2cd release.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)