Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

3.9 out of 5 stars
17
3.9 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£17.90+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 5 May 2017
NICE
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 August 2017
pleased with product and service.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 April 2017
Awesome
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 April 2006
This was their best album. I am a massive fan of the Stone Temple Pilots and can remember getting Purple off a friend and being absolutely blown away by it.

I waited for this with baited breath and when it came out I remember feeling a little disapointed.

After playing it for another two days however I fell in love with it. It is without their best and the one where Scott Weiland strikes out and shows the true versitility of his voice.

The band took a risk with this album making an album which goes from straight forward punky american rock (tumble in the rough) to slow ballads like 'and so I know' and 'adhesive'. Stand out track is the last one 'Seven Caged Tiger Fly'

An amazingly varied album but not one for people new to the stone temple pilots. Buy Purple if your into american rock/grunge and then buy this.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 March 2006
Why people rate this album so low is beyond me.
From the perfect vocal melodies to the awesome guitar licks and from its funky bass lines to the unreal drum parts this album is simply class.
The album is generally quite relaxed with some bursts of riffage.
I'll talk about a couple of the tracks to give you an idea of the feel and mood of the album.
Songs like the beautiful 'Adhesive' & 'Seven Caged Tigers' opens up a new world to the bands already vast level of variety. The addidtion of the horn solo in 'Adhesive' adds to the goosebumps effect to no end. They never lost touch of their passion for heavy riffs either as the chrous to 'Art School Girl' quite cleary proves with its crashing drums, harsh vocals and pointlessly distorted guitar (thats a compliement). The classic 'Lady Picture Show' lays down a vocal melody that almost anyone couldn't deny to sing along to for days. The almost sedative effect of 'And So I Know' is enough to drift you off gently to sleep.
This is warded by the brilliance on the lead guitar in 'Trippin On A Hole In A Paper Heart' which just shows the abundance of talent in Dean DeLeos grasp.
I can't talk this album up enough and I am sad to see Scott Weiland wasting away in Velvet Revolver. What he had with these guys is mountainous in comparison to VR.
Get back togethor and do the world a favour!
Thanks for this album guys
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 May 2005
i bought this album hot on the heels of purple and was expecting much of the same. at first i was left confused by the record and difference in musical direction the band had undertaken, only the single "big bang baby" and the standout "seven caged tigers" recieved any airplay on my stereo. but over the following months, the album came to life for me. that summer' the days were encapsulated by the likes of "trippin on a hole...", "pops love suicide", "ride the cliche" and the nights by "and so i know" and "lady picture show". its then that you begin to appreciate the diversity that scott weiland brought to vocals, a rawness and beauty that showcased his fight with drug addiction. the influence of the beatles and the rollin stones is undeniable for the better, an underated gem.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 October 2009
This Album is been put in the dark among STP fans which is just pure madness. This is just as good Core there are no weak tracks at all. As i must put a reason forward for my argument that Tiny Music... is just as good as core. Is that Core has similar sounding of songs from the track to track it's is a good album. But this is just something else. The standout Tracks are:

Big Bang Baby
Seven Caged Tigers
Lady Picture show
Tumble in the Rough
Art School Girl
As i Know
Pop Love Suicide
Tripping Hole in a Paper Heart

Great Tracks so worth the money!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 July 2004
Extremely disapointing follow up to the awesome Core and fairly good 12 Gracious Melodies. The songs are incredibly weak with the best of a bad bunch being 'And So I Know' and 'Seven Caged Tigers'. Both these songs are fairly melodic and offer some respite from the drivel that precedes them, but are in themselves still fairly average tracks.
The vocals are the weakest yet - not sure if this is to do with the shenanigans in the life of Scott Weiland at the time. This can be no excuse for the remainder of the band who seem to have lost the ability to come up with a single decent riff.
Obviously this is only my opinion and other reviews suggest that some people do like the album, but I will be selling this CD again as soon as possible. Unfortunately, I cannot find anything positive to say about this album - even the cover is a bit naff!
11 Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 August 2001
I own all the STP albums, and this is my favourite. 90's rock collides head on with breezy rhythms - typified by the fantastic "rocks love suicide", you'll be hard pushed to find a better rock album in recent years. Perhaps the Chili's "Californication" outdoes it, but Cali isnt quite as intoxicated as this.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 October 2016
very disappointing. I loved Core and Purple, but this album seems a backward step for the band. Weak songs and poor production quality. Most of the songs sounded like they had been recorded in the toilet.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£3.99
£8.56
£5.95
£6.26

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)