Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
22
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£13.70+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 18 February 2002
With a cast not so famous in the UK, "Jekyll and Hyde" may seem a musical to miss. However, with such an amazing score you cannot help but weep at the way in which the songs are put across to the audience. The chemistry among the main singers is evident with Christiane Noll and Robert Cuccioli portraying the couple in love superbly. Linda Eder plays the lost and disillusioned young soul with immense passion, performing some fantastically difficult songs with effortless ease.
It appears a challenge to put this story into song as well as on stage but all aspects of the novel are emphasized by the huge musical numbers: such as "Facade", "A New life", "Alive" and "This is the moment". Leslie Bricusse and Frank Wildhorn are to be congradulated on the breathtaking musical which will capture the heart of anyone who listens to it.
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 March 2005
Jekyll and Hyde is a great musical, and is currently on tour in the UK starring Paul Nicholas and Shona Lindsey. However, this CD is not of the same version of the musical, many songs are missing and others are substituted with others. If you want a soundtrack resembling the UK tour, then search Amazon for "Jekyll and Hyde:Gothic Musical" to get the concept album on which the UK version is based.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 November 2004
It is rare to find such a complete Musical soundtrack in which each song stands on its own. The Broadway cast is outstanding and their Jekyll reigns over Paul Nicholas the current U.K Jekyll. Any person interested in new and original work will love this Fantastic recording of a new and outstanding musical. With Brilliant performances from the leading man and ladies and a strong Chorus that oozes experiance. I would recommend this to anyone who just enjoys the theatre as a hobby or as a career.I also ask anyone who gets the opportunity to go and see this fantastic musical that has recently come to the U.K, despite Paul Nicholas' relatively weak performance the rest of the cast and the fantastic and original score are a must see.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 2 April 2014
There is something about the music from this show that is bound to please an audience. It has atmosphere and emotion aplenty. Also the voices of the original cast have that Broadway ring. I liked it as a piece of popular entertainment and it is clear why it ran for four years on the Great White Way. Wildhorn has created a great sweep of a musical from a well-known tale. It is a great disc to have in the car as you drive along; you can get swept up in the drama and lushness of it all.

As a musical theatre person I must say it leaves something to be desired, I'm afraid. Variously in the music I heard Lloyd-Webber, Boublil & Schoenberg, Sondheim and 60s pop ballads. I was listening for the individual voice, but that only comes through as a generalised emotional wash. There is far too much effort to rhyme as many of the lyrics as possible and I did laugh out loud at some of the ludicrous and cliched combinations.

Interesting and worth a listen.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 May 2013
We ordered this CD having gone to see a local production. The music is just fantastic, and I wish I would have thought to have seen this musical years before. This CD is good value and is well worth buying.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 April 2005
Having had the pleasure of seeing the UK tour in Wolverhampton I would like to both recommend the show & the original broadway cast recording. Whilst Paul Nicholas is rather weak the rest of the cast more than make up for his lack. The CD with mr Cuccioli shows just what is possible & is in my opinion a must buy for anyone who has seen the show. The music & lyrics are both powerful & at the same time appealing. There are songs that will remind you of many musicals ( Cats, Le Mis, & Phantom to name just three )
Overall I would rate this CD as excellent as it truly embodies both the feel & power of the original RL Stevenson novel.
If you see no other musical this year add this to your "must see" list
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 August 2005
This CD gives the majority of the scores from the musical Jekyll and Hyde which has been a hit on Broadway (and in other countries, through tours) alike.
If you have seen this performance live, this CD will remind you of how much a good time you had when you saw it and make you want to go again.
If you havent, the songs lead you through the story of Jekyll and Hyde by Robert-Louis Stevenson. Creatively speaking, the music is very playful. Its gothic but melodic, its powerful and soft: A must for anyone.
The lyrics themselves can be listened to, without great depth. But, if you listen to them carefully (or read them off the CD insert) you can get a deeper meaning to the musical that anyone can relate to and sympathise with.
But dont be fooled into believing this CD only contains emotional pap! Its mixture of music and emotions leave you bedazzled. Likewise Songs such as "Murder,Murder!" and "Facade" never leave your mind. Ive listened to this CD so many times after seeing it, its now beggining to jump. Its such a shame it appears to be going off the theatres. BUY THIS and SEE the production before its too late!!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 July 2014
I am so glad I purchased this CD, it gives me great pleasure to sit down and listen to, there is some wonderful songs and melodies which the cast perform beautifully and everytime I play it, I hear something new in each performance, it holds me.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 December 2000
frank wildhorn shows are fun. enjoyable stuff that will have you humming all the way home from the theatre. in j&h, you have some of his greatest pieces including the now cliche "this is the moment" but also jems like "someone like you". try it. you'll like it. unfortunate that the show is slated to close on broadway in january.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 June 2005
I have only heard the music to the show, but i was blown away. i hadnt really heard much about the show, and so held low hopes for it, but after hearing the music im gutted i missed the show when it toured to the city right next to me! the music is brilliant, with 'this is my moment' especially standing out. for those who like a good old musical anthem, this cd is a must.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)